Horror logo

Mr. Creep

The Strange Guardian

By Anna Published about a month ago Updated about a month ago 3 min read
He's there, right in his favourite spot in my room, standing silently, staring at me.

He's there again...

I check the time. 2:49 am. I'm super tired. Come on dude, just let me sleep already! But he doesn't go away. He's still there, right in his favourite spot in my room, standing silently, staring at me. Well, I can't see his face, or his eyes, but I bet he's looking at me. I can feel it.

His whole figure is dark. Awfully dark... darker than the night. Yet he's glowing somehow. At least it looks like he does. He's got his cloak reaching to his feet as always. It's worn-out and torn sometimes, like he'd only have this piece of rag in his wardrobe. He brought his cane too. I can't see it clearly either, but it's like a long stick-like thing he's holding in his arms. I slowly sit up in my bed and notice something. He looks a bit thinner. Like he'd lost some weight. I know that he's skinny, but tonight his "dress" looks more loose than usually. I rub my eyes a bit sleepy and ask:

"Hey buddy, didn't you have dinner?"

No answer... Not even a headshake. Not a sign that he understood my question. But I'm not the kind of person that gives up on someone that easily.

"No offense, but you look miserable, you know that?" Even more miserable than you used to, hahaa! Okay, okay, you know what? My fridge is full of leftovers, how about helping me out a little bit? I knew I shouldn't have ordered pizza today..." – I yawn and looking at my watch again I thoughtfully add – "...or yesterday."

He's still speechless. He always pretends to be a shadow. Never speaks or moves. I have no idea what kind of game he's playing, but one thing's for sure, he's damn good at it!

I try one more time, hoping to get even the smallest sign of life:

"Woah, are you mad at me or somethin'? Why don't you answer? You look hungry... Go ahead, as I said, my kitchen is all yours!"

After some seconds of dead silence I lay back in my bed. No sign of life...

My thought are insanely crossing trough my head, like two sides fighting with each other...

"I can't even hear him breathing..."

"Maybe he's not even breathing..."

"Thats's bullshit, how could he not be breathing?"

"He'd basically be dead..."

"Maybe he is..."

"No he's not! Come on, you don't believe this shit either!"

Eventually my mind calms down and after I close my eyes, I think of the strange guy, who's still standing in dead silence, and I say the following:

"I get it, you're not a talkative typa guy are you? It's okay, we can still be friends... Although... I don't understand what's the reason of you visiting me every night, if not talking. It's kinda awkward honestly... and scary."

I pull my blanket around myself and think. "I don't even know his name... I don't even know if he's a guy... I've never heard his voice... And what's that stuff, he's bringing with himself every night? Is it his magic wand? I never hear the front door open, when he comes. Neither the stairs... although they're supposed to creak loud, when someone steps on them. Maybe my man is a magician, and comes through portals... Oh, my God! That is soo cool! Wait! I never notice any lights either... Don't portals have some kind of brightness? Maybe he can teleport... No wayy! That is even cooler!"

After some time I realise I talked so much that my mouth dried out. I have an idea!

"Hey, if you're already going to the kitchen, could you bring me some wa..." – but I can't finish the sentence, because turning around I realise that he's not there anymore... My only one listener... is gone.

***

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed my story, please let me know by leaving a tip, a like or a comment. Don't forget to subscribe if you like my writing style! Any support is appreciated! <3

Check out another entry of mine for the 3:00 AM Challenge:

You might like these too:

psychologicalfiction

About the Creator

Anna

"Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart" - Colossians 3:23

Check out my website HERE!

You can buy me a coffee HERE😊

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Murali30 days ago

    Who is that mysterious figure?

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Cleverly done it.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Hahahahahahahhahaha this made me laugh so much! Just when they asked a favour, he disappears!

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    This is a very clever use of reverse psychology in a universally terrifying situation. Is this for the dream challenge? Very original and well written, Anna!

  • Groguabout a month ago

    Was it death? If so, it's lucky it's gone.

  • Colleen Waltersabout a month ago

    That’s awesome! I’m waiting for the sequel already!!!

  • Perfectly titled entry to the challenge. I have yet to enter but sure I will think of something

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Creepy! I enjoyed every creepy sip

Anna  Written by Anna

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.