Horror logo

Immortal || Chapter 22

Chapter 22

By Sabal CloonanPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

I was all grins and giggles, I couldn't sleep. The moment Johnathan and I shared in the kitchen was all I could think about. He really did care for me a lot. And he showed it every day. I found myself not wanting to be away from him any longer than I needed to be. He was on my mind 24/7. There was something else on my mind that was not so sweet and cute. Jacob.

I turned on my side, staring out the window with a far-off look. What was his plans now? I knew he was plotting something to get back at everyone. I could feel it in my very being.

As soon as I closed my eyes I drifted off into a restless sleep.

The very next day I woke up with a start.

"Oh, good morning, dear," mom said, opening the curtain to my room.

Last I remembered, they weren't even closed. I sat up in bed and stared at her groggily.

"Mom? What are you doing here?" I asked, rubbing my eyes.

She rubbed her hands together and smiled. "Just wanted to wake you up. I haven't done that in a long time."

This made me smile. Last time she woke me up was when I was little. This was nice.

She sat on the edge of the bed and moved a strand of hair from my face.

"Such a pretty girl," she said softly. "So, Johnathan's uncle had made us breakfast. I told him I would come wake you..."

I nodded with a stretch. Some reason I felt as if she had something troubling her. She had a worried look on her face.

"Mom, are you okay?" I asked, resting a hand on her arm.

"Oh... It's just Johnathan's uncle. He's an odd one. And it's very strange and sometimes makes me uncomfortable. And last night after my little conversation with Johnathan, I didn't go straight to my room. I explored a little..." She paused.

I felt my heart rate increasing. She saw something she wasn't supposed to see.

Mom sighed and continued. "I saw Mr. Catcher doing something in his study... I'm not sure as to what it was. But he had some sort of book and from the looks of it, it had something to do with spells I believe... Or the living dead."

I caught my breath. Mr. Catcher was playing with witchcraft? How odd...

"So, be careful around him, dear," she instructed. "And one more thing... If there's something you want to tell me... Please don't keep it from me. Secrets kill relationships. And I don't want a secret that could put us in danger kept from me."

She kissed my forehead and walked out the room. I felt so guilty. There was a secret I was keeping from her. A secret that was dangerous. But I kept it from her because I'm scared. I'm scared that if she finds out about what all is going on, she'll leave. I fear the very outcome of everything. And I hated it.

________________________________________________

Johnathan’s POV

I sat there in the kitchen waiting patiently for Natalie to join us for breakfast. As a vampire, I could eat. It just didn't have a taste to me. But I was starting to get hungry and the blood from an animal I had before making my presence known at the table wasn't doing me justice. But just when I was about to say something to Natalie's mother, she walked in.

"Sorry for making everyone wait. I'm slow in getting up," she giggled, taking a seat across from me.

Her mother nodded in agreement. "You've always been slow getting up. That's why I would always wake you up an hour early before your alarm."

Natalie gave her mother a knowing look and grinned at me as my uncle came out of the double doors leading to the kitchen where the food was prepared.

"Breakfast is served," he said, taking a seat while servers followed each other out of the kitchen with plates of food.

They each laid down a plate. One stacked with pancakes, muffins, bacon. Some served scrambled eggs on our plates along with toast and grits.

This in fact was a hearty breakfast. Wish I had taste buds for food like this.

Natalie's eyes grew wide. "This looks amazing!"

"Dig in!" A server said as they all disappeared into the kitchen.

This was interesting. We've never had servers or household staff. Where did they come from, I wondered? I shot my uncle a questioning look, but he waved it off.

I wondered what he was up to. Was he trying to impress Mrs. Havens? Or perhaps Natalie? It sure wasn't impressing me.

After we all had a nice chat around the table and finished our breakfast, Natalie's mother excused herself from the table to find the library. Uncle went back to his study leaving Natalie and myself alone at the table.

"That was new," she said talking about the servers.

"I agree," I said nodding in agreement. "I believe uncle is up to something."

"I've never seen them before," Natalie added. "Except that one server who announced for us to dig in."

I tapped my chin with my index finger. She was right. It was strange. And my uncle was becoming more and more suspicious each day. Ever since the Jacob battle, Uncle had been acting strange. I feared the worst. I've known him for a long time now and if I found out he had something to do with Jacob, my trust in him would fade quickly. And I wouldn't have a choice... But to kill him.

Those servers had to have been henchmen of Jacob's.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sabal Cloonan

Inspired reader, writer, musician and artist. My passion is in my works.

Stay up-to-date by following my stories at: https://www.facebook.com/renfestlovrr/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.