Horror logo

Nebraska: The Poisoned Girl at Centennial Hall

By: Melrose

By Melrose Published 10 months ago 4 min read
Like
Nebraska: The Poisoned Girl at Centennial Hall
Photo by Kate Kasiutich on Unsplash

**Title: Nebraska: The Poisoned Girl at Centennial Hall**

My name is Mika, and I've always been drawn to the paranormal and the unexplained. Growing up in Nebraska, I had heard countless ghost stories and urban legends, but none were as haunting as the tale of the poisoned girl at Centennial Hall. Centennial Hall was an old and abandoned building on the outskirts of town, and according to the legend, it was haunted by the spirit of a young girl who had met a tragic and mysterious end. The story had captivated my imagination for years, and one fateful night, my curiosity and fascination led me to embark on a chilling and terrifying quest to uncover the truth behind the legend of the poisoned girl at Centennial Hall.

It was a cold, moonless night when my friends and I decided to explore the abandoned Centennial Hall. As we approached the old building, the air seemed to thicken with an eerie silence, and the shadows danced ominously around us.

"Are you sure about this, Mika?" Sarah, my best friend, asked, her voice trembling.

I nodded, my heart pounding in my chest. "We've heard the stories, but we need to know if they're true."

The legend spoke of a young girl named Emily, who had lived at Centennial Hall with her family in the late 1800s. One night, tragedy struck when she fell gravely ill after consuming a mysterious poison. Her death was sudden and unexplained, and her spirit was said to have remained trapped in the old building, haunting it ever since.

As we stepped inside the decaying hall, a musty smell filled the air, and the creaking of floorboards under our feet seemed to echo through the deserted rooms. The flickering light of our flashlights cast eerie shadows on the walls, adding to the haunting atmosphere.

"We should turn back," Jack, another friend, said, his voice barely above a whisper.

But I was determined to uncover the truth behind the legend, and I couldn't let fear hold me back. I led my friends deeper into the building, our footsteps echoing through the empty halls.

As we explored, strange noises filled the air—whispers in the wind, soft laughter, and the faint sound of a music box playing a haunting melody. It was as if the spirit of the poisoned girl was trying to communicate with us, drawing us deeper into her ghostly embrace.

Suddenly, a chilling breeze swept through the hall, extinguishing our flashlights and plunging us into darkness. Panic surged within us, and we fumbled to find our way back to the entrance.

"Let's get out of here!" Sarah cried, her voice tinged with fear.

But just as we were about to make our escape, a pale light appeared in the distance—a soft glow that seemed to emanate from the heart of the building.

"Did you see that?" I asked, my heart racing.

We exchanged fearful glances, uncertain of what to do next. But my curiosity and fascination with the legend compelled me to follow the light, despite my fear.

As we approached the source of the glow, a figure emerged from the shadows—a young girl with long, flowing hair and a dress from a bygone era. Her eyes were vacant, and her skin was pale, as if drained of life.

"Emily," I whispered, my voice trembling.

The girl didn't respond, but her gaze seemed to fixate on something in the distance—a wooden box on a dusty shelf. Curiosity overpowered my fear, and I approached the box cautiously.

Inside, I found a collection of old letters and documents, revealing the tragic tale of Emily's death. According to the letters, Emily's family had been hiding a dark secret—a bitter family feud that had led to her poisoning.

I realized that Emily's death had not been an accident but a deliberate act of malice. The family had conspired to take her life, and her spirit had remained trapped in Centennial Hall, seeking justice and closure.

As I pieced together the puzzle, the haunting melody of a music box filled the air once more, and the figure of Emily began to fade away, as if finally finding peace.

"Thank you," she whispered, her voice like a distant echo.

With those words, Emily's spirit vanished into the darkness, leaving behind a sense of sorrow and closure. The truth behind the legend of the poisoned girl had finally been uncovered, and I couldn't help but feel a mix of relief and sadness.

As we made our way back to the entrance of Centennial Hall, I knew that the legend of the poisoned girl would forever be etched in my memory—a chilling reminder of the mysteries and tragedies that lay hidden in the shadows.

Back in town, I shared our encounter with the legend of the poisoned girl with the rest of the community. Some dismissed it as a figment of our imagination, while others believed that we had truly come face to face with the spirit of Emily.

The legend of the poisoned girl at Centennial Hall would forever be a part of Nebraska's eerie folklore, a tale passed down through generations, a chilling reminder of the tragedies that had occurred within the walls of the old building.

For me, Mika, the encounter with Emily's spirit was a life-changing experience. It taught me the power of legends and the truth that could be hidden behind their haunting tales. The spirit of the poisoned girl would forever haunt my memories, a reminder that some mysteries were better left untouched, and that sometimes, the truth behind the legend was as terrifying as the legend itself.

fictionurban legendsupernatural
Like

About the Creator

Melrose

With each new tale, I endeavors to push the boundaries of horror, embracing the genre's rich history while weaving a new legacy of terror that will keep readers awake and enthralled, long into the night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Melrose is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.