Horror logo

The Demon Visitor

Flash Fiction: Horror

By Hayley DodwellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo Credit: LitHub.com

The memories still haunt me to this day, it happened twenty years ago. I was forty years old, a happy, carefree bachelor. I have lived in fear ever since..

I lived alone. That's how I wanted it to be. My tolerance of humans was low, so low that I avoided them as much as possible. My home was deep in the English countryside. My nearest neighbour was three miles away. That suited me perfectly. I had lived there for five years, I had inherited a lot of money from my Great Aunt, so I didn't have to work. I spent my days painting and gardening. When I moved in I had heard rumours that the house was haunted, though I never believed the rumours, until one terrifying night.

I got home late. I had spent the day in London, due to visiting an ill old friend. I had spent the day around humans so by the time I got home I was stressed and I just wanted to feel the relief of being back on my own again, back in my own space. I opened the front door and stepped inside my home. It was Summer, but the house felt so cold. I noticed that the kitchen light was on, which was strange, as I knew that I had turned it off as I left that morning. As I entered the kitchen, a knife flew across the room and stuck in the wall, I panicked and ran to the door, which slammed shut in front of me. I felt a presence behind me. Too terrified to turn around, my body froze in fear.

“Who is there? What do you want?” I said, petrified.

A force lifted up my body, I could barely breathe and slammed me down on a chair. Stood there before me was a man, I knew he wasn't a living human. His skin was pale, his clothes were torn. He had a scar across his face. He was a demon.

“What do you want from me?” I shouted.

The demon stared at me, looking me up and down. I kept hoping that he would just disappear.

“I need something from you,” the demon said, in the creepiest voice I'd ever heard.

“What? Take anything you want. Then just go,” I said, my heart was beating so fast I thought I was going to have a panic attack.

“Are you a healthy man?”

“Excuse me?” I said, confused.

“Answer my question,” he shouted.

“Yes. Yes, I am healthy.”

“Do you smoke?”

“No.”

“Do you have any breathing problems?”

“No.”

The demon walked towards the wall, he pulled out the knife. I was in a state of shock, confusion and frightened. I didn't understand what was happening.

“So your lungs are healthy?”

“Please, just take what you want and go,” I pleaded.

“Answer me,” he shouted.

“Yes, my lungs are healthy.”

The demon began sharpening the knife. Then it became clear to me what he wanted. He wanted my lungs.

“No,” I screamed.

I tried to stand up, but I couldn't move. A force lifted me up again and slapped me down hard on the kitchen table. My body was stiff, I had completely lost the ability to move.

“I need a lung. One of your lungs. I have to take it to my leader. Then I can escape this parallel universe. My leader needs a lung, he needs one final breath. I will take it back in time, then he will survive.” the demon said, calmly.

I tried to scream, but nothing came out. The demon stabbed the knife into my body, he started digging inside of me and he cut out my lung. I was conscious, I felt the pain, blood poured out of me. After what felt like an eternity, I passed out.

I woke up in a hospital bed. I thought that I must have dreamt the whole thing. Maybe I'd been in a car crash on my way home from London. I looked under the sheets, my chest was bandaged up. It wasn't a dream.

“Nurse, nurse,” I called out.

“Calm down, you're very ill,” said the nurse.

“How did I get here?”

“Your Grandfather phoned for an ambulance when he found you.”

But my Grandfather had been dead for thirty-eight years. I went in to shock. The nurse injected me with something, I fell back to sleep.

I don't remember how long I remained in the hospital. But I do remember the relief when the doctor told me that I would recover and be able to live healthily with just one lung.

I returned home. I lost my dislike of being around people, I wanted to be around as many as possible. I put the house up for sale. In the meantime I had no place to go. I knew that I would have to stay there until the house was sold. Which luckily turned out to be just a few weeks.

On my last afternoon there I found my Mother's old diary. She had written about my Grandfather. He was a member of a cult, which scared my Mother, as she had witnessed the cult doing spells and black magic. My Grandfather had died from a gunshot wound. He was shot in the lung, but by the time the ambulance arrived, it was too late.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Hayley Dodwell

I am a freelance writer. As well as Vocal, I have also written articles for numerous websites, including, Eighties Kids, WhatCulture, Child Of The 1980's, Online Book Club, GoNOMAD Travel, Hubpages, and ScreenHub Entertainment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.