Horror logo

Jill Roberts Was Not Misunderstood Nor Tragically Evil

She Was Evil Without a Doubt

By Janay EaleyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

There is no such thing as MOTIVES in the Scream trilogy. That's what I have always believed. Motives are used as excuses to find a delusional reason as to why you chose to put on the costume and slaughter whoever you feel shouldn't be living anymore.

I saw a video today from the YouTube channel " Beyond The Mask " titled Jill Roberts: EVIL or MISUNDERSTOOD? | Character Assessment | SCREAM that was posted six hours ago and I got inspiration for my next article and I said to myself " Janay! What better way of getting things off your chest than using the power of writing? "

I don't know why people would even think Jill was misunderstood or tragically evil so I'm here to make things clear.

Jill Roberts was not any of those things by any means.

She’s not written to be tragically evil. To me, she was written to be evil without a doubt.

Anyone who is willing to take the lives of others (meaning to step on others or sacrifice others) to get to the top of the pyramid is pure evil.

Jill was the cousin of Sidney Prescott who has lost everyone around her and had in her heart to protect the people that she loves and cares about.

A WOMAN who would be at her defense from any possible danger because there's no amount of selfishness in her body and that is what family is supposed do for their own. She was too focused on “ the spotlight Sidney ” instead of “ the bulwark Sidney who wanted to save those from under the ghoul's knife.

She wanted the status of being a SURVIVOR but didn’t know what it truly meant to be a SURVIVOR. What Jill did was betrayal of family and friends at its finest. She turned on Sidney and everyone else for her personal gain. She forced herself to be a survivor and didn’t become one in the natural way.

What made Jill tragically evil? Infidelity? No one deserves to be cheated on. NO ONE. But, there is a certain level of worth and confidence that you must have, especially as a female. Unless, there is more to Jill’s story than we know but what I saw in Scream 4 was EVIL. No questions asked!

The issue I have with this fandom regarding Jill’s motive is pretending as if her motive in Scream 4 was not realistic. We have people in this world who are desperate to do what they can just to have fame and fortune.

They will lose the people who have been by their side since day one to have those two of those things, well in Jill’s case, she was seeking fame but you all know what I mean. This fandom felt that she wasn’t believable as one of the killers.

Jill's motive was the actual true motive to me because of how much realism it held. The only motive I felt was really a motive. The lines from Jill that she says to Sidney that was delivered perfectly by Emma Roberts: " My friends? What world are you living in? I don't need friends. I need fans. Don't you get it? This has never been about killing you. It's about becoming you. " Jill's motive told me this: I want the spotlight and I want to be Sidney. So, I am willing to shed the blood of those around me to get what I want?

Thank you so much for reading my discussion on Jill Roberts! ( The not-so fond Ghostface)

I really appreciate the readers who clicked on this article and took the time to read it.

movie review

About the Creator

Janay Ealey

Greetings, my fellow readers!

Writer.

Social Media Manager.

Student.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Janay EaleyWritten by Janay Ealey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.