Horror logo

In the Dark of the Woods

TW: Slasher horror

By Kevin BarkmanPublished 2 years ago 18 min read
Like
In the Dark of the Woods
Photo by Georgi Kalaydzhiev on Unsplash

“The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window.

“A young woman clad in a deep blue dress loomed in the second story window. Flecks of maroon liquid shimmered with the flickering light. Her hands trembled as she turned the latch and swung open the panes.

“I looked up at her, frozen in absolute terror as she peered down at me, a childlike smile broad across her lips.

“‘Where you goin’?’ She shouted after me.

“A few hours before, I would have been delighted by her beckoning, but after seeing what I’d just seen, naught but fear coursed through my veins. I froze.

“‘Come back, Alex. Please.’ She says, ‘I didn’t mean it. It’s cold out there. Just come back inside.’

“Images of blood and viscera shot through my mind. When Anna turned away from the window, that’s when I knew I had to run. When her footsteps echoed down the steps, I turned tail and booked it fast as I could.

“I followed the road, bare feet pounding into the asphalt. I don’t know how far I got from the cabin. I just ran and ran, the cold night air biting exposed skin. I saw a flash of headlights rounding the bend behind me. I only looked back for a second, but hit the ground, shoulder bouncing off the pavement.

“I must have hit my head, because the next thing I knew, I was waking up in my bed at my parents’ house.

“I had no idea how I’d gotten there. My head was swirling, my body felt like someone poured lead into my bones. I didn’t know what to think. I didn’t know if what I saw was real or just some horrifying nightmare.

“I dragged myself out of the bed, disentangling my legs from the knot of blankets and sheets. I groan as I put weight on my sore feet. When my hair fell over my shoulder, a sharp pain lit up the right side of my body.

“I looked up into the standing mirror only to find a red patch of scraped flesh covering the outside of my bicep. I pulled my hair back to get a better look, but the pain made me wince.

“Considering how fresh the wound was, it must have happened that last night. Which meant that everything I saw, everything I remembered must have happened too. Right?

“‘Alex! Are you awake?’ My mom shouted from downstairs.

“Luckily, my wound, as broad and raw as it was, wasn’t actively bleeding, so I took a t-shirt out of my closet and pulled it gently over my head. It was excruciating. I decided to deal with my arm later, and just keep it covered for the time being.

“I made my way down the stairs, nearly tripping over my little brother as he ran under my feet.

“‘Alex!’ She screamed again as I rounded the corner into the kitchen.

“‘Yeah, Ma. I’m awake.’ I took a deep breath, again wincing against my shoulder, the smell of pancakes and sausage gravy wafting around house. My head was still groggy, but I had to try to get answers. ‘Mom, how did I…?’

“‘How did you what, dear?’

“‘How did I get home last night?’

“‘What do you mean, sweetie?’

“‘I mean, how did I get here last night? Last thing I remember, I was running. Then I just…’

“‘Alex, are you feeling alright?’

“‘No. I don’t think I am.’ I ran my fingers through my hair, leaning my back against the refrigerator. ‘Last night—’

“A ring at the front door interrupted my thought. ‘Oh. Alex, stir this for me, please.’

“‘Mom, I—' I called as she walked out the room. So, naturally, I did the only logical thing…I stirred the pot. Despite everything, the smell of the gravy was intoxicating. I hadn’t realized how hungry I was until then. I grabbed a couple of pancakes off the tray and shoveled some gravy into a bowl.

“I wolfed down the food in seconds, the delightful flavor helping to calm my frayed nerves.

“‘Alex!’ Mom admonishes from the doorway. ‘You couldn’t wait for the rest of us?’

“‘Sorry. Got hung—’ As I turn to face her, I realize she has someone else in tow. Yeah, you guessed it…Anna.

“The bowl slipped from my hand, bouncing off the tile floor. I tried to back away from her, but my back was already against the counter. I nervously looked around for any possible weapon, but none of the knives were in the block.

“‘Look who came to join us for breakfast. Anna, it’s always nice to have you over. It’s been so long.’

“You see, Anna and I have known each other for a very long time. Since we were little kids. We even dated for a while back in high school. We hadn’t seen each other in about eight years until…Well…

“Anna cocked her head at me, smiling in her sweet and innocent way. ‘Is everything alright, Alex?’

“‘I—I…’

“‘Alex, set the table, please.’ My mom commanded.

“So, like the brave and valiant warrior you know me to be, I…ran. I pushed past them and ran straight for the front door, my mom yelling after me. I slammed the door behind me, backing away from the house. Terror welled up inside me as I back my way down the driveway.

