Horror logo

Burn it to the Ground

Burn it all...

By Alisha WilkinsPublished 6 days ago 3 min read
Burn it to the Ground
Photo by Marek Szturc on Unsplash

I want to watch as the sky burns

I feel the heat of it caressing my face

Lying in the foliage

Watching as the smoke and ash begin to turn the sky gray

It feels like life is so empty

Void of anything inside

I choke on the smoke

But I continue to lay there

The fire licking at the edge of my toes

The house explodes from within

There’s barely any strength left in my arms to cover my face

Glass sprays from busted windows

I feel the heat spewing out of the doorway

Cascading over the roof

Everything is silent aside from the crackling

A horrible popping sound as the fire burns the house down

The treetops above me smolder

~

I know there will be questions.

I know there will be an investigation.

There will be so many damning things that I could tell the police.

But will anyone notice a home burning deep in the depths of the wilderness?

Will anyone come to my rescue?

I feel the spark wheel scrap across my thumb

I feel it burning into my skin

There was so much pain locked inside my prison

And now I’m free of you

I’ll burn the house down, so full of memories

I’ll burn every thought of you out of existence from my mind

~

Turning, there’s finally some feeling scraping at my back

Everything aches as if you’re beating me was just the tip of the pain

I crumble at the pain

I cry out, even though there isn’t enough air to breathe.

My arm’s bruised,

Leaves and sticks digging into the scrapes and scars

My chest aches

My heart hurts, the anxiety beginning to build inside of me

Sitting up, I clench my right arm to my chest, as if that will help the pain.

My left-hand fists, digging dirt underneath my fingernails.

Blackness covers my skin and clothes

No one’s coming

I reason with the silence

No one’s going to come and save me

I’m going to have to pick myself up and move.

The fire is going to spread.

Panic sets for a moment,

Even as the roof creaks and slowly begins to cave

Will you emerge from the flames?

Will you somehow survive the fire?

~

I’m broken because of you

I’m not even a woman anymore.

You took everything from me.

My life, my love, my reason for living

You took everything,

So, I destroyed you.

Never before has fire seemed so beautiful to me

So, uplifting

I feel the heat pressing up against me

I don’t care how much it hurts

It hurts less compared to you

~

I don’t know how long I sit and watch the house burn

I don’t know how long it’s been

All I know is that the darkness is swift to come in

But I still feel the warmth brush against my skin

Even as the roof caves in.

There’s nothing left for me here.

No pain,

No anger,

Nothing.

~

I wait in fear,

Waiting to see if you’ll emerge

I cradle my arm against my chest

The pain of it starting to pull me out of the fog

My brain is screaming

But everything around me is silent as the grave.

Light up the sky

Let everything burn.

Something breaks inside of me

I choke on the smoke

Something solidifies inside of me

A monster finally breaking free of his shackles

Leans his head back and cackles at the fire

I don’t understand how the flames are still so high

Maybe you the demons are trying to help me burn the thoughts of you away

Maybe Hell broke through the ground beneath the house

Burn…

Burn it all…

Burn it all to the ground.

psychologicalmonsterfiction

About the Creator

Alisha Wilkins

I've been writing my whole life. Writing about realms to escape in, forbidden characters to fall in love with, and using writing as my muse and refuge. Sometimes writing opens up the soul to healing, learning, and eventually to living again

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Lindsey Altom5 days ago

    Beautifully written, love this!

Alisha WilkinsWritten by Alisha Wilkins

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.