Horror logo

The Destiny

Chosen In Secret

By Carol TownendPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
4
The Destiny
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

I waited in the graveyard by the light of the full moon for him to rise. I hid my stake up my sleeve and armed my pockets with holy water. When he rose, he didn't see the cross around my neck as he sniffed me, desperate for the smell of fresh blood. I gave him a little time to savour the smell and feel the silky smoothness of my skin.

Nobody knows what I do or who I am, not even my friends. This is not my job, it is my destiny. I was destined from birth and chosen by the four guardians of the world; the blood guardians, the fire guardians and the water guardians.

I wasn't born into this world, I have no parents. I was created by a powerful source; a source whose duty is to create beings like me to save the world from the supernatural forces who were sent from hell to corrupt it.

My job is a dangerous one. Anyone who knows who I am is at risk of being led into a bloody death.

Should any vampire find out who I am; I would be at risk of bloody torture, even killed. That would end my destiny and the world.

Most vampires are easy to kill, well for me anyway. They usually smell me and savour the smell. They don't get very far, before I headbutt them, then get them into a headlock, snap their heads, then force a stake straight through their dead hearts. This vampire however likes to play.

That's fine with me tonight; I want to play.

"Smell good?" I ask the vampire.

"Oh yes, but just for the taste!" he replies.

"Then what are you waiting for? Mayonnaise? I sarcastically ask him.

I give him no time to reply.

I pull him into a headlock, and he tries to back-kick me. Before he has a chance, I flip him to the ground. I then roll onto him, ensuring that my knees lock his arms. He suddenly gives me one massive kick in the stomach, throwing me off him and sending me flying into the air. When I land, I smash my back into a wall.

I smirk as I somersault straight back onto my feet. I wasn't created to feel pain!

The vampire hides behind a tree.

Yeah! He must be dumb if he thinks that I can't sense him.

I was created with super-sensitive senses, which means that I could sense a mouse hiding even if it was quiet.

There is no way, dust guy is getting away!

I remain quiet and close my eyes, sensing everything around me. I can hear a cat meow in the distance, the calling of a wolf, the worms in the earth, the rustling of the trees, and everything that surrounds me.

Then, I hear footsteps.

I don't see anyone or anything, so I hone into my senses; digging deep into my intuition to activate my sense of direction so that I can locate the vampire. My intuition directs me to the roof of a large monument in the middle of the graveyard. I run to it, faster than a lightning bolt and faster than any ordinary human could run. I jump using as much strength as I can, and I land on the roof of the monument. Once up there, I look around and I spot the vampire at the right far corner of the monument.

"Do you really think that you are strong enough to catch me? You are just a little girl who should be tucked up at home in a warm bed. I'm a vampire, and I could snap your neck in seconds!" The vampire asserts.

"Yeah, yeah, like I haven't heard it all before you moron. Would you like some fresh chicken before I drive you back into the ground," I reply, throwing a punch so hard, that I send the vampire's nose into his brain.

The vampire smacks me straight into the neck and then proceeds to spin-kick me several times in the stomach.

"This is boring! Are you sure that you want blood? You don't seem too hungry," I throw at him while delivering a headbutt to his stomach.

"You're not normal. Who and what are you?" The vampire asks, taken aback by my triple strength and super speed.

"I guess you'll find out; if I let you live long enough," I throw back at him, teasing him with my stake.

The vampire tries grabbing my neck, but instead, he grabs my cross. he lets out a howl of pain, as the searing heat scorches his hands causing them to smoke. The pain sends him to his knees. I take advantage of this, as I force my knee into his hands in an attempt to knock him down. I then lock my knees onto his chest and snap the cross of my chain I shove it as far down his throat as I can, and burn it to cinders. While the vampire is so distorted by the pain that he cannot see properly or think straight, I open the bottle of holy water and pour it over him.

Boy! Every time I do this, I get a thrill watching a vampire's skin boil and burn!

I torture him for a whole hour, delighting in watching him wriggle, his face contorted with pain, and taking pleasure in the howls that have now turned into painful screeches.

I then let out a laugh as I end him by driving my stake as hard as I can straight through his heart, and watch as his flesh and bones shatter into dust.

Before I can leave; I must perform the ritual of pouring holy water over the area where the vampire dusted. I then must place a cross in that area, then get on my knees and perform the holy cross symbol by pointing to my head, heart and both shoulders. If I do not do this, the vampire can come back stronger.

I was chosen in secret. My destiny is a difficult and lonely path to walk. People think I am a normal person in daily life, but I walk in death. I don't like my destiny, but if I wasn't chosen, vampires would rule the world.

One more thing.

I don't die. Vampires dust and ordinary humans die, but I am destined to my life of chosen forever.

fiction
4

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    A badass vampire hunter! Thank you for the tale!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.