“From the corner of my eye, I see Anna coming around the side of the house. My eyes went wide, momentarily confused by her sudden appearance. It took entirely too long to realize that she went around through the back yard.

“‘Alex, what’s gotten into you?’ She admonished, ‘Your mom is worried.’

“‘Worried? About me? Are you kidding?’ I yelled. ‘After what you did, I’m pretty sure I’m the one acting rationally.’

“‘What are you talking about?’ Her sweet smile fading into confusion.

“‘Last night. You killed them.’

“‘Killed who?’ She jerks back. ‘I have no idea what you’re talking about, but you’re scaring me.’

“‘I’m scaring you? You’re insane. I saw what you did to them. Your own parents. I should be scared of you. Everyone should be scared of you.’ At that point, she had me backed against fence. I didn’t know where to go.

“‘Your mom said you didn’t sleep well. That you were confused this morning.’ If I hadn’t known better, I’d have mistaken her expression for genuine concern. ‘It was just a nightmare. My parents are fine. They’re at home getting ready for their trip.’

“‘You’re a liar. And a psycho. I know what I saw.’

“‘Alex,’ she chided, giving me this look, disarming and beguiling. ‘How long have we known each other? I wouldn’t hurt a fly.’

“She’s always been that way. Disarming, I mean. I’ve never been able to stay mad at her or stop myself from believing her. I would look at her, and my logical mind would just melt. When we were kids, it was because of my massive crush on her. In college, it was because we were dating and to me, she could do no wrong.

“This time was no different. In that moment, I thought she may be right. I doubted my own eyes. My own experiences. Maybe it was just a horrible nightmare. Maybe I scraped my shoulder in my sleep, and my dream just picked it up. I mean, I’d always had really vivid dreams. I grew up with night terrors. Maybe that’s all it was.

“But when I looked into her eyes, all I could see was my friend. All I could see was the person I’d known my whole life, the person I’d shared so much with over the years. And I made a choice.

“I trusted her.

“She reached her hand out to me, and I let her touch my face. Her hand was warm against my cheek. My flesh tingled beneath her fingers, soothing the remnants of my troubled mind. I nearly collapsed into her, burying my face in her shoulder. She wrapped her arms around my neck, and I enfolded her in mine.

“‘I…I can’t believe I thought…’ I stammer.

“‘It’s okay. You clearly had a rough night.’

“‘Understatement of the year.’

“‘We should go back inside. Your mom has breakfast ready to go.’

“We ate in relative silence. My mom kept giving me a look wondering if I’d go off again, but she didn’t say ask. It’s just the way she was. Emotions made her uncomfortable, so even when I was a kid, she avoided talking about it.

“Anna, on the other hand, was nothing but kind. She laughed and smiled at me the way she used to, and I couldn’t help but smile back.

“Despite that, those images of her bloodstained dress lingered in the back of my mind.

“After breakfast, Anna dragged me away from the house. I followed her out to one of our old haunts, a waterfall about half a mile down a well-traveled trail. The morning breeze was cool and gentle rustling through treetops. The sounds of rushing water nearly drowned out the chattering of children and their parents playing in the river.

“When we got close, Anna grabbed me by the hand and pulled me behind the waterfall.

“‘What’re you doing?’ I smile as she pulled into her. She basked in the gentle stream of water raining down over her head. I couldn’t help but stare into her eyes when she stared back into mine.

“Then she kissed me.

“This wasn’t our first kiss. Not by a long shot. I lost myself in that moment right up until the intrusive thoughts kicked in. ‘Anna,’ I pulled my lips away from hers, pressing my eyes shut, ‘I’d…I’d like to go see your parents. I know it’s silly, but I can’t shake the nightmare. Besides, I haven’t seen them since college graduation.’

“‘Oh, Alex, I’m sorry, but they left on their vacation this morning. Didn’t I tell you?’

“‘I see…Can…Can you call them, maybe? Facetime or Skype?’

“She glanced at her watch before making a face. ‘They’re probably in the air right now. They’re not due to land until late. Even then, they may not have cell service.’

“After that, I peppered her with a barrage of questions. She started to get squirrely the more I pestered her about her parents’ trip. I was taken aback by her reluctance to answer. I tried to be subtle, but she wouldn’t give me any specifics.

“Eventually, I gave up, pushing aside my unsettled thoughts.

“Hours passed while we goofed off at the river. Other families came and went throughout the day, but none of them paid us any mind. Eventually, we were alone.

