Horror logo

The collection

short horror story

By Sophie larissaPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
4

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window. Curiosity seduced me as I closed in on the forest lining, there was no hesitation to find out who's moved into the cabin. The last anyone knew about its owners is that they were an elderly couple who built it themselves and live there to their last days. So crept quietly across the grassy opening and ducked underneath the candle lit window. I stayed crouched in the dirt for a few minuets to listen for any movement inside. Unsuccessful I slowly fished out my phone and turned on the camera and set it away to record. I filmed for a few seconds through the window to see if the room was empty. I played back the video and it did appear empty with only the candle burning and a vacant bed.

I decided to peek up over the ledge myself quickly before trying the window to find out if I could open it. It did give to my delight and I hopped over into the dull room. I stayed alert for any sounds around me while I worked through my excitement and thrills. With little fear I tiptoed across the floorboards with little creaking in my wake. The door way was clear so I dotted my head out to check the hallway. All good to go so I went with the thrill of the moment and zigzagged my way to the living area. What was very confusing was that the rest of the cabin so far seemed uninhabited. The furnisher was still covered up and no other sources of light or signs of human life was present. Unimpressed I retreated back to the hallway and had a look at the other rooms which again were disappointing. Feeling very deflated I headed back to the bedroom I entered the cabin through.

I was about to climb back out the window until I suddenly noticed it was closed and the candle had been moved. I opened the window to inspect the wind levels to see if it was possible it could have blew shut. But even if it had, how did the dust markings reveal that the candle has be slid along the window still. I felt a chill run down my spine and jumped back once I looked up to the window again. In a split second the masked figure stabbed there hand through the window pane and gripped my throat. Glass shattered across my face and bit my skin as I tried to fight my way out of the strong grip. The figure kept tight hold as if I was nothing but a tiny mouse caught in a trap. The figures attention grew short and yanked me forward through the rest of the window pane and threw me to the ground. I hit my head pretty hard as I heard a thump and my vision blurred.

Before I could speak they grabbed me by the scruff of my neck and dragged me round the back of the cabin. I thrashed my feet in a weak attempt to escape or at least loosen the hold. My hands were just as useless against the meaty human as I pried at there hands round my neck. I called out for help which angered the human and my punishment was to be thrown down a well like tunnel. I hit the ground with large impact that I broke my arm and leg. The was pain made me scream but all I got was the echo of my own misery. I begged them to leave me be as the lowered themselves down by the ladder and once again stood over me with a mask on. It appeared to be made from some sort of flesh whether it was animals or humans I am unsure. My hands tried to drag me away from the beast but all I made was blood trails and more cuts from the jaggered stoney floor. Once again I became there toy as they took my foot and dragged me further into the unknown.

I cried at the pain and fear I was in every bump made my head pound and the blood seeping from me did not protect against more tears into my body. Eventually they dropped my foot and I could have wept with delight from the release of extra pain. It soon faded when I was picked up like a ragged doll by the arm and tossed into a drum. The cramped space sent shooting pain through my body as my broken limbs became more destroyed. My leg was now twisted and my bone was snapped out of line so much it pierced my skin. My arm was the only thing I could cradle in a bad attempt to make myself feel comforted. I didn't stop crying as I still pleaded inside my container to be released on the promise I wouldn't say anything. The busy foot steps back and forth in the room told me they were empty pleas. The drum jerked suddenly and I realised he was wheeling me somewhere.

I tried to bargain again with him insisting that I really wouldn't tell anyone and that I was sorry for the breaking in. But I couldn't keep it up, It felt harder to breath every minuet that passed. I had wet myself in fear of what my fate was going to be once we reached our next destination. I gasped for air and beated with what last strength I had in my unbroken arm on the lid of the drum. We stopped again so sudden my head clattered of the side of the drum and I heard nothing but my own blood pumping inside my head. The drum was lifted onto something and I heard a liquid being poured onto the sides. If my nose was telling me right it was petrol and I cried out louder ignoring the pain it caused. I begged and begged for it all to stop until I a metal like object shot through the drum narrowly missed me but still caused some flesh to split. I braced myself for another skewering attempt, this one came from behind and tore right through my shoulder. I was pinned to the edges and couldn't bare to move out the way of the blood trickling from my wound.

The next pole to join me came from the lid that scrapped my chest and pinned my thigh to the floor of the drum. I screamed from the unbearable pain that consumed me whole. Blood slowly kept seeping and smearing the drums walls, the room seemed quiet for a while or I may have passed out. I came to firstly noticing the searing pain still lingering throughout my body and secondly taking note that I felt warm. I was confused at first at where the heat was from but soon I realised my fate. I smelt burning and the sound another unfortunate soul was now joining us. The shouted for help which did not sit well with our captor who punched the guy so hard he was nothing but silent after that. The captor roamed around the room for a little bit occasionally making grunting sounds. I listened to the sound of what sounded like cutlery being placed and the coming to sounds of the other victim. I prayed for a miracle that they could escape and bring help but they woke up and yelled and cursed at the captor.

The victim made gurgling sounds when his air ways became obstructed as he became skewered from throat to rear end and placed over a fire. I unwillingly listened to his cries and gargling which finished with muffled screams as he was cooked alive. I do not know how long it went on for but I knew I was next. It became apparent that he had the better deal as his was quicker but mine. I only realised part way through his suffering that the drum was getting hotter and hotter, I was being cooked .... slowly. The burning smell from earlier was me, I watched helplessly as my skin turned red and blistered. I couldn't bare to watched myself die so slowly so I decided to bang my head as forcefully as I could on the pole in my shoulder in the hope I get knocked out. Eventually it was the heat that took me out of my hell, It felt like an eternity I had to watch myself bleed and skin became charred. Some of the pain numbed over time or probably just got overtook from my body shutting down. My brain ticked on though it still registered sounds of what was around me. I heard the man be cut up and his fleshed be smacked between the captors lips.

My last thoughts was on the rumours of this cabin and that they now were all so true. It was said that the elderly couple had a peculiar son that they kept out of the public eye. He was different very different in terms of how a human should react and how they should conduct themselves. They all said that once you go in no one comes back, one say about 10 years ago a kid was dared to enter. He kept a open line on his mobile so he could relay what he experienced and he apparently described finding a room full of jars being refrigerated. They contained every body part you could name as he said over the phone, everything from eyes, ears and flesh to arms, legs and private parts. As you can imagine and assume he did not come home that day but his friends story about the call was ignored. When he was determined missing the cabin was searched and no trace was found, it was the same pattern for every other missing person to. Everyone thought it was just a story told around the camp fires to scare kids from going into the woods. And now I was too was about to become a camp fire story and again my body will not be found. My last sight that I saw was the lid being lifted and a slavering man hovered over me, it pooled onto my face as he laughed to himself. The very last things I knew that happened before my brain finally shut off was him detaching my head from my neck and calling me pretty face.

slasher
4

About the Creator

Sophie larissa

I have beautiful children and an amazing other half. They are more than enough for me. They are my reasons for doing what I love.

Instagram account- sophie_larissas_writing

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • P.K. Lowe2 years ago

    Macabre in the best way possible! This was a great read, and definitely left me a little queasy. Awesome Job!!

  • L.C. Schäfer2 years ago

    Thank you for sharing, I enjoyed this :) Little tip: smaller paragraphs would make it easier to read. :)

  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    That was gruesome. I enjoyed reading your story.

  • This was awesome! I love body horror

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.