Horror logo

Immortal || Chapter 26

eBook Available

By Sabal CloonanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

The plan Caven had to kill Jacob was a suicide mission if you ask me. And what was odd is the fact he told me not to tell Johnathan. I had no clue what I was doing. I had a feeling I would regret it later, though.

"Natalie, are you okay?" Johnathan asked, pulling me out of my day dream.

"Oh yeah I'm fine. I was just thinking about my mom," I lied.

He wrapped his arms around me, stopping us in our tracks as we walked around the garden.

"She's safe now," he reassured me.

I buried my face in his chest and took in his scent. No one was safe if Jacob and his men were free and alive. Something had to be done.

My anxiety was high. I was restless. Getting together with Caven was probably not the best idea, but I was tired of sitting around and waiting for Jacob to strike first.

"Let's just enjoy the day," Johnathan added.

I nodded and we walked around a bit more before Johnathan's uncle called him from the house.

"Someone is on the phone for you!" Caven said loudly, giving me a slight nod.

That meant the plan was about to start. I felt nervous now. I was the bait to lure Jacob out. And a lot of doubt was running through my mind. And I also knew that if Johnathan found out what his uncle and I were up to, he would not be very happy. But I wanted to help. I couldn't stand doing nothing. And Johnathan wasn't planning anything.

I followed Johnathan into the mansion and watched as he picked up the phone from where it rested. I was startled when I felt Caven's hand rest on my shoulder.

"It's time to go, while he's busy," Caven whispered in my ear.

My hair stood on end while every emotion possible coursed through my entire body. My palms were sweaty, and my knees were shaking as we both snuck out the back door, where Caven had a black sedan waiting for us. I could feel the doubts coming back to me all at once as we climbed into the car, Caven in the driver seat.

"Listen, I know you're scared. And this was a huge thing to ask of you," Caven began, pulling away from the house. "But I know you do not wish to sit there and do nothing while giving Jacob time to come up with a first strike. I do not wish to sit there myself. That is why we must act now."

"What if this is a total mistake?" I asked, clearly worried.

Caven shook his head. "In my opinion this is probably the best plan I've ever come up with in all my years."

He chuckled nervously as if trying to ease my fear. It worked a little not to know he was so confident. But a lot of "what if's" just played a part in my life ever since I found out who Johnathan Catcher really was. And as we neared the sight where Caven had spoken where the plan would take place, my heart started racing. I just hoped against all hope this plan would go right and we would win.

"We've arrived," Caven stated, pulling the car up to an old abandoned looking warehouse.

I looked around and felt my heart skip a beat. And not in a good way. Part of me felt as though I was being pulled into a trap. The other part wanted to settle things once and for all.

"Let's go," Caven said, getting out of the car after killing the engine.

_______________________

Want to know what happens next? Get the full book here https://store.bookbaby.com/bookshop/book/index.aspx?bookURL=Immortal

Available at the bookbaby shop.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sabal Cloonan

Inspired reader, writer, musician and artist. My passion is in my works.

Stay up-to-date by following my stories at: https://www.facebook.com/renfestlovrr/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.