Horror logo

Scream 5: Review

Spoilers Ahead

By Janay EaleyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read

“ A Crazed Fandom With A Remorseless Ghostface ”

Hello, my fellow Scream fans. The time has come that the black and white ghastly menace has stepped back onto our screens since the past eleven he or should I say they have made its bloodthirsty return to and this time, no more games are being played.

A round of applause to whoever said “ NO MORE JOKES. NO MORE OF THE LAUGHING MATTER AND MORE OF MAKING THE GHOUL TO BE THE REAPER IN THE HOODED ROBE. ”

The KILLS in this fifth film were so gut-wrenching and barbaric. This is how the victims in any slasher should be facing their death even though I thought SOME deaths of the characters were so undeserving.

Like my boy, Wes Hicks and his mother, Judy Hicks. (played by the wonderful Dylan Minette and Marley Shelton)

They didn’t deserve for their deaths to play out like that, in broad daylight.

Dewey’s death played out callously and butchery.

When pulled out another knife on him and stuck it inside of his back and sliced it up in his flesh, I was SHOCKED. I was not expecting that. In the entire trilogy, a has never had two KNIVES.

RIP DEWEY RILEY. 🙏

In this one, is more SERIOUS. He’s not what Scary Movie (2000) has portrayed him as.

Mindy Meeks should not have survived AT ALL. That’s how I feel. It wasn’t right. I would prefer for her to go than Chad’s. Chad should’ve been the Meeks' siblings to survive this film.

Two lines were quoted in the film that I was so pleased to hear. It will be and Why don’t they call it Stab 8 instead of Stab? The second line might not be exact but it's close. I don’t remember what the girl said in the YouTube video.

A legacy killer made a surprising cameo and guess who?

Billy Loomis.

To be honest, he didn't LOOK too well in this. (Skeet, of course.)

The sexiness and charm was erased a long time ago. I would've cut those scenes out like come on? I thought it was terrible CGI and something was wrong with my eyes.

I loved how the CHARACTERS were fighting back against and something familiar struck me as I sat in my seat in that dark theater and you know what that was? They were holding that knife back with all their might. Now, that is what I am talking about.

I did see other familiar in the film. they were like references to Scream 4.

I STILL prefer the voice in Scream 4. Roger l. Jackson did his thing with the voice in the fourth movie.

and Vince had the least amount of screen time that I have never seen in my life. They were there to be there. That's all, I can say. All the theories and discussions that all the Scream had about him being Billy's son and possibly the killer. You can all forget about that. He's just some random dude who seemed to bother Liv.

They didn't even explain where Chad got those bruises from on his arm.

I thought they were going to tap into the domestic violence and toxicity of Chad and Liv's relationship but I guess they somewhat have a healthy relationship. I would've liked to see them go that route.

have to say that they did a superb job on hiding the reveals of the killers were until the end.

did not EXPECT it to be Ritchie (Sam's boyfriend) who I actually liked and Amber. was actually disappointed when they revealed that he was the killers. That was so WRONG for them to do that to his character.

At first, I wasn't feeling Sam at the beginning of the film but when she was stabbing the hell out of Ritchie on the ground, I was like DAMN GIRL.

I didn't think that she was going to do that at all but something about that scene hit me in the heart. Why? That scene resembled the perfect example of pure rage. Rage, I'll tell you. Melissa Barrera did such a great job on her part. She showed out on that one. I will give her the credit she deserves.

is the thing that made this movie and not the characters and that is so disappointing. That is why I say that this movie was great because of how was developed in this version. That is what kept me glued to the screen. This was scarier than the past ones.

I will not talk about the motives of the killers because I would rather not and for anyone who has seen the film will understand why.

Last but not least, I loved the " For Wes " at the ending credits. That was so sweet and so tear-jerking.

Maybe there are deleted scenes and perhaps an alternative opening.

That concludes my review on Scream 5.

See you later!

movie review

About the Creator

Janay Ealey

Greetings, my fellow readers!

Writer.

Social Media Manager.

Student.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Janay EaleyWritten by Janay Ealey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.