Horror logo

Graveside Awakening

I woke up in a cold sweat, disoriented and bewildered, my surroundings cloaked in shadows

By Ekombe hauPublished 24 days ago 5 min read
1
Photo by Francesco Ungaro

It was a night wrapped in the thick cloak of darkness, where even the moon shied away from casting its silver light upon the earth. The air was heavy with an ominous silence, broken only by the occasional rustle of leaves and the distant howl of a lone wolf. Amidst this eerie stillness, I found myself inexplicably drawn to the cemetery.

I woke up in a cold sweat, disoriented and bewildered, my surroundings cloaked in shadows. As my eyes adjusted to the darkness, I realized with a jolt that I was lying on damp earth, surrounded by tombstones looming like silent sentinels in the night. Panic clawed at the edges of my mind as I struggled to comprehend how I had ended up in such a macabre place.

The memories came flooding back in fragmented pieces, like shards of glass piercing through the fog of my confusion. I remembered the party, the laughter, the clinking of glasses filled with amber liquid. And then... darkness. Nothing but darkness until I awoke here, in the heart of the cemetery.

Shivering, I rose to my feet, my gaze darting nervously around the desolate landscape. The tombstones seemed to leer at me with silent accusation, their inscriptions whispering tales of lives long extinguished. I stumbled forward, my heart pounding in my chest, a cold knot of dread tightening in the pit of my stomach.

Every step I took seemed to echo like a thunderclap in the stillness of the night. The darkness pressed in around me, suffocating and oppressive. I felt as though unseen eyes were watching my every move, waiting patiently for me to stumble and fall.

I reached out a trembling hand, tracing the weathered surface of a nearby tombstone. The name engraved upon it sent a shiver down my spine – Sarah Thompson, beloved wife and mother, born June 12, 1804, died August 27, 1832. The dates seemed to blur and dance before my eyes, mocking me with their significance.

A sudden gust of wind whispered through the cemetery, stirring the leaves into a frenzied dance. Icy fingers traced patterns along my spine as I stumbled backward, my pulse quickening with a primal fear that defied reason.

And then, in the distance, I saw it – a faint glimmer of light flickering amidst the darkness like a beacon of hope. With a renewed sense of purpose, I forged ahead, my footsteps quickening as I chased after the elusive light.

As I drew closer, the source of the light became clear – a small chapel nestled amidst the tombstones, its windows aglow with an ethereal radiance. Relief flooded through me like a tidal wave as I stumbled toward the sanctuary, the promise of safety beckoning me closer.

But as I reached the chapel doors, a sudden chill crept over me, freezing me in my tracks. Something was wrong – terribly wrong. The air hummed with an otherworldly energy, thick and palpable as though the very fabric of reality were unraveling before my eyes.

With trembling hands, I pushed open the chapel doors, the creak of hinges echoing like a death knell in the silent night. What lay beyond was a scene straight from the depths of my darkest nightmares.

The chapel was empty save for a single figure kneeling before the altar, bathed in the eerie glow of flickering candles. My breath caught in my throat as I recognized the figure – it was Sarah Thompson, the same woman whose name adorned the tombstone I had touched mere moments before.

But this was no mere apparition – Sarah was real, flesh and blood, her eyes ablaze with a haunting intensity that sent shivers coursing through my veins. She turned to face me, a twisted smile curling the corners of her lips as she beckoned me closer.

I wanted to run, to flee from this nightmare come to life, but something held me rooted to the spot. It was as though invisible chains bound me to the chapel floor, trapping me in a web of fear and fascination.

"Welcome, traveler," Sarah's voice was like honey and venom, sweet yet laced with a deadly undertone. "You have stumbled into a realm beyond your understanding, a place where the veil between life and death is thin indeed."

I opened my mouth to speak, but no words emerged, my throat constricted with a suffocating sense of dread. Sarah rose to her feet, her gaze boring into mine with an intensity that made my blood run cold.

"You seek answers, do you not?" she asked, her voice a whisper in the stillness of the chapel. "Answers to questions you dare not speak aloud, secrets buried deep within the recesses of your soul."

I nodded, unable to tear my gaze away from her piercing stare. It was as though she could see into the very depths of my being, unraveling the mysteries that had plagued me since the moment I awoke in this accursed place.

Sarah reached out a hand, her fingers brushing against my cheek with a feather-light touch. I flinched at the contact, a wave of revulsion washing over me as her touch sent tendrils of ice snaking through my veins.

"Do not be afraid, traveler," she murmured, her voice a hypnotic melody that echoed in the recesses of my mind. "Embrace the darkness within you, for it is only through darkness that we may find light."

I wanted to scream, to rage against the insanity of it all, but her words held me captive like a moth drawn to a flame. It was as though I were trapped in a waking nightmare, unable to break free from the suffocating grip of her influence.

And then, with a suddenness that stole the breath from my lungs, Sarah's form began to shimmer and fade, dissolving into nothingness before my disbelieving eyes. I stumbled backward, my heart pounding in my chest as I watched in horror as the chapel walls seemed to close in around me, the very air crackling with a malevolent energy.

Desperation clawed at the edges of my mind as I fought to make sense of the madness unfolding before me. But try as I might, I could find no escape from the nightmare that had ensnared me in its deadly embrace.

And then, just as suddenly as it had begun, the darkness receded, melting away like mist beneath the light of the rising sun. I blinked in disbelief, my surroundings shifting and warping before my eyes until I found myself standing once more in the heart of the cemetery.

It was as though the events of the night had never occurred, the chapel nothing more than a distant memory fading with each passing moment. But the chill that lingered in the air served as a grim reminder of the horrors I had witnessed, a reminder that some nightmares are all too real.

With a heavy heart, I turned and made my way through the cemetery, the first rays of dawn casting long shadows upon the ground. As I walked, I couldn't shake the feeling that unseen eyes watched my every move, waiting patiently for the darkness to rise once more and claim me as its own.

urban legendpsychologicalmonsterhalloweenfiction
1

About the Creator

Ekombe hau

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.