Horror logo

Freddy Krueger: The Master of Nightmares

by: Nerissha Hunt

By Nerissha HuntPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
2

Freddy Krueger is the scariest yet best horror villains of all time. The first movie was made in 1984, which happens to be the same year was born. I saw the movie in 1992. I was 9 years old. I was scared to go to sleep, even scared to go to the bathroom. I think I used the bathroom on myself that night. I have the first Nightmare On Elm Street movie on DVD in my house. I was completely terrified of a man with claws that kills people in their sleep. For some strange reason, at a flea market once, I bought a poster of him. What in the world did I do that for? Every night, I was convinced that he was going to jump out of that poster at any minute.

As I got older, The Nightmare on Elm Street series continued and I watched them all, yet I was less fearful. I had finally adjusted to watching this scary man with razor blades for fingers. One normal hand and a hand with razor blades for fingers terrified me. I wondered if that was even possible, but it wasn’t like he was around for me to ask him that and of course with me thinking he was real, meeting him was the last thing I wanted to do. So, Freddy's Dead: The Final Nightmare ended all fear. His daughter finding out about him and them showing him as an actual person made me feel better.

Then, Wes Craven’s New Nightmare came out. I was able to handle it because it was not so bad. In fact, it is now one of my favorite movies. Once I learned, the “man behind the mask”, I felt 100% better. There is only one Freddy Krueger: Robert Englund. Out of all the movies that have been made, Robert Englund is the only one to play Freddy Krueger. The 2010 version of Nightmare on Elm Street was an insult. Robert Englund is older now and has stopped playing that character. I was told that he stopped playing the character because when he looks in the mirror, all he sees is Freddy Krueger, but don't quote me on that though.

In 2003, I think, Freddy vs Jason came out. The whole movie had me laughing. A horror movie is put in place to scare you but this one was more a comedy than a horror movie. When I see Jason Voorhees, a character that is very tall, fighting Freddy Krueger, a character that is not that tall, I think to myself, battle lost automatically on Freddy Krueger’s behalf. Wrong. It was an equal fight between the two.

Now that I am older, I am into the make-up for Freddy Krueger. In the first set of movies, his make-up was not all that great. This is a little backwards, but it was okay in Freddy vs Jason. But the best make-up effects that he had was in Wes Craven’s New Nightmare. His character was super tall and the way that his razor blades looked was unreal. The way that Freddy kills, you just never know what to expect. Someone can nod off, automatic kill. Someone goes in a deep sleep, automatic kill.

The final thing is his voice. Robert Englund went on YouTube and explained that part. He quoted a regular line, with just him talking and then he quoted one where they did a voice enhancement. I thought that was quite interesting and cool too. But he no longer plays the character. Its okay because all good things must come to an end. But no one can play that part like he did.

movie review
2

About the Creator

Nerissha Hunt

Writing is not a talent; it's a gift. My stories are transparent. Not fact, not fiction. They are in a category to themselves.

You never know what to expect.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.