Horror logo

Inhabitation

The end of human existence

By Lindsey HultmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Inhabitation
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

I was awakened suddenly by a loud noise in my backyard. When I looked to the clock, it read exactly 3 AM. The noise happened again making me jump. I stumbled out of my bed with my heart pounding in my ears as I ran towards the window to look into the backyard. As I threw back the blinds, I saw some sort of aircraft resting on the ground. It was in the shape of a UFO that you see on TV... but I knew that my eyes had to be playing tricks on me.

I heard the downstairs door open as my heart rate instantly increased. I was so petrified that I couldn’t move. It was just me at home and I didn’t have any sort of weapon in my bedroom. I could have jumped out of the bedroom window, but I think the fall would have shattered my legs. I heard something start to walk up the stairs as the light in my hallway turned on. The footsteps got closer and closer until I could see a shadow figure underneath my bedroom door.

I couldn’t breathe and the only sound was my heartbeat. The door handle turned as the door creaked open. Nothing in my life could have ever prepared me for what I was seeing.

It was me standing in the doorway, except it wasn’t me. This entity was dressed as me, but I knew it couldn’t be. She stood completely naked and bare. Her hair was wet and almost looked like it was dripping. Her eyes looked like mine but when she tilted her head and smiled, I knew it was demonic. That grin was not of my soul. She started to walk towards me as I was frozen. Her cold hands found their way around my neck as she got close to my face. Suddenly, it felt as if something was wrapped around my heart and a vacuum was in my lungs. She started inhaling my soul through my mouth until my heartbeat finally stopped. She fed on my flesh until I was nothing but bones. This entity became me. My soul now swam with this demonic presence in a body that looked like mine but wasn’t.

That’s when the inhabitation first began. Over the next few weeks around the world, people far and near would experience what I did until nobody was left. Panic swept across the world, but it all happened so fast that humans didn’t stand a chance at a predator like this.

Human existence wasn’t completely erased from history, however. I don’t know if the predators knew this, but energy cannot be destroyed. Although they think they took us completely by taking our souls and flesh, our souls still lived on within them. We were defenseless and couldn’t do anything but sit back and watch as they implemented their views and government onto the Earth. They were evil from within and we had to watch the horrors fold out in front of us. I thought at first maybe it was just me who could still feel inside the entity but when I saw the entity of Tommy, a 6-year-old boy who lived next door to me, I saw his soul inside his entity for a brief second. That’s when I knew that human existence wasn’t completely destroyed and that maybe in time, we had a chance to come back. Maybe this would allow us to appreciate life more and maybe learn a thing or two on how to run the world. I wasn’t giving up hope. I knew that one day Tommy and I will find a way out and he can once again be a child and I can once again be a woman.

supernatural

About the Creator

Lindsey Hultman

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lindsey HultmanWritten by Lindsey Hultman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.