Horror logo

Quiet Snow

One can bury the truth here.

By giovani serranoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I could not turn back now, not after making it this far. I could only run forward into the blizzard in hopes they would lose track of me.

Snow made my path in front of me nearly impossible to view. I kept moving with pure hope I would not fall off some cliff, or run onto thin ice. I had just began practicing magic, so I was unable to use it freely, instead deciding to wait for the moment to unveil itself.

The creatures that hunted me were not of this world nor should they be. We call them Hollows and till this they are believed to be caused my humans who have lost control of thier source. I now know the truth of the matter. The governments from around the world have all been experimenting with magic twisting the source in order to contain something that should not be.

The Hollow on my trail was silent, blended in to the snow almost perfectly, yet since they do not belong in this world their presence is easy to differentiate from the rest. I could feel it grow ever closer to me as I began to lose my breath. I had not ran this much in a very long time.

I had lost it, no longer was I able to feel the Hollow’s presence. Not till in front of me it began to emerge from the shadow of a dead animals carcass. Black smoke surrounded it as it inched ever closer from my now paralyzed body. Fear had gripped me and would of held its grasp if not for the shriek the Hollow cried. Blood dripped from my ear as I tried to escape, but their arms was longer then their body. Dragging on the floor as it ran, and with those arms it had caught me. No normal means can hurt Hollows so I decided this was the moment to use the little bit of magic I had. As the Hollow retracted it’s arm do to the fire burning it, I ran now screaming in pain. My source was not fully developed and using magic in this state causes internal pain, some say damaging the soul.

Hollows were closer to the source of all magic then anybody could ever dream of reaching. The amount of magic they hold is incredible and dangerous, each able to use a variety of different forms of spell at the same time. If the government could learn to control and weaponize them for themselves the world would end up in another war, worst then the First war.

I had the paper works hidden in hopes there would be someone to find them and do the right thing. Still if I could live pass today then perhaps I could be the one. Yet as I witness another Hollow creep up from in front of me while the other had already recovered and was now stalking my back, I knew I was dead.

Your life is suppose to flash before your eyes as you die, but for me I could not see a thing. The Hollow’s had empty eye sockets with no teeth. What ever they swallowed were gone for good, even a dissected one would not turn up anything. Nothing inside of their empty vessel. Yet they did not eat me, I had knew the government wasn’t successful in controlling them. The worst part was that they believed that they had control, but only him and I knew the truth.

As I drew my last breath I heard him slowly approaching as he uttered the last words I was to ever hear. “The quiet white swallows another in her cold embrace.”

fiction
1

About the Creator

giovani serrano

trying to work on my style before publishing on kindle. Hope to make a career off my writings, since I enjoy it so much.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.