Horror logo

The Abandoned Asylum

The True Story of the Asylum's Dark Legacy

By Adria_X_RaePublished about a year ago 5 min read
2

I still remember the day I first laid eyes on the abandoned asylum. It was a massive structure with towering walls, and ivy creeping up the sides like overgrown cancer. The windows were broken, and the doors hung from their hinges. The air was stale and musty, and I could almost taste the decay that filled the halls. Despite its abandoned state, the asylum had an eerie presence that lingered in the air.

As a journalist, I had always been intrigued by the history of the asylum, and I knew that there had been a lot of questionable practices that had gone on within its walls. I decided to investigate, hoping to uncover some of the asylum's secrets and report them to the public.

I entered the asylum, camera in hand, and began to explore. The inside of the asylum was just as I had imagined it; dark and foreboding, with the only light coming from the small windows and the flickering of my flashlight. The walls were peeling and covered in layers of grime, and there was a thick layer of dust on every surface. As I walked through the corridors, I couldn't shake the feeling that I was being watched.

As I made my way deeper into the asylum, I found a room that appeared to be a patient's quarters. The room was small and cramped, with a rusty bed frame and a stained mattress. There was a small table in the corner with a broken lamp, and a chair that had been toppled over. As I scanned the room, I noticed something strange; the walls were covered in strange symbols, all drawn in red. I couldn't decipher the meaning of the symbols, but they sent a shiver down my spine.

As I continued to explore, I heard strange noises coming from the end of the hallway. They sounded like whispers, but I couldn't make out what they were saying. I followed the whispers until I came to a room that appeared to be a lab. The room was filled with strange equipment, and files and documents were scattered everywhere. It was then that I realized the horrifying truth; the asylum had been used for experiments on the patients. I began to read through the files, and what I discovered made my blood run cold.

The experiments had been brutal and inhumane, with patients being subjected to extreme torture in the name of science. The walls of the room were covered in blood, and there were tools scattered around that made my stomach turn. It was then that I heard a voice behind me.

"Hello, what are you doing here?" the voice said.

I turned around to find a man standing in the doorway. He was dressed in a lab coat and had a strange look in his eyes. I realized then that he must have been one of the doctors who had worked in the asylum. He began to approach me, and I backed away slowly.

"Who are you?" I asked, my voice trembling.

"I'm Dr Smith," he replied. "And you're not supposed to be here."

I turned to run, but it was too late. Dr Smith had already grabbed me by the arm, and I could feel his hot breath on the back of my neck. I struggled, but he was too strong. He dragged me back into the lab, and I knew that I was in for a world of pain.

The next thing I knew, I was strapped to a table, surrounded by the strange equipment I had seen earlier. Dr Smith stood over me, grinning maniacally.

"Now, let's begin," he said.

I screamed as he began to use the tools on me, but no one could hear my cries. I was trapped in the abandoned asylum, and no one would ever know what had happened to me.

The pain was excruciating, and I lost track of time. Hours, maybe even days passed, and I had given up all hope of ever leaving the asylum alive. But then, just when I thought it was all over, I heard the sound of footsteps in the hallway. They were getting closer and closer, and I could hear voices.

Suddenly, the door to the lab burst open, and a group of police officers rushed in. They had received an anonymous tip about the asylum, and they had come to investigate. They found me strapped to the table, barely conscious, and Dr Smith was arrested on the spot.

I was taken to the hospital and treated for my injuries. It was a long road to recovery, and I still have nightmares about my time in the asylum. But the worst part was knowing that the horrors that had happened within its walls had been covered up for so long.

The abandoned asylum still stands today, a relic of a dark time in our history. It serves as a reminder that we must never forget the atrocities that have been committed in the name of science, and that we must always strive to expose the truth, no matter how ugly it may be.

In the weeks that followed, I worked tirelessly to uncover more information about the asylum and the experiments that had been conducted there. I poured over the files that I had found and conducted interviews with former staff members and patients.

What I discovered was even more disturbing than I had imagined. The asylum had been a site of unspeakable horrors, with patients being subjected to experimental surgeries, electroshock therapy, and other forms of torture. The experiments had been conducted under the guise of medical research, but in reality, they were nothing more than sadistic attempts to control and manipulate vulnerable individuals.

As my investigation continued, I received numerous threats from those who wanted to keep the truth hidden. I was followed, harassed, and intimidated, but I refused to back down. The more resistance I encountered, the more determined I became to bring the truth to light.

In the end, my reporting led to a full-scale investigation of the asylum, and many of those responsible for the atrocities were brought to justice. It was a small victory, but it meant that the lives of the patients who had suffered within its walls had not been in vain.

Years have passed since my investigation, but the memory of the abandoned asylum still haunts me. It serves as a reminder that the darkness that lurks within human nature can take hold in the most unlikely of places, and that it is up to us to stand up to injustice and fight for the truth, no matter how difficult the road may be.

supernaturalpsychologicalmovie reviewmonsterhalloweenfiction
2

About the Creator

Adria_X_Rae

"Dreamer with a vivid imagination, expressing inner world through literature, music & visual arts. Emotionally intuitive, exploring mental landscapes through creative pursuits."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    What a horrifying story! Well written!

  • Dr. Smith is so creepy and evil! This story was so suspenseful! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.