Horror logo

Immortal || Chapter 21

Chapter 21

By Sabal CloonanPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like

Johnathan’s POV

I knew Natalie was feeling a bit uneasy with my uncle around. He was always a flirt, but for some reason he made even my skin crawl. Especially the way he looked at Natalie's mother. I thought I would confront my uncle of the matter, so I found him minding his own business in the study.

"Uncle, can we talk?" I asked, tapping on the door.

He looked up from a book he was reading and quickly placed it in the desk drawer and locked it.

"Of course, Nephew," he said, standing up and sitting in a comfortable chair.

I sighed and sat on the arm rest of the chair in front of him. "It's about Natalie's mother."

Uncle nodded. "I see where this is going. I'm only friendly because I know you're very fond of young Natalie. And her mother seems lovely."

"I don't like the way you look at Mrs. Havens, Uncle. It's very unsettling," I continued to explain.

I knew my uncle had a temper, so I approached the subject as carefully as I could.

He held a stern look on his face. "Very well then. I'll watch how I act around her."

I nodded. I did not wish to continue this conversation if it wasn't needed. I didn't believe him of course because I know how my uncle is. He's always been this way ever since I met him and found out he was related to me. I never knew my father had a brother until he showed up at my doorstep one day and told me he's been looking for me. He explained how he was my father's young brother and how he was turned into a vampire. He failed to tell me how he was turned. Also failing to tell me how he found me.

I nearly collided into Natalie's mom as I walked around the halls in the house.

"Oh, I'm sorry, Johnathan," she said with a sweet smile. "I was roaming around admiring everything. Your home has so much history in it."

I nodded. "Yes indeed. I am glad you like it, Mrs. Havens."

"I recall your uncle saying something about Mr. Catcher having a son? I never knew that."

I nodded. "He did. He went missing before the fire from what I understand. His remains weren't found. Then again everything turned into ashes."

She nodded with a curious look in her eyes. "I wonder where he went... He's probably passed away by now."

This was so awkward... Little did she know, Mr. Catcher's son was standing before her. A vampire for that matter. But she must not know. I worried my uncle would bring that into light.

"Johnathan?" Mrs. Havens stated. "I want to thank you for allowing my daughter and I to stay here for safety. I may not know what's going on and who those men were, but I'm glad Natalie has someone like you in her life. She's always hung out with her friends at school, but she needed someone in her life who could challenge her. And I'm glad that person is you."

I smiled at this. "I'm honored, Mrs. Havens. Your daughter is special. Special to me. And I've promised to keep her safe even if it meant giving my life."

Her mom swooned. "Just like the movies."

She gave me a hug and one last smile before excusing herself to her room. I'm glad her mother trusts me to protect her. But I wondered if Mrs. Havens was at least a little bit curious about everything that just happened. No one can be that calm and not be curious. I should keep an eye out on her to be sure she doesn't snoop around. I would warn Natalie about this the next chance I saw her.

______________________________________

Natalie’s POV

I couldn't help but overhear the conversation between Johnathan and my mom. She seemed to have taken a liking to him. But I felt as though she was getting suspicious about everything. I leaned against the bedroom door and sighed. I just hope against all hope that she wouldn't find out about who Johnathan and his uncle really were. I feared mom would leave and then Jacob would come after her.

I hugged myself and looked around the room. I didn't feel like resting. I was too awake.

"Natalie," Johnathan whispered through the door.

I jumped a little and turned to open the door. He looked so handsome standing there. I felt my face getting hot as he stared at me with those eyes of his.

"Did you hear everything?" He asked, leaning against the door frame.

I nodded. "Can we talk?"

"Sure. I'll make some tea. Let's head to the kitchen maybe we could make something to eat," he smiled and pushed himself off the frame.

I nodded and followed him down the hall to the stairs. I bet he wondered what I wanted to talk about. The thing is, I was worried. Worried about what was to come. Worried about if my mom would find out. Worried that if she did what would she do? I hated to think she would leave. I hated thinking of how much danger we were in right now all because of one vampire with a serious grudge.

As we arrived in the kitchen I watched as Johnathan moved about getting everything needed for tea and food. He glanced at me and my face went red.

"What's on your mind?" He asked, continuing his task.

I shook my head and returned to reality. "I'm just... Worried. About everything. I can't stop thinking about all that's happened. My mom has even been drugged into it and that worries me so much. So does your uncle. He's acting strange. Ever since the battle between you and Jacob."

Johnathan stopped what he was doing and came over to me, placing a hand on my shoulder causing me to rock back and forth.

"I've got you," he whispered, leaning closer to my face.

He rested his forehead against mine and stared into my eyes. I could feel my entire body going numb. My heart rate increased at his touch and stare.

The three words he said replayed in my head; I got you.

Did he really, though? Did he mean it? From the look in his eyes he did mean it. Every word.

"This... Everything that's happening," he continued. "This is our little secret. Just the two of us. Just know that I got you."

I felt a tear roll down my cheek. He meant it. Every word. All my life, I never would've thought someone like him would care for someone like me. He was special. He was my safe house. I cared for him. As days went by, I cared more and more. I found myself craving his touch. To only be held by him...

"Teas done," he smirked as he backed up to tend to the drink.

I grasped his arm and as he turned back to face me, I found myself against him in a tight hug. My face buried in his chest. I'm sure if he had a heart beat it would be racing right now. Because mine was.

As he wrapped his arms around me, I could feel the tears just pouring out. This felt natural. Like I was meant to be this close to him in his arms. Felt so natural. I could stay like this forever.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sabal Cloonan

Inspired reader, writer, musician and artist. My passion is in my works.

Stay up-to-date by following my stories at: https://www.facebook.com/renfestlovrr/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.