Horror logo

Horror story

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own

By Muhammad BilalPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. My heart skipped a beat as I stared at the image of a strange, twisted figure staring back at me. I tried to look away, but my eyes were fixed on the mirror, transfixed by the horror that was unfolding before me.

I had always been afraid of mirrors, ever since I was a child. My mother had told me stories about how they were portals to another world, a dark and twisted realm where evil creatures lurked just beyond our sight. I had dismissed these tales as childish nonsense, but now, as I looked into the mirror, I couldn't shake the feeling that there was something terribly wrong.

I backed away from the mirror, my heart pounding in my chest. I tried to tell myself that it was just my imagination, that I was being silly, but I couldn't shake the feeling that I was in danger. As I turned to leave the room, I heard a faint whisper, a voice that seemed to be coming from inside the mirror itself.

"Help me," it whispered, and I froze in terror.

I turned back to the mirror, my eyes fixed on the reflection of the twisted figure staring back at me. It was like nothing I had ever seen before, a creature with limbs that bent in unnatural ways, a face that was twisted into a grotesque smile. And in its eyes, I saw something that chilled me to the bone - a hunger, a hunger for something that I couldn't begin to understand.

I stumbled back from the mirror, my mind racing with fear. I knew I had to leave the room, to get as far away from that mirror as possible. But as I turned to run, I saw movement in the reflection. The twisted figure was moving, its limbs contorting in impossible ways as it reached out towards me.

I screamed as I ran from the room, my mind consumed by fear. I didn't stop until I was outside, gasping for air and shaking with terror. It was only then that I realized I had left my phone inside, and I knew that I had to go back in.

As I stepped back into the room, my eyes locked onto the mirror. The twisted figure was still there, still staring back at me with its hungry eyes. I reached out to touch the glass, to try and understand what was happening, but as my fingers brushed against the surface, the mirror shattered, spraying me with sharp shards of glass.

I stumbled backwards, screaming in pain and fear as the twisted figure emerged from the broken glass, its limbs stretching out towards me. And as it reached me, I knew that my fate was sealed. I had looked into the mirror, and now, I was trapped in the dark and twisted realm that lay beyond.

I tried to run, but my legs wouldn't move. It was like I was glued to the spot, trapped in a nightmare that I couldn't wake up from. The twisted figure was getting closer, its face twisted into a grotesque smile as it reached out to grab me.

I closed my eyes, waiting for the inevitable, but when I opened them again, I was standing in a different room. It was like nothing I had ever seen before - the walls were made of pulsing flesh, and the air was thick with a sickly-sweet smell that made my stomach turn.

The twisted figure was still there, standing in front of me, its limbs stretching out to touch my face. I tried to move, to run, but I was paralyzed with fear. I knew that I was trapped in this place, that there was no escape.

And then, the figure spoke. Its voice was like nothing I had ever heard before - it was low and guttural, like the sound of a dying animal.

"I have been waiting for you," it said. "You are the one who can set me free."

I didn't understand what it was talking about, but I knew that I had to get out of there. I tried to run, but the twisted figure was too fast. It grabbed me by the arm and pulled me close, its face inches from mine.

"You have to help me," it said. "I have been trapped in this place for too long. I need your help to escape."

I didn't know what to do. I was trapped in a nightmare, surrounded by horrors that I couldn't begin to understand. But then, something inside me shifted, and I realized that I had to help the twisted figure. I didn't know why, but I knew that it was the only way to escape.

I nodded, and the twisted figure let go of me. It led me through the pulsing flesh walls, down dark and twisted corridors that seemed to go on forever. And then, we came to a door. The twisted figure opened it, and we stepped through into a blindingly bright light.

I shielded my eyes, trying to see what was happening, but it was too bright. And then, the twisted figure was gone, and I was standing in an empty room. The walls were white, and the air was cold and sterile.

I looked around, trying to figure out what was going on, but there was nothing there. I was alone, trapped in a nightmare that I couldn't wake up from.

And then, I heard a voice. It was soft and gentle, like the sound of a distant bird.

"Hello," it said. "Welcome to the other side."

I didn't know what it meant, but I knew that I was in danger. I tried to run, but my legs wouldn't move. I was trapped, lost in a nightmare that would never end.

The voice spoke again, closer this time. "Don't be afraid. You're not alone here."

I turned to face the source of the voice, but I couldn't see anything in the blinding light. "Who are you? What do you want?" I asked, my voice shaking with fear.

"I am the one who can help you," the voice replied. "But first, you must face your fears."

Suddenly, the room around me began to shift and twist, becoming something else entirely. The walls turned to stone, and the floor became slick with blood. The air was thick with the stench of decay, and I could hear the sound of something moving in the shadows.

I knew that I was in a different kind of nightmare now, one that was just as real as the one before. But I also knew that I had to face it, that there was no other way out.

I took a deep breath and began to walk forward, towards the darkness. As I did, the shadows began to coalesce into a figure, one that was just as twisted and horrifying as the one before.

But this time, I wasn't afraid. I felt a strength inside me that I had never felt before, a sense of purpose that drove me forward. I raised my hands, and a beam of light shot out from my fingertips, striking the figure and driving it back.

The figure screamed, and then it was gone, dissolving into the darkness. The walls began to crumble, and the blood on the floor turned to water.

I walked forward, towards the light. As I did, the walls around me began to shift and twist again, becoming something new.

This time, I found myself in a bright, sunny field, surrounded by flowers and birds. The air was warm and sweet, and I felt a sense of peace that I had never known before.

And then, I saw her. She was standing in the distance, a figure made of light and beauty. I knew that she was the one who had been guiding me all along, the one who had led me through my nightmares to this place of peace.

I walked towards her, and as I did, I felt a sense of joy that I had never known before. I knew that I had faced my fears, that I had overcome the darkness that had been inside me all along.

And as I stood before her, I felt a warmth inside me that I knew would never fade. I knew that I had found my way out of the nightmare, that I had found my way back to the light.

halloweenmonster
Like

About the Creator

Muhammad Bilal

Hi, Thank you for visit my profile. I am Software engineer but like to write stories on different topics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.