Horror logo

Just Desserts

Just a simple family recipe.

By Dustin LesliePublished 3 years ago 10 min read

There is nothing glamorous about owning a bakery. At least that's what I told myself as I wiped the powdered sugar off my cheek. I wasn't going to become the next great baking champion or invent the next dessert craze. I wasn't in this business for the money or fame that came with plastering the internet with your accomplishments. The last thing I needed would be a line of people out the door, posting pics of them waiting in line for one of my delicious cakes. But they are, my cakes, delicious.

It's a family recipe, passed down through the generations until it reached my hands, which were at this moment, stirring cake batter in a bowl. I was in my little world. Cake batter in a bowl, listening to the onslaught on the rain pouring down outside. There is something peaceful about the sound of clapping thunder in the twilight. Just me in my private world making the same dessert that my ancestors used to make. The recipe has pretty much been the same over the past few centuries, keeping true to my family's roots. It's only recently that I started mass producing them for public consumption. Just another way to pay the bills.

Over the sound of rain crashing on the roof of my newly opened bakery, the gentle ringing of the chime, attached to my front door, signaled the entry of a customer. The entrance hadn't gone unnoticed by the other occupant in the room, pawing at my feet.

"Easy my pet, I won't forget about your treat." I scooped a spoon full of whipped cream out of the tin bowl on the counter, kneeling down to give a little snack to the stray I picked up outside. He was still a little groggy from the belladonna I gave him. Like most animals, he was resistant to the idea of being saved, but once the herb, secretly stirred inside the milk I offered, was drank he calmed down long enough for me to bring him inside to wait for me to finish my cake. His deep brown eyes stared up at me as I gave him a pat on the head.

"Hello?" The call coming from the front of the shop grabbed my attention once more.

"I'll be right there," I said loud enough to calm the customer but soft enough now to startle my stray. "I'll be right back." I whispered. I grabbed a plate holding my freshly made red velvet cupcakes. My favorite.

Stopping only to check my reflection in the small vanity mirror to make sure that I had gotten all of the sugar from my face, cooking is a messy business. I noticed a small smear of red on my jawline. One of many cooking ingredients that gets everywhere. Once my face had been wiped clean and customer friendly once more, I exited my secluded back room. Pushing open the large metal swinging door. It was heavy,the weight of it. It had once served as a large freezer, the door keeping all the contents fresh and frozen. This building was once a butcher shop, now converted I still get the occasional question as to what happened to the slabs of meat.

The young man standing in my shop had that look of confusion as he looked around my meatless walls. Where once hung cuts of cow and pig, now framed artwork of pastries and other delectable treats. That and the pink and white striped wall-paper was probably a bit alarming to the male gaze. He was definitely lost. His hardened expression softened when he saw me approaching with fresh baked goods in hand. Even if he didn't want one of the many pastries left over from today's business, he might be enticed by my red velvet morsels.

"Can I help you?" He smiled at my question, looking me up and down. I didn't welcome his lusting eyes, but it was something I was used to. My looks were something that always caught the attention of men. I put the cupcakes down on the counter top, hoping he would take interest in those instead of me.

"I hope so." He smiled, slicking back his dark wet hair. After closer inspection, his hair wasn't the only thing affected by the tsunami outside. He was drenched. Dripping rain water all over my dry shop floor. "It's really coming down out there." He gestured out the large shop window just as a flash of lightning lit up the dark sky. It must have been later than I thought. The night must have crept up while I was busy with my new pet.

"If you're looking for the butcher shop, it closed down a few months ago after the owners died." The death of the sweet old couple that ran the shop had made it to the local news. It was the reason why I got this storefront for so cheap. Not many businesses want to open in the spot of a gruesome double homicide.

"I know. You've cleaned the place up real nice." He was still eyeing my up and down, looking at me like I was one of the many sweet treats in the display. There was something about the look in his eyes that told me that he wasn't my usual kind of customer.

"I'm about to lock up, can I get you anything before I close up for the night?" I glanced at my phone sitting on the counter in front of us as the blood began to pump faster through my veins. He noticed it too, the sudden rush of adrenaline in my body. It was in the air, the fear and rationalization of what was transpiring.

"It's a bit late to be here by yourself." He was playing with me now. Cat and mouse. The game of toying with your prey before the real fun begins.

"I'm not alone. I have my helper. He's finishing up with my special chocolate cake in the back. It's a family recipe." Which wasn't entirely a lie. How could he possibly know about the stray I had picked up earlier or that he wasn't in the position to help me should this take a sudden turn.

"A helper huh?" He looked at the heavy metal door, thinking about if there was any truth to what I had said waiting on the other side.

"Yes, did you want me to get him?" I probably said it a little too aggressively, to get my point made. Taking a step in the direction of the door, away from the counter, away from the man who didn't look too pleased to learn that we weren't alone in my pink shop.

