Horror logo

The Ghost Who Saved Me

Flash Fiction: Horror

By Hayley DodwellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo Credit: London Lifestyle

I never believed in ghosts. I always thought that anyone who said that they had seen a ghost was talking nonsense. I was a firm believer that they were all in a person's imagination or that they had seen one too many horror films. Ghosts were pure fiction. I even laughed at my best friend when she told me about the ghost which would knock on her bedroom door every night, until the vicar came to bless her house. It was all mumbo jumbo. This was until around a year ago, it was then that I would see for myself that ghosts are real. Don't believe me? Well let me tell you about the night which I will never forget.

It was the day after my thirtieth birthday, I was home on my own, my husband was away on business. I was relaxing in my bedroom, reading the newspaper, it was 6pm.

“Sarah” I heard being called from downstairs.

What? I must have imagined it, I thought. But then I heard it again, “Sarah”. It was an older lady’s voice. So I went downstairs to investigate, thinking that maybe the old lady from next door had an emergency or something. I got downstairs, there was no-one there.

“Sarah” I heard again, but this time it was from upstairs. Now I was freaked out. But I was telling myself that there was some rational explanation to this.

Still my heart was pounding. I was scared. I went back upstairs to my bedroom, I settled on my bed, the room felt so cold. I heard a knock on my window. I looked out of my window and there stood in my garden was an old lady, wearing a grey dress, I knew that she was a ghost as I could see straight through her. I rubbed my eyes, thinking that this can't be real, this can't be happening.

The lady saw me at the window, she waved at me. Then she walked towards the house. I was frozen with fear. I jumped into my bed and pulled the sheets over my head. What does this woman want? Will she harm me? Am I going crazy? I curled up, hoping that she would just go away. It felt like forever that I was hiding. After a while I calmed down, I thought this is stupid, ghosts don't exist, I must just be stressed and over tired.

So I went downstairs to the kitchen to make myself a cup of coffee and I pretended that nothing had happened. I hummed a song to myself, acting cool as a cucumber, in an ‘I'm not afraid of you ghosty manner!’. I entered the kitchen and no ghost lady was there, thank goodness. I sat at the table, relaxed and started drinking my coffee. It was then that the ghost lady appeared, sitting in the chair opposite me.

“Who are you? What do you want?” I said, afraid.

“Don't be afraid Sarah. I have only come to see if you are okay?” said the ghost, calmly.

“What?”

“Don't you remember? I helped you when you were lost and afraid, two months ago.”

I thought about what she was talking about. Then I remembered. I was in London, drinking with friends in the West End. I was tired by midnight, so I got the bus home, alone. I accidentally got on the wrong bus, I found myself in a very dangerous part of London, especially dangerous at night. I had no phone or any more money on me. I started fearing for my safety, I panicked.

Then out of nowhere a taxi appeared. I got in the taxi, to my relief it was a female driver, I explained my situation and she happily helped me out and gave me a lift home. I remember talking to the lady, but at no point did I see her face. I sat in the back of the taxi and it was as though a shadow was always covering her face. When we got back to my home, I said that I would just run inside and get some money.

“I have no use for your money. God bless you Sarah,” she said, as she drove off.

Then it dawned on me that at no point had I told her my name. The next day I found the situation very odd, but I just brushed it off as some lady being kind.

I looked at the ghost lady across the table.

“Yes. I remember. You drove me home,” I said.

“Yes. That night would have turned out very differently if I hadn't come to your rescue. I was sent to help you,” she said.

“How? By who?”

“You were in danger, a local thug was watching you, planning to steal your jewellery, he had a knife.”

“Oh thank you for helping me.”

“It was my pleasure. I did it for your baby.”

The ghost lady disappeared. My baby? I don't have a baby. By now I was shocked, emotional and feeling quite unwell. Despite my experience, I did not feel afraid anymore, so I went to bed as normal.

The next day I still felt ill. So I went to see my doctor. My doctor did some tests. I was pregnant.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Hayley Dodwell

I am a freelance writer. As well as Vocal, I have also written articles for numerous websites, including, Eighties Kids, WhatCulture, Child Of The 1980's, Online Book Club, GoNOMAD Travel, Hubpages, and ScreenHub Entertainment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.