“As the sun began it’s decent to the horizon, Anna grabbed my hand and whisked me away for a walk. We walked for a time down the riverbank before she veered off away from the path.

“By then, the woods were darkening, and I should have just gone home. But stupidly I went with her.

“When I saw the cabin, I froze.

“Why had she brought me there?

“The cabin had been abandoned for years. It was dilapidated and overgrown, but we Anna and I used to sneak away there to avoid our parent’s prying eyes, if you know what I mean.

“We hadn’t been there together in years. Not until…If that was even real.

“I’d hardly had time to think when a wiry man slinked out of the shadows behind the skeletal structure.

“He was shirtless and covered in dirt and grease. He had his long, thin hair tied up in a loose knot. When he noticed us, he broke into a wide, disgusting grin.

“‘Why, hello there, kids.’ He had a thick drawl to his voice.

“As he started to approach us, I caught a glimpse of a metal object hanging at his side. When I realized it was a hatchet hanging on his belt, I took a step in front of Anna.

“‘Hey, man,’ I called out. I held my arm out to Anna in a protective gesture. ‘We don’t mean you any trouble. We were just goofing around. We’ll just be on our way.’

“‘Aw. Why you gotta go so soon?’ The man walked around us, making a wide arc around the clearing. He picked at his nails, never taking his eyes off us. I kept myself between him and Anna.

“‘Oh, you know, my family is expecting us for dinner soon.’

“‘Then what’re you doin’ all the way out here?’ He stopped opposite the cabin, blocking off the way we got there.

“‘Like I said, just goofing off. Now, if you’ll just get out of our way, we’ll leave you to it.’

“That’s when the man pulled the hatchet from his belt. He gingerly ran his finger over the blade, testing the edge, a grotesque smile spreading across his features. He licked his lips before lunging a feint toward us causing me to flinch. He laughed with a horrible rasping sound.

“I turned my head slightly to Anna, whispering, ‘Run. Get out of here. If he tries anything, I’ll stop him.’

“‘No. I won’t leave you here.’ I felt her hand grab the back of my shirt.

“I slipped my hand behind me, taking hold of her wrist. ‘Go. I’ll catch up.’

“‘You’d better,’ She whispered before running off in the opposite direction of the assailant.

“‘Where you goin’, Darlin’?’ He shouted, trying to get around me. I stepped in front of him again, not letting him advance toward Anna. ‘Alrighty then. Guess I’ll just have to kill you first before goin’ after your little girlfriend.’

“I swallowed hard, feeling my hands shaking in terror. When he came at me, my body just reacted.

“I was able to block his first swing by grabbing his wrist. But he just grabbed my throat with his other hand instead. I choked and sputtered, but I was able to land a solid kick to his knee, forcing him to release me.

“When he dropped me, I staggered a few feet out of reach.

‘You Little Shit!’ He came up swinging. I tried to push myself to my feet, but he grabbed my ankle, dragging me along the ground. I wrenched free and was able to get to my feet.

“In the haze of the situation, I noticed a rusty old shovel leaning against the cabin. I broke into a dead run trying to reach the weapon, but he was hot on my heels. I was able to grab it right as he caught up to me. I rounded on him, bringing up the shovel in both hands to block a blow from his hatchet.

“I blocked only a few blows before he tore the shovel from my grasp. By then, I was laid out on the ground with him looming over me. I landed a kick in his chest, sending him sprawling. I jumped to my feet and ran inside the old cabin, slamming the door behind me.

“‘Get out here, boy. Don’t make me come in after you.’ He shouted through the door, rage dripping in his words. I could almost see the spittle in my mind.

“My heart was racing. My breath came in fits. I was in full panic mode.

“That’s when I heard another voice outside the cabin.

“A voice I recognized. ‘What the hell was that, Bobby?’ Anna screamed at assailant. ‘You were meant to just scare him, not try to kill him.’

“‘And I would’ve, but he had to go and piss me off!’

“‘So, imagine what you’ve done by disobeying me.’ This time, her voice was deadly calm. I peeked out through a crack just in time to witness Anna slicing open Bobby’s belly.

“The knife she had was small, but obviously razor sharp. I clamped my hand over my mouth to stifle a scream. I backed away from the door, utterly stunned by what I was seeing.

“I heard her rattling the doorknob, trying breach the cabin. ‘Alex, let me in. It’s alright.’

“‘What the FUCK, Anna?! Why are you doing this?’