"That's okay. We wouldn't want to distract him from the chocolate cake." He put his wet hands back into the pockets of his black leather jacket as defeat washed over his face and a breath of relief escaped my lips. He slowly backed away, taking backwards steps to the front of the store.

"Enjoy your night, stay dry." Even now, in the face of a potentially dangerous situation, I was still trying to be customer friendly. He had reached the door and had just put his hand on the doorknob then he stopped.

"The thing is...." He didn't open the door. Instead, his hand went upward to the deadbolt, turning it shut. Locking us both inside. "I've been watching this place for a few days now." He turned back to me. "And from what I've seen, you're the only one who works here."

I was frozen in place. He had been watching me. Among the comings and goings of the customers, he had gone unnoticed. A shark. Swimming back and forth, making sure I would be alone before he made his move. Would my shop be the scene of yet another murder? Did he get the idea after what had happened to the butcher and his wife? The crime scene photos left little to the imagination to what had happened to them. Alone in their shop, destined to be the next on the butchers block. Was I next? Was the fresh pink wallpaper about to get a splash of red?

"I think we're alone." He took a step closer. "I don't think there is anyone back there to help you." He wasn't a big guy. Lean. Fast. In one swift move he was back to the counter, snatching my phone. Taking away my lifeline to the outside world. It was only us now. One of us had something insidious in mind when they walked into this shop.

"You don't want to do this." If I could dissuade him from his current plan, maybe there was a way for me to get out of this unscathed.

"I think I do." He slowly made his way around the large glass display holding my neatly decorated treats, joining me behind the counter. Without looking away from me, he used one finger to open the glass door, sending a sweetness into the air as. "Which one of these should I try first?"

He waved his finger over top of the cakes inside. Waving it above each one, before plunging it inside the carrot cake. Bringing his finger back to his mouth, licking the icing off his fingertip. "Mmmmm." He gave me a wink. "You really are talented."

"If you like those, try these," I picked up the red velvet cupcakes from the counter. The ones I had just made with the help of my stray in the back. The redness of the cake really shone against the white icing. Normally, I make these for myself, but I had others in mind when I was making them. In fact, these were the one that lured my stray in when I had trouble getting him to trust me.

"Are you trying to give me something sweet?" Taking a step closer he started to take off his jacket. His white t-shirt underneath was still wet from the rain. I finally got a good look at him. His arms were bigger than what his jacket revealed.

"You'll really like these. I promise." He seemed surprised when I took a step towards him. I'm sensing that he was used to someone running and screaming when put in this situation. I was counting on his confusion in my attempt to turn the tides in my favor. "Here." I took a cupcake off the plate, putting the rest down. The plate made a loud clanking noise in the eerily quietness of the shop. I swiped a bit off the top with my finger, offering it to him.

He didn't take it. This wasn't going the way he had played out in his head. I wasn't running away, screaming for help. I could see the fantasy flashing away behind his eyes. He grabbed my wrist, holding it firmly. I winced in pain from his grasp, which he seemed to enjoy. He was getting what he wanted. My pain. With it, he opened his mouth, taking half of the cupcake in with one bite, snagging part of my hand in the process. I yanked my hand back, seeing the small cut he left on my palm as the blood began to drip onto the floor.

"Oops," he said after he swallowed his mouth full of cupcake. Terror washed over my face as he licked his lips that were covered in icing and my blood. I backed away, never leaving his line of sight. This is what he came for. In his mind, the chase was about to begin. He shuffled, losing his balance for a moment. I took this chance to throw myself onto the heavy metal door, forcing it open. It seemed heavier, now that my life was in danger.

My stray was right where I left him, laying on the floor, completely unaware as to what was happening on the other side of the door. I couldn't stay where I was, we were about to have company. I moved to the other side of the large island in the middle of the room, still holding the ingredients needed to bake my family's special cake. Just as I settled into my spot, the door swung open, slamming against the wall, shaking the hanging utensils.

He took another step into the room, staggering. He paused, taking in the sight of the room as he began to sway. I picked up the bowl containing the cake batter and continued to stir. Losing his balance, my would-be attacker caught himself on the sturdy island as he leaned over, getting his first glimpse of my stray. Lying motionless on the ground was my new pet. Just another stray animal looking to take advantage.

"What did you give me?" He blinked a few times, staring at his hand, not believing what he saw. Clearly, the half naked man laying on the ground in front of him, in his mind was some hallucination.

"Just a little belladonna. It'll help you sleep." His legs gave out and he collapsed onto the floor. Both of my new pets looked safe and sound, right where they should be. I put down the cake batter and joined them on their side of the island.

"What are you doing?" He asked as his eyes rolled back in his head. They last thing he saw was me kneeling down beside him with a freshly sharpened hunting knife. I licked the blood off the open wound on my hand.

"I'm baking my family's special chocolate cake, dear. Now, let's get cooking."

fiction

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dustin LeslieWritten by Dustin Leslie

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.