Horror logo

Haunted abandoned house!

"eerie ghost house"

By Gloria PenelopePublished about a month ago 6 min read
2
Haunted abandoned house!
Photo by Peter Herrmann on Unsplash

An elderly woman's face at the window!

I stared from a distance, and what I saw was black smoke coming from the chimney. It was an ancient abandoned house on a mountain hill opposite my parents' house. I never noticed anyone outside that residence. All I knew was that the people who lived in that house had all died in an airplane crash years ago.

My father told me that I was just seven years old when they all perished.

But then I kept seeing strange things in that abandoned house through the windows. I could sometimes see someone staring at me through the window for nearly an hour. It was an elderly woman's face at the window! Sometimes I could see every window open. Sometimes I saw kids playing through the glass window inside one of those rooms.

I was already enjoying observing every action. However, I had never seen someone outside the house or a car drive in or leave the premises. I was aware that the house was abandoned, and no family had lived long in it since the original owners had died. My father mentioned that even the people who had previously bought it had stayed for less than six months and then left without saying a word to anyone. Maybe there were negative spirits in that house.

A ghost and I engage in sign language from a distance!

Because both of my parents were always at work and I was alone at home, they had no idea that I was constantly watching unusual things in that abandoned house. Nonetheless, I was eager to see more of what I had already seen from a distance. So I went shopping and purchased binoculars.

I had just graduated from Stellenbosch University. I was still applying for jobs. So I had nothing to do but wait for emails regarding job interviews or phone calls. It was simple for me to spend the day focusing on that abandoned house.

One day, I noticed a boy my age waving his hand and calling me from a window. I wondered if he was seeing me properly, because I was watching him with binoculars from my bedroom window. But then I considered the possibility that he might be a normal person and a new tenant. I returned his wave by waving back to him. He showed me the expression of happiness by smiling.

I thought they were not truly dead!

Every time I looked at that house, I saw smoke from the chimney. And people were constantly moving. I saw an old, elderly woman, children playing, and a boy my age. In most cases, young children were waving their hands at me. My agemate was calling me with his hand.

So I asked my father again about the house's owners and whether they had children. My father mentioned that they were a family of six members. There were two parents, three children, and an elderly woman who happened to be the mother of the house's owner. He even mentioned that their first son was my age and my best friend before they all died.

Then I remembered those people I had seen through the windows with my binoculars. I choose to overlook the fact that they were referred to as dead people. I assumed they were still alive, but they avoided engaging with anybody.

When I visit them!

One day, I decided to walk straight to that house. I had no fear because I was frequently seeing people through their windows. When I arrived, the gate was locked with a massive rusted padlock. I could tell the padlock had been like that for years. There were no signs of human footprints. Even the smoke I saw from my window was not there in that house. It looked horrific.

Just as I was about to begin walking back home, I turned my body and head. I blinked my eyes. Surprisingly, I heard the gate open, followed by a faint, cold wind. I returned and stood upright, looking at the house. I heard laughter inside that house while I remained to stand at the gate, gazing. I heard country music playing on the radio and kids making noise while playing.

I got terrified!

I headed into that house, following the music and voices I could hear. As soon as I walked into the living room, all the sounds stopped. It was quite silent. There were a lot of spiders, and their webs covered all the pieces of furniture inside that house. I became really terrified, and I slowly turned back to the entrance.

Before I could even open the door to go outside, my name was called, and laughter began. I ignored the sounds and attempted to open the door. Only to discover that it was locked and there was no key. My tears flowed out. I was stuck inside the eerie home. I decided to run around, looking for another door to exit through. But every door was locked.

I screamed, but my voice had become too low to be heard. I sat down on the floor and continued to cry. As I was crying, an elderly woman passed in front of me, going to the kitchen.

I eagerly stepped up and followed her, thinking she'd show me the way out or open the doors so I could go home. She vanished as soon as she entered the kitchen, and she was nowhere to be seen. I immediately believed that those people I was seeing from my house were ghosts.

When I plead to the spirits or ghosts!

I realized it was me against the spirits. So I began talking to them, pleading for their forgiveness. I urged them to open the doors so I could return home. I begged, even though I couldn't see anyone around me. After an hour, I noticed the boy who was calling and waving his hands at me.

I tried to follow him and ask if he could open the doors and allow me out. He entered the restroom and vanished without answering or helping me. I cried like a little child. I began exploring every room, hoping to find a kind spirit that would listen to me.

I simply heard the sounds of laughter. There was music in every room, but no one was inside. Children were also playing and talking, but I couldn't see them. I remembered having my phone in my pocket. I picked it up and began making calls. When I started dialing numbers, network coverage went off. I was unable to make calls either.

Later, following my ordeal inside that spooky mansion, I fell asleep on the floor. When I awoke before 6 p.m., I noticed that all of the doors had been opened. I jumped up and quickly ran home, not looking back. Fortunately, my parents hadn't returned from work yet, so they had no idea I was gone and locked within the eerie ghost house.

© 2024 Gloria Penelope - Available on LetterPile.

fictionvintagesupernatural
2

About the Creator

Gloria Penelope

I create poetry, short stories, books, and articles based on my crazy thoughts and wild ideas.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • “M”about a month ago

    I love this stories ♡

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.