Horror logo

Immortal || Chapter 25

ebook available

By Sabal CloonanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Johnathan’s POV

After Natalie and I dropped Mrs. Havens off at the airport, we headed back to the manor. I, myself, was getting anxious. Everything was too quiet around here. I would've figured Jacob would've struck again.

"Johnathan, are you okay?" Natalie asked, resting a hand on my shoulder.

"I'm just... frustrated! I want all of this to end," I let out an aggravated growl. "This isn't fair. I wish none of this would've happened. I wish Jacob wouldn't have found me and involved you."

I was to my breaking point now. I wanted a normal life, with someone I cared about. I didn't want to vampire hunt. I didn't want Natalie to be involved in this mess. My mess.

"Well, we can't have everything, right?" Natalie giggled.

I glanced at her. Her eyes sparkling with anticipation.

"I'm glad we met. Sure, I wish it never would've happened like this, but maybe there's a reason. Maybe you're not powerful enough to defeat Jacob... at least not by yourself. Yes, I'm involved, but that doesn't mean I'm helpless."

She was brave, I gave her that. But I wasn't sure if she was ready for this madness. She had a peaceful life before I came, and I ruined everything. Maybe once Jacob was taken care of... I would part my way.

"Johnathan, you told me twice how you care about me and you'll protect me. Now I'm saying the same to you. I've got you," she said grabbing my shoulders. "We just need to come up with a plan to take care of Jacob for good."

She was so sure of everything. And those words I said to her, to have them recited back meant everything to me. It also scared me a little. That only meant that if Jacob knew how much I cared for her, he would go through everything in using her as bate to get to me. I didn't want that. But I also didn't want to fight this battle alone. She made me feel like I could do anything.

"That really means a lot to me Natalie. All these years I've felt like I was fighting a battle alone. And I was until I met you," I poured my heart out.

She smiled but it faded, and her facial expression became serious. "I don't trust your uncle, though. He was acting very strange after your battle with Jacob. He acted as if he was the one who let him go."

I nodded. I didn't want to believe it but I was afraid she was right. Uncle Caven was up to something and I was going to find out what.

________________________________________________

Natalie’s POV

My mind was going one hundred miles an hour as I lay in bed thinking of everything from beginning to now. I was relieved that we found a safe haven for my mom. I worried about her a lot lately ever since Jacob's men came to my house.

Johnathan was so brave that day, and the days prior. He protected me just as he promised. But everything seemed so quiet now after the battle. An eerie feeling just set over me as I finally fell into a restless sleep.

The very next day I was woken up by a noise in my room. Sitting up in bed, I saw a black and white cat with green eyes staring at me.

"What... Where did you come from?" I said, picking the cat up and petting her gently.

"I figured you could use a companion," Caven said, knocking on the door.

I looked at him. "Thanks... I think."

He entered, closing the door behind him. My heart started racing. What was he doing in my room? And why did he get me a cat?

"Listen, I know I've been a bit out of the picture, if you will," Caven began. "But I promise you that you can rest assured. I have a plan to get rid of Jacob for good."

Something was still off about this. Why would Caven come to my room and tell me all of this? Why not gather Johnathan and I in the parlor and tell us both at the same time?

____________________________

Want to know what happens next? Get the full book here: https://store.bookbaby.com/bookshop/book/index.aspx?bookURL=Immortal

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sabal Cloonan

Inspired reader, writer, musician and artist. My passion is in my works.

Stay up-to-date by following my stories at: https://www.facebook.com/renfestlovrr/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.