Horror logo

Strangling iPod

A Nightmare about an iPod

By Ada ZubaPublished 29 days ago 3 min read
Strangling iPod
Photo by Andres Urena on Unsplash

I used to fall asleep listening to my iPod nano. It looked similar to the one in the above photo, but it was small, and I can still remember the feel of the buttons and the clicking of the scroll wheel as you looked for your favorite songs. The iPod I had was silver and was 2 GB large, I thought I was living my best life with 1,000 songs saved on there. I would walk down the school hallways with one ear bud always in. I would be on lunch hour, and I always had some sort of music playing. I would blast it on the bus and in the empty halls where I roamed on my free class period. Tokyo Police Club was my band along with Two Door Cinema Club and a few other indie rock bands, to which I still listen to, to this day. I would play solitaire in Math class instead of homework, I would procrastinate with the rest of the class. Once it was time for bed, I would find my playlist that I had titled as Sleep with my earphones in and the quiet whisper of Birdie playing, I would drift off in sleep as I still shared a room with my sister, who would snore like a lawn mower, I had to fall asleep to something else.

The dream would start I would be doing chores around the house wearing my childhood favorite sweater and things would be going well, I cleaned using the broom as a microphone and pretending like I was the best singer since Whitney Houston. I had my iPod playing some trashy pop and a mix of sad songs too with a few indie songs. Then, In the dream I went into the store Best Buy and bought the newest iPod nano with 16Gb, so I had all my music on there. I did not need my old iPod nano, everyone in school had upgraded to the newest one, I did not need my old nano. I threw up my old nano into the trash, I remember it falling into the trash can like a slow-motion film and it was left in the dark. Then, I went to bed in the dream and that's when it happened. The iPod had felt betrayed by me since it was tossed aside, and a new iPod was in town. Slowly, by the earphones the iPod crawled out of the trash can, it started to play Every Breath You Take by The Police ever so quietly as it walked itself over to my bedroom and started to unlock it, still using the headphones and it crawled up my ladder and I was asleep in bed, the iPod saw this and it slithered under my covers and made its way up to my neck careful not to wake me up. The earphones than wrapped itself around my neck, the grasp became tighter and tighter as the song grew louder and louder. It was strangling me; it was pulling hard now waiting to take me down like a snake that was ready for a deer to kill and swallow whole. I couldn't breathe, where had my breath gone? I could not breathe, and I woke with a start, and I was pulling my earphones as they were around my neck. Wait...I was chocking myself in my sleep? Was that real? Had I just tried killing myself? Using my own iPod? I untangled the earphone from around my neck and I carefully put the wrapped iPod on the shelf by my bed. Ever since that dream I had never fallen asleep listening to music.

vintagemonsterfiction

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello and welcome to my page. I love reading fantasy, mystery and thrillers. I am an Amazon Affiliate Marketer even if I make no money, but it keeps my spending habits down. I love writing in different genres and challenging myself.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ada ZubaWritten by Ada Zuba

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.