Horror logo

Maine: The Mysterious Stain on Colonel Jonathan Buck's Tomb

By: Melrose

By Melrose Published 10 months ago 4 min read
Like
Maine: The Mysterious Stain on Colonel Jonathan Buck's Tomb
Photo by John Thomas on Unsplash

**Title: Maine: The Mysterious Stain on Colonel Jonathan Buck's Tomb**

My name is Gabriel, and I have always been fascinated by the rich history and haunting folklore of my hometown in Maine. One story, in particular, has intrigued me since I was a child—the tale of Colonel Jonathan Buck's tomb and the mysterious stain that appeared on it every year on the anniversary of his death. As I grew older, the legend only became more haunting and captivating, and I couldn't resist the temptation to uncover the truth behind the chilling phenomenon.

One summer, I convinced my adventurous friend, Marie, to join me on a quest to unravel the secrets of Colonel Buck's tomb. Armed with courage and curiosity, we set out to explore the enigmatic graveyard where the Colonel had been laid to rest.

The old cemetery was tucked away on the outskirts of town, surrounded by gnarled trees and eerie silence. The air was thick with a sense of history and the unknown, and as we ventured further into the graveyard, the shadows seemed to dance and twist, as if alive with the spirits of the past.

Finally, we arrived at Colonel Buck's tomb—a weathered, ancient structure that stood amidst the crumbling headstones. The atmosphere was eerie, and the tomb itself exuded a haunting aura. The legend spoke of a mysterious stain that appeared on the tombstone every year on the anniversary of the Colonel's death, and as we examined it closely, we could see faint traces of a dark blotch on the stone.

"Are you sure about this, Gabriel?" Marie asked, her voice tinged with unease.

I nodded, my heart pounding in my chest. "I have to know the truth behind this legend, Marie. It's been haunting me for years."

Marie hesitated for a moment but then nodded in agreement. "Alright, but we need to be careful. There's something unsettling about this place."

As the sun began to set, we positioned ourselves near the tomb, determined to witness the mysterious phenomenon for ourselves. The graveyard was bathed in an eerie glow, and the stillness of the night sent shivers down our spines.

As the clock struck midnight, an unsettling chill washed over us, and a thick fog began to rise from the ground. The atmosphere felt charged with an otherworldly energy, and a sense of foreboding settled in our hearts.

Suddenly, we noticed a faint glow emanating from the tombstone. The mysterious stain began to materialize, spreading across the stone like a creeping shadow. It seemed to pulse with an unnatural light, casting an eerie glow that illuminated the graveyard.

We watched in awe and terror as the stain took on a grotesque shape—a spectral figure that seemed to writhe and twist on the tombstone. It was as if the restless spirit of Colonel Jonathan Buck was manifesting before our very eyes, reliving his last moments in the mortal realm.

I couldn't tear my eyes away from the spectral display, but Marie grabbed my arm, her voice trembling. "Gabriel, we need to go. This is not safe."

Her words snapped me out of my trance, and we turned to leave, but a bone-chilling cry echoed through the graveyard. It was a mournful wail that sent a shiver down my spine, and I could feel the presence of unseen eyes watching us from the darkness.

As we hurried away from the tomb, the spectral figure seemed to follow us, its haunting cries growing louder and more desperate. The fog thickened, obscuring our path, and we stumbled through the graveyard, disoriented and terrified.

Finally, we found ourselves in a clearing, surrounded by the tall, swaying trees of the forest. But the presence of the spectral figure was still with us, its cries echoing through the night. We were trapped, unable to escape the grasp of the haunting legend that had come to life.

"Gabriel, we have to do something!" Marie exclaimed, her voice filled with panic.

My mind raced, searching for a way to break the hold of the spirit. That's when I remembered the old tale my grandmother used to tell me—a tale of a powerful talisman that could banish malevolent spirits.

Desperate, I reached into my pocket and pulled out a small amulet my grandmother had given me years ago. It was a simple pendant, but she had told me that it held the power to protect against evil spirits.

With trembling hands, I held the amulet aloft and began to recite an incantation my grandmother had taught me. The words felt strange and unfamiliar on my tongue, but I poured all my energy and belief into the ritual.

As I chanted, the spectral figure seemed to recoil, its cries growing fainter. The fog began to disperse, and the moonlight broke through the clouds, illuminating the clearing with an ethereal glow.

With a final burst of energy, I held the amulet forward, and a blinding light erupted from the pendant, enveloping the spectral figure. The haunting cries turned into agonized screams, and in an instant, the figure vanished, leaving behind nothing but an eerie silence that hung heavy in the air.

Marie and I stood there, catching our breath, the amulet still glowing faintly in my hand. The legend of Colonel Jonathan Buck's tomb had been laid to rest, and the malevolent spirit that had haunted it was banished.

As we made our way back home, I couldn't help but wonder if the legend was a manifestation of the restless spirits that lingered in the graveyard or if it was something else entirely. The line between reality and the supernatural seemed to blur, and I realized that some mysteries were meant to remain unsolved.

The legend of Colonel Jonathan Buck's tomb lives on in the folklore of Maine, a chilling tale that continues to captivate and terrify. And while some may dismiss it as mere superstition, Marie and I know that we had witnessed something inexplicable and unsettling.

As for the amulet, I now carry it with me always, a reminder of the power of belief and the thin veil that separates our world from the unknown. The legend of Colonel Jonathan Buck's tomb will forever be etched in our memories, a haunting reminder that the past and the present are intertwined, and that the spirits of the past may never truly rest.

supernaturalurban legendfiction
Like

About the Creator

Melrose

With each new tale, I endeavors to push the boundaries of horror, embracing the genre's rich history while weaving a new legacy of terror that will keep readers awake and enthralled, long into the night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Melrose is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.