Horror logo

Shallow river

By Giovani Serrano

By giovani serranoPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
First of many.

The water was barely knee high, yet she had been submerged completely. The water dripping from every part of her bared body as she walked towards me. The stories had been repeated over and over by many of the towns people. My job had been to separate fact from fiction. As she approached I could feel the water begin to fill my throat as I gasped for air in a desperate hope that I could be saved from the Drowned Queen.

“Hey Jerry do you want to go by the bank to hang out tonight?” Had she gone mad or had the drugs fried her head? “We both know the story why would you want to go any where near there?” “It is just a story stop being such a coward Jerry. Besides I figured it was the only place I could get you all to my self, but if your scared then I guess I can go alone.” She had a way of getting me to do what she wanted, perhaps it had been her dark red eyes or her curled up blonde hair. I loved her for some time and knew if I had not gone she would of went herself.

I waited till the sun had fully went down before sneaking out of the house. My house had been on the edge of the town closed to the river since it had been the cheapest. I saw Destiny by the tree we carved our stories into. I slowly crept up from behind making sure to avoid any of the leaves that had began to fall. I had held my breath as I made it right behind her and lot out a loud shout. She quickly turned around after jumping away and shrieking in pure terror. I laughed so hard my sides began to hurt. She had been upset with me, but we stilled continued further into the woods towards the river.

“See nothing.” She began to strip as she went in to get her feet wet since it had been shallowed. “Did you hear that they built a dam towards the top, but every time they did it would brake causing mudslides and messing up with the wild life.” “Yeah they blamed the Queen for it, but I think that they were just bad builders.” She had moved on top of me as her hand slid under my shirt feeling up my chest. “Do you remember our promise?” “Destiny I will promise you a thousand times if you would like to hear it. I promise today, tomorrow, here or there you will forever be mine and I shall always be yours.” “You are so corny.” “You love it besides corny is not the only thing i am right now.”

“Help!” A scream had came from further down the river. “Destiny we need to go back.” “What no did you not hear that? Someone is in trouble.” “Yeah because we are by the river.” “We are to and here we are a okay. If you are going to be scared then I will go and help the guy.” She was to kind and stubborn, honestly most people lose a debate with this future lawyer. We raced to the origin of the scream. To see the man grasp for air as his hand reached toward us hoping to be saved. The lady stood there naked and drenched in water. As his struggles became weak her gazed then turned towards us. Her skin had been unnatural flawless, as if nothing had the opportunity to corrupt it. She had walked towards us slowly yet we had been held in place by water. I could hear Destiny cry, but I was able to help her escape as my hand got tied down instead. “Run Destiny!” “No I can’t leave you!” “Please if you die here then I can’t...”

She had placed her hand on his head as he began to drown I wanted to save him, but could not move. This had all been my fault if I never tempted him to come here we would be safe right now. He died right in front of me and I was next. Everything we ever planned had now been extinguished because of me. She had placed her hands on my head and then an image of the ocean flooded my sight. I saw it a storm rampaging as a single man began fell from the sky becoming the first living thing that the endless water was to house. The Queen had removed her hand from my head and looked me in the eyes. “You have seen him? Who are you?”

Who am I? The Drowned Queen after killing my boyfriend asked me who I was? “You killed him.” I barely got the words out as I crawled to his corpse. “You love him?” “Yes more then anyone.” She place her hand on his head and began to absorb the water in his body she had left. He gasped for air as life return to his body. The moment of relief was short lived as I began to get dragged by the water.

The Queen had already disappeared into the river. Destiny had began to get pulled in by the water and no matter how hard we tried there was nothing we could do to save her. I watched as she got swallowed whole by the shallow river.

fiction

About the Creator

giovani serrano

trying to work on my style before publishing on kindle. Hope to make a career off my writings, since I enjoy it so much.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    giovani serranoWritten by giovani serrano

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.