Horror logo

Night Fall

Darkness

By Jennifer ZabalaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

She stared into the darkness wondering what was rustling behind the bushes. As she got closer the sound of his breathing became louder and she could see a faint fog from his warm breathe in the cold night air. She leaned around the tree so slightly so she would not startle her dark stranger. She whispered to him, "Hello, I am not going to hurt you." As soon as she finished her last word a strong voice said, " How do you know I won't hurt you?" Taken aback by the danger that she now felt she turned around and started to run hoping someone would help her. As she ran through the cold dark night she could feel an unwelcome presence that rattled her to her core. Just as she could see the lights from town in front of her she felt a harsh grab to her shoulder. As she was ripped back the fear of what she was about to see consumed her. All she could see was darkness as she fell to the cold damp ground. As she looked around she could hear the loud breathes of her mysterious person who she had once been intrigued to know but now had a overwhelming fear of what she had been longing for. "Please, I don't want any trouble I just want to go home." As she turned around glancing from side to side she couldn't find him anywhere. She stared out into the dark night surrounding her but could only see faint fog in the distance. She decided to try to get up and run. As she started to lift herself up off of the ground a light but strong hand grabbed her shoulder and dug his long nails slightly into her quivering skin. " I don't think I told you to get up, now did I?" Silently inside of her she let out a scream that she could only hear. " I didn't see you so I was going to leave." "Tonight will not be going as you planned, he said in a menacing voice." You see, I am very hungry and well you seem like you were in the wrong place at the right time." "What do you mean? I have no food with me!" "Oh my darling, you're not understanding you are the food!" Within a second she was ripped to her feet and felt a strong pain radiating from her neck. He was biting me, what was this? Why was he biting her, she thought to herself. "What are you?" She could feel herself getting weak and the lights were starting to fade around her. " I my darling, am a vampire." She could feel herself fall to the ground but could not gain any strength to even lift her head to see who her attacker was. As she lay on the cold damp ground she slowly faded until everything went dark. When she finally came around and opened her eyes she felt like she was finally alone. She could no longer see faint fog or hear breathing, she was alone. As she tried to get up she was startled by a barn owl sitting on a branch of a tree. He called out into the night with a loud screech. They locked eyes for a moment before the girl rose to her feet and slowly drug herself toward the lights of town. As she pushed herself to make it to all the lights she noticed the owl had been following her most of the way. Then without warning the owl flew toward her and then off it went into the night sky. As she approached the highway she knew she only had just a little way to go and felt hopeful she would be okay. Just as she started to cross the highway she heard a familiar voice. " I wasn't done with you yet, who told you that you could leave?"

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Zabala

I find that my best poems are ones I write in regards to my brother who passed away when I was 15. These poems have been a way for me to express my thoughts through words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.