Horror logo

Nightmare Journal: Knife Intruder

Oh god, don't let me lose her

By Ecarg NosivePublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

*Ding Clang Ding*

*Ding Clang Ding*

I let out a hoarse groan as I reach over to get my phone off the charger. Its dusk, no sound needs to be that loud right now, especially on one hour of sleep. I stupidly worked out later than I should have last night and my pre-workout surged through my body, keeping me up until 4 AM. My alarm was set for 5, and then 5:05, 5:10, 5:15, etc.; I had to be at Mary’s at 6:45, and I had already slept in late on her once so I couldn’t let it happen again. I punish myself by getting up at one of the earlier dings, for it’s my fault I kept the energy going anyways. My workout wasn’t as strenuous as it usually is because my new smoking habit made my lungs collapse easier on my run, therefore I settled for walking, which took little to no energy from my cracked out veins.

I roll off of the couch and immediately get my coffee, and then slowly, very slowly, gather my lunch and other items for the day. I leave early, mostly so I can smoke more cigarettes in my car, and also so I wouldn’t sit back down and fall asleep. I get there in a nicotine and heightened heart rate daze, still extremely exhausted even with the coffee. I let myself in to her place, make myself comfy on her couch, and try to figure out how I’m going to deal with a toddler all day. While she gets ready for work, I tell Mary my current situation and she offers that I nap while Maya naps today. I started counting down the minutes immediately.

Maya begins to get overly ornery around 12 PM, and I know it’s finally my time to shine. I put her in her crib and happily prance back downstairs to the couch. My eyes are already heavy and ready to go. I lay down, and just like that I drift to the land of dreams, where I stay until I hear Maya crying. Only thing is, my eyes won’t open. I sway in between sleep and reality and I convince myself her crying is in my dream. She’s almost wailing at this point, and she never does anything but a light yell so I figure it must be my anxiety of her waking up flowing in to my dream. The crying gets louder and louder, and I call out her name, not sure if I do in real life as well because I’m still in a weird limbo.

The crying stops, and I figure I was right, no need to force myself to get up just yet. Then, I hear rumbling, like someone walking around upstairs, or maybe outside. This building has thin walls so I don’t think anything of it. Still, I try to open my eyes again and they won’t. I float in and out of consciousness and can’t decipher what sounds belongs where. I lay there in the abyss and start to feel uneasy. Why can’t I get up? Is Maya okay? Am I still dreaming? What if those footsteps were…and then, I remember the door has been unlocked this whole time.

That’s when I feel a presence in the room. I beg my eyes to open but it’s as if they’re sealed shut. If there is an intruder I need to take note of what they look like in case I need to call the police. I need to open my eyes. Oh god, I hope they didn’t hurt Maya. I’m praying it’s just a robbery, where at least we stay safe, but before I can finish that prayer, I feel him behind me. I don’t know how I knew he was male, I could just sense the masculinity I guess. Maybe it was in the way he held the knife's point to my neck, with such aggression, and no remorse.

My eyes fluttered open for maybe a moment but all I could make out as a black hooded blur. He mumbled something I couldn’t understand, and I’m not even sure if I let out a scream or not, I was so focused on the knife and its progressing pressure, and the pain from my head leaning harshly over the cold, hard arm rest. This is it, I thought. This is how I die. Just like that, the blade slipped in to my neck. I didn’t feel anything but the blood gushing over my hands.

Then I woke up.

My hands were still wrapped around my neck over an oddly coincidental ache as Maya was crying in the distance.

slasher
Like

About the Creator

Ecarg Nosive

I'm a 27 year old writer from Ohio trying to make my passion, my career. Besides writing I enjoy animals, nature, and concerts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.