Horror logo

October 31st!

A Night to Forget!

By Nadine Halliday Published 2 years ago 4 min read
October 31st!
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

"The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window.

There were six of us. We dared to enter at our own risk. We’d planned this night for weeks. October 31st 2000, the scariest night of the year. It were a full moon and we were all ready to pull out the ouija board and contact the uncontactable.

We weren’t ready at all for what were to come.

As we stood staring at the cabin in the darkest of nights and the clock struck 11pm; we awaited which seemed like a chilling silence but yet a dark presence.

Before we could re-plan and look at an alternative for what we didn’t expect, we all found ourselves sat on the floorboards in the middle of the cabin grasping at the board in a circle.

The floor were fire, hot like coal. My head felt light, light as a cloud and my eyes unfocused. Mumbling and husk voices left our mouths after repeating the letters from the board. The fear in us all didn’t show, all I felt and saw from the others where empty, dead souls.

Eyes dark, dark like we had been taken. The demands had us, and what appeared to be the best and scariest night of our life’s, turned out to be; yes an unforgettable night but also one we all longed to forget.

We spelt out the name ‘JONNEY’!

Our hands in sync raised above our heads and our eyes were lifted to follow, as far as I were aware no one knew anyone at all called Jonney. It wasn’t us, it wasn’t our spirit. We had been taken over and the spirit was controlling our body and tongues.

Time rushed passed us and I cannot recall the hours which went by but all I do remember, were at one point we were all dancing trance in unison around the room, facing one another. Non of us were in control.

We threw up in sync straight after what appeared to be a physical ritual, one after another in a single row. The vomit was green slim. Screams left our body in horror when we came around but there were nothing we could do.

The one source of light we had was the burning candle which had now started to flicker. The board on the floor began to tremble and a huge sound from a grandfather clock began to strike. The doors were locked, we were in the middle of no where with no signal, we were trapped!

Moans and wailing were coming from outside, I could hear it but knew it wasn’t the wind. There were banging on the windows and doors surrounding us which prevented us from trying to escape.

Furniture which weren’t first noticeable appeared out of what seemed like nowhere and were throwing us from one end of the room to another. I looked up from the floor after being trashed by a wooden chair to see Jake held up to the wall feet dangling in the air which seemed to be a lightning bolt (is the only way I could describe it).

Owen looked as though he’d passed out rolled in a rug at the main entrance to the cabin and I was unsure as to how he got in there in the first place.

Natasha and Natalie (twins), were naked stood in front of the window luring someone in with their seductive dancing, I couldn’t see who but I were terrified!

Non of us were behaving in a sane way.

Ebony was sat this time on top of the ouija board shaking. Her eyes flickering and rolling back while she chanted trothing from the mouth. I couldn’t hear her words.

Although I was hiring my body to these demands and rubbing my body across all walls and radiators like a sucker fish in a tank, I felt at that point my mind were aware. I focused on Ebony.

Everyone at one point stopped the craziness they were doing and we were all focused. ‘’Jake!’’ She repeated several times, ‘’Owen, Owen, Owen!! Nat Nat!! Ebooonnnyy’’ She then called my name… ‘’Yamin!!’’

In a demonic, deep voice. Which weren’t hers, she screeched… ‘’WE ARE JONNEY!’’

Her chants took over our body again, she began hissing at us.

‘’You’ve come for trouble! Look inside yourself! You are trouble! Leave! Leave now or I’ll burn this cabin down!’’

We couldn’t leave, we couldn’t move. Floods of tears were streaming from our eyes but no breath were leaving our mouths. I felt suffocated. I were hot. I saw orange burning light. I had no air and couldn’t grasp oxygen!

I remembered nothing else, I’m sorry that’s all I could recall. All I did know is that, since that night, this story had never been told MY WAY until now. Never left MY lips and WE as a friendship group of six have never had any form of communication… AGAIN. We make an acceptation on this day every year to tell our version of events only.’’

Why we still make it a ritual to come to the same cabin year after year but sit outside of it to tell this tale around a campfire I would never know.

We went in order of our names spelling out JONNEY and each year we all tell our tale of events as to what happened that night.

My name is Yamin as you are aware and the date is now 31st October 2026. This was my take on things and I’m the last one with this story.

Who knows what will happen next year or even tonight now we have all opened our mouths at the scene and finally broke the silence.

halloween

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    NHWritten by Nadine Halliday

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.