Horror logo

Guardian's Secrets

Mr's Jenkins

By Muhammad Wildan HabibiePublished 10 months ago 3 min read
1
Guardian's Secrets
Photo by Europeana on Unsplash

In my youth, both of my parents held demanding occupations, necessitating the services of a caregiver named Mrs. Jenkins during my absence. Mrs. Jenkins, a compassionate individual, had triumphed over numerous hardships throughout her life. She diligently performed domestic chores and contributed to her community. Her responsibilities encompassed preparing my meals, attending to household tasks, and being a supportive listener whenever I required someone to confide in. She embodied a second maternal figure, consistently offering me solace and guidance.

One fateful day, upon returning home from school, I discovered the absence of Mrs. Jenkins. This was highly unusual, as punctuality was her hallmark. Instead, I found her grandmother, usually confined to her own room, seated in the living area.

Perplexed, I inquired of her grandmother, "Where is Ms. Jenkins today?"

"She has not yet arrived," her grandmother responded, ushering me into her room and closing the door behind us. The atmosphere felt peculiar, akin to hiding away. "Today, anyone entering the premises must remain in their respective chambers," my grandmother stated gravely. She then offered me apple juice and a selection of snacks.

Bewildered, I probed further, "Anyone?"

A worried expression crossed my grandmother's face as she replied, "Indeed, anyone." "Trust me, alright?" She gently shut the door, leaving me alone in the room.

Sitting on my bed, sipping apple juice, my mind brimmed with questions regarding the peculiar turn of events. The stillness within the house unleashed my imagination, yet I chose to place my faith in my grandmother and patiently await developments.

As the night wore on, distant voices reached my ears. As I intently listened, it became apparent that Mrs. Jenkins was searching for me. Instinctively, I yearned to reassure her, but my grandmother's words reverberated in my mind, compelling me to remain concealed. Time passed, and Mrs. Jenkins returned to our dwelling. When I conversed with her grandmother, her concern was palpable as she inquired about my return.

"No, not yet," her grandmother nervously asserted. "He mentioned heading to a friend's abode, implying he might return home late today."

Aware of her grandmother's protective lie, I pondered the reasoning behind it. With a blend of curiosity and unease, I remained confined to the room.

As darkness enveloped the household, Mrs. Jenkins arrived once more. Anxiety laced her voice as she queried the presence of my return.

"He has yet to return," her grandmother steadfastly replied. "Please do not concern yourself with dinner tonight. Return home and care for yourself," I overheard her say.

After what seemed like an eternity, my parents eventually arrived home. I heard the footsteps of her grandmother ascending the stairs, followed by the comforting sight of her opening my door, weariness and relief etched on her face. "You may now depart," she conveyed, her words providing reassurance.

Subsequently, we partook in a late dinner, during which my parents divulged that earlier that day, Mrs. Jenkins had taken her own life. They discovered written notes in which she expressed her inner conflict and profound isolation.

I often ponder the thoughts that consumed Mrs. Jenkins as she searched for me on that fateful day. The mere contemplation evokes within me a profound sorrow and compassion. Her unwavering dedication and care towards me were genuine, and her memory will forever reside in my heart.

In the ensuing years, my parents and I resolved to honor the legacy of Mrs. Jenkins by extending a helping hand to those in need and offering support to those experiencing solitude. I endeavored to do so.

psychologicalurban legendhalloween
1

About the Creator

Muhammad Wildan Habibie

write as my hobby

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.