Horror logo

Hunting

Part 4

By Lucy TorralbaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Hunting
Photo by hannah grace on Unsplash

After about an hour or so of meditating, my alarm goes off. It's time to get ready, I think to myself. Once the alarm is turned off, I check the weather on my phone. Seeing there was no chance of rain today I decide to wear a black short sleeve T-shirt with dark blue jeans and a pair of black chucks for the finishing touch. Moving to the full length mirror to see what I look like, noticing my hair is a bit flat due to no product. Adding a little mousse to give my hair a little bit of a wavy volume look made me think of my assistant Jill.

She once told me that I looked like Carlos from Resident Evil 3 remake with this style of hair. I had no idea of what any of that meant so I asked her to indulge me on who I looked like and from where. Much to my surprise Jill is a gamer and loves horror games, especially zombie ones. The character she mentioned and then showed me a picture of did resemble me a bit. Carlos and I both have the same skin tone, we are both athletically build, above average height, the only discerning difference is in the eyes. Mine are hazel green which I'm constantly getting complimented on, even Jill couldn't help it. I chuckle at the memory of her explaining my resemblance to a character from her favorite game. If memory serves me correctly I also remember that while Jill was talking about the resemblance of Carlos to me she started to blush ever so slightly.

I shake my head with another chuckle from those memories, I need to focus now. Before leaving the room I make sure to bring my book. It's the latest horror book that I've barely had a chance to read. Luckily today is the perfect day to finish it off while working. I left a $50 bill on the dresser for housekeeping, no reason to be cheap with people who work hard and need it more than I do. Once I'm outside the room I decide to take the stairs to get ready for the walk ahead of me. 5 stories down and I'm in the lobby of the hotel, a young woman at the desk says have a good day.

Jill picked the prefect hotel to book for me, just like she always does. From what I've read about the target she both works and lives close by my hotel no more than a couple of miles away. Nothing a brisk walk couldn't take care of, depending on where she is now. From what her file says, today she should be closing the café. I look up the destination on my phone when I'm outside the hotel and follow the instructions.

I make a note on my phone to give Jill a bonus when this mission is done. She's only been my employee for about 6 months and does an exceptional job. Jill doesn't just follow the rules, she goes above on any task I give her, she's even given me good ideas on how to move forward with my company. Out of all the assistances I've ever had she's definitely my favorite, then again I don't think any of other my assistances have had as big of a crush on me as she does. I first noticed it when she blushed after the RE3 comparison along with the compliment to my eyes.

In no time my destination is in sight. Walking into the café the first thing that hits me is the rich smell of coffee and the pastries served along side. I notice that there's not that many people here. Moving to the counter not seeing my target yet I ordered an iced americano for starters. With my drink in hand I walk towards a chair that's right in the middle of the door that I just came in from and the counter. The chair's back is against the wall, a prefect place to both read my book, then the file on my phone when my target finally comes to work.

Deciding to read the book and enjoy the americano while I wait for my target to come into work didn't take too long. I had barely read a few chapters when I heard the door open to see my target walking in. Our eyes barely made contact for a second or two and I felt my heart start to beat faster in my chest. Her eyes were a deep blue, like the ocean before the sun rises a true blue. Setting my book down to look into the profile picture that was sent to me, it didn't do the young woman justice. I could tell she was a young woman who could turn heads, yet I wasn't expecting her to make me do just that.

Since my target finally decided to show up for work albeit late, I put my book down and read into her file some more. My target has had a bit of a hard life so far, her parents died at the age of 9, her grandmother raised her for about 10 years, then died in her sleep. She's been working since she was 16 and has been on her own for about 4 years this coming August. Such a hard life for someone to live to only have it snuffed out by a person like myself due to a contract. She must have some top secret knowledge to make such a very powerful enemy want her gone.

Reading my target's file just gave me the basics, her eyes said more than this file ever could. They said, "I've been through hell and back. What more could you do to me?" My instincts told me she's a fighter which proved to be true she's a black belt in Tae Kwon Doe and is currently practicing MMA, or so her file says. I think she'll be putting up quite the fight when it comes to me taking care of her. Thoughts of how to end her life ran through my mind, I needed to think of the right way.

That's when I noticed a refill was needed for my americano. By the time I went to the counter my target offered me a scone along with the refill. Deciding I could use a snack I made the purchase and added a tip in the jar. Handing me the scone my target smiled, looked into my eyes, and our hands barely touched for a second. In that very small moment I could feel her warmth, it's been a very long time since I felt that kind of warmth especially from another person.

All rights reserve for Capcom, I do not claim ownership to the games, characters or their likenesses.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Lucy Torralba

Just a writer at heart trying to tell some stories of my own. Currently working on one main story, will update whenever I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.