Horror logo

My Grandmother's Haunted House

Uncovering the mystery behind my grandmother's house

By Thambisa SitholePublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like
My Grandmother's Haunted House
Photo by Victor Chaidez on Unsplash

After my mom died it was just my dad and I. Things were tough for us the house, we lived in was a constant reminder of my mom, I could still smell her perfume and

I could still see her entering the gate and coming from work. It wasn't easy for us we ended up selling the house and moving into my grandmother's house. When we got

There the house was old and retched I mean no one lived there for years my dad's siblings kept saying the house was hunted Of course my dad and I didn't believe it we just thought they were making up stories and excuses because they didn't want to go there. My dad and I moved in anyway even though they warned us, all we ever wanted was a fresh start. When we got there the house was rusty and dirty it needed a lot of cleaning. We spent the whole day cleaning it because it was a big house, we cleaned every corner of the house but there was this one room we didn't clean because the door couldn't open...it was locked, my dad and I didn't pay attention to it we just ignored it and moved on. After all that cleaning my dad and I did I was so tired all I needed was a hot shower and some sleep. So I took my shower, ate my dinner and then went to bed, I only slept for two hours and then started hearing funny noises in the house at first I thought it was probably the house because it was old and rusty but when the noise kept increasing, I realized it was coming from the locked room.

I woke up and went to check because I was curious to find out what was in there, since the door was locked, I couldn't go inside so I leaned over the door and started eavesdropping all I heard was cats meowing and again I could hear people talking, while I was still leaning at the door, I heard footsteps inside the room coming towards the door I quickly ran back into my room and locked my door. I was so scared to sleep so I just sat till it was morning. In the morning during breakfast, I told my dad about what happened last night but he didn't believe me and told me that I was exaggerating and that it was probably the house because it was old.

I knew he wouldn't believe me so I took it upon myself that I would find out what was in that room but first I had to find the key. After breakfast my dad went to work and I was left alone in the house I was scared but I had to toughen up. I went to the basement to look for the key but I couldn't find it I checked every corner of the house for it but no luck the only room that was left for me to check was my grandmother's room, my dad told me not to go in there even when we were cleaning, we didn't clean it I don't know why my dad didn't tell me.

But the thing is I needed to find the key so I went inside my grandmother's room when I got there it was dark and dirty everything was covered in a cloth. I removed the cloth and underneath the cloth were scary-looking dolls some of them clowns, I felt my body boiling.

comment next for the rest of the story.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.