Horror logo

Spiders in My Lungs

horror or something deeper?

By Blaze HerreroPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
Note all art in this post is not mine but found online i take no credit for the art drawn.

It was late into the night when you visited me, my back to the the sheets and mouth open wide my snores a sounding call to your future nest. It was pitch black in the abyss that was my eyelids as the you approached the open cavity that was my nose. Your 8 legs tired from the journey a few egg sacks on your back carrying the future of your kind, you wanted a safe place for your young, and I was a victim of circumstance. Yet unbeknownst to me you so did crawl into my nose which alarmed me to an extent at the blockage of air making it's way to my lungs. You stay silent and still hiding in the dirty cave of bacteria as you waited for me to lull myself to sleep in my half awake state. This place just wouldn't do, so you made your way inwards determined to find the perfect location despite my fears, or at least the protests I would have if I was awake.

Through my nasal cavity and down my throat you were given two choices in which you had little time to thick in the journey, my throat contracting as in haled. The moist fleshy cave always too tight the warm air threatening to blow you away at any moment, yet persistence was the key to your success my dear arachnid mother. At any moment you could slay this giant from the inside but chose rather to keep me alive persisting through the hardships for the sake of your young, you knew in the nature the easy way was not the right way. You were on your last legs and this journey would be your last, little did I know but that same journey would lead to my last moments. You had a 50 chance to save your young at this moment either a vat of acid or a cozy hollow warm cave. Yet despite either choice meant the end of you, little do we know that many times in our lives quite literally we are at a cross roads of death. And every choice leads to us barely surviving each and every decision despite our last breath possibly being within the span the next five minutes, for what seems like an infinite amount of reasons. For almost any reason at any given time you may die with or with out your knowledge, with or with out reason you may make the wrong choice leading to the inevitable down fall of you and your young.

Mother spider should've died by now due to biological reasons as well as the passage of time and the literal life draining task of bringing new life into the world. Yet whether by her own hands, the hands of fate or the will of a sadistic/benevolent being in the sky writing her story she persits despite all odds or reasons. Yet by those very same reasons I find myself at death's door as he laughs at the pure obscurity that is my demise. That a young black spider on the verge of dying at any given second would make her way down into my lungs to weave a web for her egg sacks only to softly pass in front of her young fulfilling her purpose in existence. A mere blip in the fabric of the universe a threat no smaller than 0.4 centimetres would be the end of me who was also an amoeba in the grand scheme of this plane of reality. Yet a mere spider decided on whim without ill intent at the moment to me that I would house her young.

Yet in that moment I became food for nature a seemingly normal morning waking up "congested" would be my downfall. As the webbing coated my lungs which shook at the effort to expand already coated in mucus from my snores or allergies struggled at the might of nature. Funnily enough my death would result in the birth of new life, which could've been prevented if only I had gone to the hospital. Yet as it was just your everyday cold or congestion I took unnecessary pain pills to get through my day as I readied myself for work. I took a shower, brushed my teeth, got dressed, ate breakfast and went to work same as always never once worried about the persistent cough as I went along with my seemingly average existence. Why I was chosen to the be a literal ticking time bomb was unknown to me just as much as it was known to you and omniscient reader. A reader who should in theory know more than me is just as in the dark to this tragedy leaving you to theorize at the author's sadistic or perhaps more accurately label twisted personality. Or maybe just maybe it is karma, do you believe deep down you have wronged someone enough to die by the a thousand baby spiders being born inside of the cavities of your lungs? If you do i would suggest reevaluating your life, and if not well then this must be a sheer coincidence in the universe a mix up by some one in a billion chance. While for many given reasons many of which are scientific this should not be in anyways possible, yet still it happens. At exactly 5;06 while eating a bagel at work you clutch your heart feeling something quite wrong with your body. the egg sacks hatch as they burst out filling your lungs with the spawns of death. Your body tries to cough up the excess amount of spiders yet webbing flies closing up your windpipe as the siderlings bite into you exploring its new home as they devour you and their mother's corpse. you kneel over writhing in pain as you die mysteriously in your eyes a hooded figure laughing softly at you among the worried crowd. There's nothing you could do, not much anyone could do at that given moment, as a mother's love or primal need to better her children's life cost at the expense of your own caused your soul to drain away. The paramedics arrive trying to save your life pumping your chest yet at their surprise your body was beyond saving as cpr on you at this point would involved numerous spider children entering their own. a fact now known to them as some manage to escape your mouth only to be stepped on by the scared humans. Your mouth now taped closed as they whisk you away to the morgue unable to be saved, the mortician now frowns at the loss of your live, only to quickly follow at the entertainment of it all.

Sadly to say Mother spider's attempt at a better life for her young was quite futile, well because inside you all of her young died trapped inside your corpse. If only you had died alone, or she had killed you first making your corpse her young ones home, and why this story could've ended many more gruesome ways. The fact remains that one that page you died today, written off as death by spider eggs, when in reality you died because a point had to be made. That in the end... we all have spiders in our lungs.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.