Horror logo

I Saw a Ghost

Spooky to the Highest Degree

By Kendall EarlPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Image from Pexels.com

I thought that since it is the season of scary things that I would tell the story of the time I saw a ghost. I have tried to find a reasonable explanation for it but since I can't I figured that I figured I would share with you all.

To make sure that you all fully understand my experience, I have made a diagram of my room during the time. I hope my artistic genius will show you what happened.

Made by me via Microsoft Paint

The masterpiece of a diagram shows that the room set up was very simple. You had the two beds belonging to my sister and I as well as our bookshelves/ nightstands to the other side next to the wall. Our closet was on the other side of the room and was open. Our television was in the corner of the room on the dress that was my sisters and my dresser was in the middle of our beds. We had a bay window next to my sister's bed and the door next to mine.

As you can see by the expertly drawn diagram, I was sitting on my bed with the nightstand/bookshelf sitting on my side next to the wall. This also was where I had my only light source in the entire room, a small desk lamp. As you can also tell, I had a the door farther up the wall and the window on my far right past my sister's bed. Outside there was a very large bush that almost completely hid our window from the view of the sidewalk; children would occasionally hid behind there when playing since it was so big.

It was about 8 PM at night and I had school the next day. I was stuck reading Of Mice and Men for my English class and I had to catch up since I was behind on my reading. I told my mother and sister, who were in the kitchen, not to bother me while I was reading since I could be easily distracted by them. I also shut the door and locked it to make sure that they wouldn't come in. I was sitting on my twin sized bed with my back to the wall and the lamp giving me the only light in the room. It gave a dim but obvious sort of orange tint to the white walls. I didn't have the t.v. on, my phone was off, and my focus was completely on the book in front of me.

After a while of reading I had to look up since I was, like I said earlier, easily distracted. That was when I saw it. The best way to describe what I saw would have to be a shadow. It was both vague and clear in appearance. I could make out that it was a man and looked to be wearing both a hat and some very fancy dress shoes from the outline. The shadow moved slowly, as if making sure I was aware it was indeed there. It moved from the door, past the open closet full of clothes, around the television, and finally to the window where it disappeared.

I had no idea why that happened or what could make it happen, and since I was a young 11th grader with no experience on ghostly occurrences I was shocked. After the immediate shock wore off, I did what any person with common sense would do, I ran out the room crying for my mom. I was raised Christian in a Christian household. When you see something like that the answer is to pull out the holy oil and start praying. My mother asked me why I didn't call on Jesus at the sight of the vision. To that I have to say, ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!! IT COULD HAVE BEEN A FREAKING DEMON MAN!!! DO YOU REALLY EXPECT ME TO STAY WHERE I AM AND CALL ON JESUS' NAME TO HELP ME OUT!!!!??? NO!!! I'M GETTING THE FRICK OUT WHILE I HAVE THE CHANCE!!!

I do believe in prayer but I also believe in getting out of dodge when there could be some kind of demon stuff involved. If you learn nothing else from my story, remember, don't mess with demons. She made a cross out of holy oil on the doors and windows of our apartment and prayed over them before doing the same with my forehead. I felt safe after that and continued with my reading, of which I got finished.

Now I'm sure that a lot of people will read this and think that I am full of it or that I just imagined some sort of trick of the light. I know that what I saw was completely real. There was no one else in the room, the blinds were closed and had a big bush in front of them, no other light was in the room besides the lamp behind me. I am sure as I can be that I saw something not of this world.

About the Creator

Kendall Earl

I am a student at University that is majoring in English. I hope to be a novel writer and am trying to work on my writing skills. I hope you enjoy my work.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kendall EarlWritten by Kendall Earl

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.