“I heard two quick bangs as she threw her shoulder into the door. Then silence.

“The seconds dragged on, my breath stuck in my throat, as I listened for any sound.

“A crash from the other room finally got me moving again. I heard her climbing through a broken window as I bolted up the rickety staircase.

“Two steps from the top, my foot went right through the rotted wood. I cried out, a chunk of wood protruding from my left calf. I felt the blood oozing around it, but I dragged myself out of the hole and onto my feet. I was shaky and couldn’t put weight on my leg, but I managed to hobble away from the stairwell just as Anna rounded the corner.

“Bobby’s blood coated her hands and skirt, the knife still clutched in her fist. I looked down into her eyes. It was that same innocent look from the night before.

“‘Why are you running from me, Alex?’ She looked genuinely hurt, like she was unable to grasp what she’d done.

“‘Why are you doing this?’ I mumbled.

“‘Why for us, silly.’ She said, ascending the stairs. ‘I’m doing this so we can be together.’

“‘How…How does…’

“‘You were supposed to fight him off, valiantly protecting me. Then I would have kissed you and you would feel like protecting me always. Because that’s just the kind of person you are. Kind. Protective.’

“‘That’s insane! You’re insane!’ I shouted, stumbling away.

“Anger flashed across her face, but only for a second. She clearly didn’t like that word.

“I stumbled into one of the side rooms, shutting the door behind me. I looked around desperately searching for something to block the door. Finding nothing, I backed away, terrified out of my mind.

“The door swung open, Anna’s silhouette lingering in the hall. ‘What…What about your parents? Why did you have to kill them?’

“‘They tried to stop us. Don’t you remember? They were always against us dating. Last night, they followed us all the way out here, just so they could stop us from sleeping together. Such prudes.’

“‘But…But Anna, I don’t want this. Not like this.’

“‘Don’t be silly.’ Dismissing me, ‘Of course you do. We were always meant to be together.’

“‘Anna, no.’ I squeak, as she gets closer and closer. ‘We had fun, and we were friends, but I…’ swallowing hard, ‘I didn’t love you.’

“Now standing right in front of me, my back pinned to the wall, her face shifted, ‘You will.’

“It was so fast, I didn’t feel it happen. Not at first. I just saw her hand flick out, a glint of metal in the air in front of me. With a gasp I clutched my hands over the wound in my neck, blood seeping out between my fingers.

“Then I woke up here in the hospital.

“I don’t know what else I can tell you, Detective. I don’t know what happened to her. I didn’t see where she went.”

“It’s alright, kid. We’ve got the PD, Sherriff’s office, and state troopers all out looking for her. We’ll find her. Don’t you worry. Officers Jenkins and Riley will be right outside the door. You’ll be safe right here. Just get some rest.”

“Thank you…Thank you.”

“If I have any more questions—”

“You know where to find me.”

Detective Kern nods at me, closing his notebook. When he leaves the room, the weight of my night comes crashing in on me. Tears stream down my face as I lay in hospital bed. I feel every wound I sustained, throbbing beneath the bandages.

Eventually, I drift off to sleep, my brain unable to process any more of this horrid day.

My sleep isn’t comfortable or sound by any means, but my body need the rest.

I wake with a start, merely hours from when I crashed. My room is still dark, lit only by a lamp near the head of the bed.

When I go to reach for my glass of water, I find a handcuff lashing me to the rail of the bed. In a panic, I try to claw at it with my other hand, finding it restrained as well. I wrestle with the bed, fighting with every ounce of energy I have left.

“Stop it, sweetie.” Came a lilting voice from the corner of the room. A horrid figure slinked out into the dim light.

Anna. Covered nearly head to toe in crimson.

“Help me!” I scream, fighting my restraints with renewed vigor. “Please! Anyone! Please!”

Anna’s spritely figure hops up onto the bed, straddling me across the hips. “Stop that, silly. There’s no one out there. We’re finally alone. Isn’t it wonderful?”

As she lays her head on my chest, I feel the blood, still warm, seep through the thin sheets.

“Ple…please.” I whimper.

“It’s alright.” Anna sits up, kissing me on the cheek. “Everything’s alright now, sweetie.”

I watch in horror as she raises her red-stained knife over her head.

“Soon, we’ll be together. Forever.”

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Kevin Barkman

Somehow, my most popular story is smut. I don't usually write smut. I did it once, and look what happened. Ugh.

Anyway, Hope you enjoy my work. I do pour my heart, soul, sweat and tears into it.

PS: Please read more than my smut story.I beg

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.