Horror logo

No More Space In The Graveyard

On reaching the graveyard it was full up. I was going to have to dig to connect the two bodies from past to in the present.

By Yvette Louise MelechPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
No More Space In The Graveyard
Photo by Jez Timms on Unsplash

No More Space in The Graveyard

I sit holding a book of numbers One to a thousand and one 1001. I was given a book of the dead to bring to this place. This place is a graveyard. I had to turn my back on it’s face.

I now see through my tired eyes from driving through off the beaten track routes. Whereupon ghoulish spirits having nightmares sung out loud.

I didn’t need to be told I could be gunned down at any given moment in time. My route was tenaciously dangerously weird.

Within my lorry, I was given dead straight orders from a burnt map. I had no idea how I would get across borders.Now, I’ve arrived at the graveyard.

I realise, I have to bury one thousand and one bodies with my bare hands. I sit sobbing. I have no idea how space will permit me.Within each tomb stands a gravestone of another families fate.

I have no choice but to become a grave digger. I’m forced to attend to my orders. My duty be bound with white tape. In other words. I could never live with myself without forfeiting my orders as placed by my commander.

He had an orange square face. A humble man. He gave me wine, bread and money to complete my journey.

The cart I was given to possess was full of bloody dead Ukrainian soldiers. I’m tired, hungry.

I’ve left my mother behind to tend to my own living flesh left on the other side. Now I must pray to face my duty to go dig up the resting dead underneath old ground for they will all have company now. I rest by this gate regaining my courage. The task ahead one can only proceed with the will of Gods strength. I face no guilt ahead.

The gate is open so are my barehands hungry to see the dead in my crate reach their fate. By my commanders orders. After, my destiny unfolds.

My journey back to base be riddled with more ghouls singing their songs. All being well they will be dancing souls then, of the ones I just laid down undressed to rest naked. Awaiting at the gate of justice for their fate.

Now I need to find something to dig up the dead with. To add more dead bodies of the ones inside my truck. I’ve got to complete my mission. I’ve got to use my bare hands. I have no gloves. Old flesh will meet a friend with new flesh. If there be flesh remaining on the corpse I’m to unpack. I very much doubt it. I better get on with my task. It’s dark ghosts might be walking.

I can’t see very clearly. I’ve an old torch. Some bodies in my truck have names on them. I must write the number of each gravestone for the body I dig into meeting it’s dead friend . I will begin from the back of my truck. I will do my best to keep the children together. I might have to put two dead children in one grave to share. I have a few old pens, but no gloves.

In this darkness I begin to unpack the dead. Some carcasses are not very well sealed. Due to the desperation of moving the dead fast. As fast as is possible. Away from rotting into nothing on the cold on streets in Ukraine. I will do my best to find something with some kind of name of each body. If I can’t, I will try to remember to keep a note in my mind of where I’ve buried the men, the women and the children.

I begin my task . In the name of God have mercy on Ukraine.

Yvette Louise Melech

Copyright ©

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Yvette Louise Melech

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.