Horror logo

PLANET PLAGUE

Chapter VI DOOM

By Saiquan CantyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

RINGING

My ears are ringing. I turned my head to the left and I see my commander staring back at me. Her head severed and eyes wide open. Her face frozen still uttering her last words before the explosion. The sky is Gray now as I turn to my right still clasping the Blood Red Locket. My body feels numb. I close my eyes. Tears running down the sides of my face and I pray that I get out of this alive. I open my eyes and slowly roll over to my side. We were ambushed. Only 2 blocks from our extraction point. Steely hands clasped my shoulder, it's Amy. Her face looks tormented. “Are you alright!” I nodded my head as she helped me to my feet. Pulling out my sidearm as we rushed to cover. In the buildings all around us, men are firing on our position. The crack and thunder of their guns are drawing them to us. Those whose souls are departed but they’re rotting corpses still walk among us hungry for our flesh. This planet is dead! Planet Plague as we call it. From our ship, just a Black Pearl levitating in space. 20 billion souls, all gone now, consumed by the evil that is this Heart Shaped Locket.

IIII DAYS EARLIER

Your mission is as follows. Your team will be hot dropped in the outskirts of Ion. Your team must make your way through the metropolis to the secret underground facility located in the red-light district. Located in room 5 will be an item of significant importance. A Blood Red Heart Shaped locket. It is cursed, and it Is what caused the pandemic that wiped out the planet.

No one can know that we are here. Kill any survivors that you come across. We also have intelligence of organized societies set up in Ion. It is a very strong possibility that you will be spotted in your descent and traps will be set to ambush you in pursuit of your objective. Lastly, the zombie infection seems to have mutated extensively over the past 44 months. You will be dealing with more than just infected humans. Some of them have evolved into truly gruesome monsters that could pose a tremendous threat to the team. These creatures only seem to come out at night. The sun has an adverse effect on their exoskeletons. Avoid these creatures at all costs! (Morgan) “That little locket killed everyone on the planet and turned them into monsters?” (Colonel Yu) “Correct” “There is one other thing. This is a time-sensitive mission. This planet is due to be destroyed by the federation in 6 days.”

The 6 of you have your orders failure will not be tolerated either return with the locket or do not return at all!

HURRY THIS WAY!

It's Morgan! She survived the crash and explosion. Following her through the gunfire Amy and I rush into the building behind her. We barricade the door, seal all exits and prepare for a standoff. It's getting dark now. Bullets tore into our little bunker and then finally fell silent. Amy moved close to the window and peered outside. The figures in the buildings that had surrounded us had all gone. Even they knew better and to stay out after dark. Groans could be heard all around us but not the groans of the undead no, this was something far more sinister. (Morgan) “We have to link back up with the rest of the team” I agree but how? (Me) “It's already dark and we've already seen what those things are capable of. Our weapons have little to no effect on them.” (Amy) “Well if we stay here we're as good as dead there's no way we'll be able to hold up in this room all night” (Me) “There's no way we're gonna be able to sneak around all those things. At some point, we're gonna run into one of them.” They both looked at me. I understand. We have to complete this mission. I'm a soldier, this is what I signed up for. A soldier a part of an all-female special forces unit “The Bouncy Betty’s”. We're the elite.

There's no challenge we can't overcome, no obstacle that will stand between us and completing our objectives. We set the example for women all across the federation. It's a federation that has looked down on women for thousands of years. Men believe we don't belong here. War is the province of Men, they say. Men say that a woman's place is in the home. With each man I've killed personally I’ve proven that belief to be wrong. There may have been hundreds of them, maybe thousands that have all died by my hands alone, and yet, here I am afraid to step outside. Afraid to face this new threat. A threat that doesn't fear. A threat that doesn't feel pain.

THE RADIO SCREECHES

The communication is fuzzy but it sounds like Sam is trying to reach us. We speak into our coms but the signal is too weak and choppy. (Amy) We have to get outside where we'll get a better signal. (Me) Glad to see that the humans we shared didn't kill Sam and Taylor. The other 2 laughed at my comment as we readied our guns and ammo preparing ourselves to step out the door. The groans are louder now and can be heard from everywhere. My heart is fluttering. I want to survive this.

DOOM

The wind rushed inside as we opened the door DDDOOOMMMMM!

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.