Horror logo

Bloodshot eyes and unspoken horrors

The Curse of the Cat Painting

By Rohini NenePublished 3 days ago 4 min read
Bloodshot eyes and unspoken horrors
Photo by Lloyd Newman on Unsplash

The case of Franz-Hartmann was not as serious as it seemed, but fate has its own way of unfolding, regardless of our understanding.Many people realize this too late.Count Alexander also grasped this truth a bit late, but unfortunately, by then, his life's account had already been settled in the book of destiny.

To understand the story, we need to go a little into the past.Dr.Franz Hartmann, born on November 22, 1838, in Donauwörth, Germany, was a renowned doctor, parapsychologist, thinker, and distinguished scholar.He was not only an expert in modern medicine but also had an extraordinary grasp of spiritual sciences.He was significantly influenced by Helena Blavatsky and remained connected with her for a considerable time.

Dr.Franz Hartmann, who served as Chairman of the Board of Control of the Theosophical Society for a long time, writes about this bizarre yet horrifying event: “Some things are so astonishing and unbelievable, yet they are not new or unheard of to us.”

ALSO READ - Mystery of the Amazon jungle

  • The unsolved mystery of Japan’s Bermuda triangle

Further shedding light, T.H.Kemer, a German writer from Weinsberg, describes an incident.T.H.Kemer writes about an event involving Count Alexander Christian Frederick (1801-1844), a German army officer and poet who was also a close friend of Kemer's father.The count sent a simple black-framed painting of a wild cat to Kemer’s father.

The painting depicted a wild cat of appropriate size, drawn with black chalk on a blue-tinged paper.The most striking aspect of the painting was that the longer one looked at it, the more lifelike the cat seemed to become.The cat’s eyes, with a strange blend of disgust and melancholy, would unsettle anyone who gazed at them for too long, making even the strongest men feel uneasy.

  • Hinduism's description of divine ancestor spirits

In straightforward terms, the eyes were 'deadly.' Even after so many years, the moment I first saw those remains vivid in my mind,” Kemer continues.“A letter accompanied the painting from Count Alexander, which read:

‘My dear Justin, I am sending you this painting.It is so well-made that I did not want to tear it.However, I no longer wish to keep it.It has driven me mad.I don’t know what’s come over me.I remember first seeing it on the wall of a wildlife officer's drawing-room.

When I met the officer, he appeared cheerful and full of life, and he told me he was living a happy life with his wife.But strangely, just two months ago, he shot himself without any reason.It was very bewildering.

The picture of the cat hanging in his drawing-room intrigued me.I don’t know what hypnotic quality it had, but I asked his wife for it and took it home.But now, my friend, I cannot bear its eyes anymore.They haunt me even when I am not at home.

The sorrowful gaze of those eyes pierces my heart in such a way that I feel I will soon end my life as that officer did.So I thought of you.I know you are a master of ghostly and occult matters, so these eyes will not harm you, and that’s why I am sending it to you.’

Kemer writes that shortly after sending the letter and painting, Count Alexander shot himself in the same manner as the officer had.Kemer says, “The painting then hung on our wall.My father hated the painting, but it was a final gift from his dear friend, so he did not tear it.”

ALSO READ - Red rain of Kerala. When the sky bled

  • The enigma of aliens

Eventually, one day, my father called me to his room and told me, ‘Take this painting somewhere far away from me; I can no longer tolerate it.’ At that time, I did not know much about the painting.I took it to my room and hung it on a wall.

Being forgetful, I did not pay attention to the painting for almost a year.One winter night, while writing a letter, I suddenly felt that I was not alone in the room, even though I was alone in the house.It felt like a strange, unfamiliar presence was near me.

I looked around frantically and my eyes met the gaze of the cat in the painting.It felt as though those sorrowful eyes were going to consume me.My heart raced, and I felt an intense hatred towards those eyes, but the worst part was that they seemed to control me.

  • The mystery of the assyrian civilization from the Mahabharata era

At that moment, it felt as though a dark force was taking control over every nerve and thought in my body.I lost consciousness that night and woke up feeling refreshed the next morning.I didn’t know what spell the painting had, but I didn’t want to throw it away, yet I wanted to get rid of it as quickly as possible.Fortunately, I found a way.

I knew a gentleman with a deep interest in sports and hunting.He was decorating his new house and liked the cat painting on my room’s wall.I gave him the painting at his request, and he was delighted.He hung it on the wall of his porch.

But about six months later, on a very gloomy evening, he shot himself without any reason.I heard that after his death, a relative took the cat painting and hung it on his own wall.After about three months, that relative was also found dead on his bed under mysterious circumstances.

  • The secrets of Kundalini power, chakras, and nadi circuits

The end of the mystery remained unclear—whether the relative's death was a suicide or murder.But what happened to the wild cat painting after that remains unknown.

ALSO READ - Magnetic hill, vehicles start pulling up on their own, be careful lest you also take a sky trip

monster

About the Creator

Rohini Nene

Hi! I'm Rohini, a blogger passionate about exploring useful topics and current trends. With a background in blogging, I create engaging content & insist you to join me on Vocal to dive into the world of knowledge and discovery

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rohini NeneWritten by Rohini Nene

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.