Horror logo

Flight of the Blue Jay Part Six: In a Cage Again?

Is the door locked?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
Flight of the Blue Jay Part Six: In a Cage Again?
Photo by Patrice Bouchard on Unsplash

Peeking out the door, the old lady stared at the door blankly holding a red folder. Taking a deep breath, the door creaked open to where the chain allowed it. Her blinded eyes looked directly into mine, sending chills up my spine.

“I work for the secret society that is fighting your after school murder club.” She croaked with a smoker’s voice. It could only be compared as if someone has eaten ash, thus burning the throat. A phlegm filled cough shattered the still air, her assumed husband stood behind her. Doubt plagued my mind, my first impression of her most unimpressive.

“How can I believe you?” I growled, watching her closely. “I have been running left and right. On top of that I have a fucked up leg, and for what! So forgive me if I don’t want to trust you.” Chuckling to herself, she smiled warmly in my direction. Her smile made me sicker than a dog at that moment, a sinister energy burning behind her.

“I understand your concern, but I am not even an old lady.” She exclaimed, her wrinkled hands peeling off the old age makeup. “Then why would I take off my disguise. We have places hidden away from the world. Safe and sound, what do you say?” An odd look twisted my face, her fingers taking out the cataract contacts. Warm brown eyes looked back at me, long black cascading down her back.

“Okay, I’ll bite.” I agreed cautiously, unlocking the door. “But one bit of funny business, and I will end you.” She brushed against my shoulder, a sly look shimmering in her eyes. She plopped down on the bed, Sammy glaring at her in disgust. She peeled off her costume revealing a black business suit, her partner taking off his disguise. His long black hair was slicked back, green eyes sparkling with defiance in my direction. A crooked grin danced across his face, his black gloved hands smoothed out his bland business suit.

“Come now.” The new stranger teased playfully, slamming the door behind him. “We can help you solve this mystery, and no you can’t know our real names. To you we are Agents X and Y. Deal with it. Oh, and one more thing. If you wish to join our ranks, you must dismiss your life now. Do you wish to join us?” Sammy turned to me, our eyes meeting in shock. Shock was not something I usually felt, I mean what did I have back home. No one loved me except for Sammy, no one ever loved me since my parents died. Tears welled up in my eyes, my mind fighting the urge to cry. Even the foster homes I was bounced around in between the mental hospital stays were cold and unwelcoming. The parents always passed me over, not asking how I felt. They always committed me when I had one mental breakdown, announcing that they didn’t want me anymore. Those moments made me swear off any form of love, however that all changed when Sammy stood by my side for the first time.

“Well girly. I am Agent Y by the way.” He taunted with a cruel smile, raising his hand to his mouth. “You have led a sad life up to this point. Yes, I know your pathetic history.” A snarl formed on my lips, Sammy grabbing my arm.

“Be that as it may, you can’t expect Sammy to give up his life.” I protested, turning my eyes up to him. “That is his own choice. I am sure he has family and friends that he would not like to lose.” Sammy cleared his throat, a devilish smile dancing across his face.

“I will join you if she wishes to join you.” He replied with a hand on my shoulder. “That group murdered my family, so I to bounced from home to home never to ever fall in love.” Shock widened my eyes, his sad smile beaming down at me.

“I will join you then.” I answered numbly, taking in his answer. “Is it all true?” He nodded, the crazy couple gathering the files, and spreading gasoline everywhere. Alarm widened my eyes, Sammy stepping in front of me.

“Now to fake your deaths.” Agent X announced happily, turning towards Agent Y. “Bring in the bodies. Don’t worry, they are part of our enemy's ranks. They died while attacking us. An eye for an eye, you know. Come along, we will give you new things. Your old life is now dead.” Her face went dead serious, her partner yanking us out of the room. A lit match fell from her finger, orange flames licking the room. The fire raged in the rear view mirror as the new black van sped away, tears threatening to fall from my eyes. My life was gone, gone for good.

“You will get used to the grief.” Agent Y promised, looking into my eyes. “I had a wonderful life before this, but those monsters killed my only daughter and wife. She found me, her option sounding the best. A sad look danced across his face, tears welling up in his eyes. Sammy shifted next to me uncomfortably, watching the two people laughing in the front seat.

“You didn’t have to give up your life.” I groaned, rubbing my forehead. “I am so sor-” He lifted up my chin, his lips pressing against my lips passionately against mine. Pulling back, he tucked a piece of hair behind my ear. My face flushed scarlet, his hand tracing my cheek.

“I have never made friends, but my latest adoptive brother.” He whispered in my ears, wrapping his hand in mine. “You are my home.” My lips parted to speak, Agent Y interrupting us.

“You guys need names.” He uttered, sighing away his tears. “How about Blue Jay for the lady, and Raven for the gentleman?” Panic widened my eyes, the way he said Blue Jay was horrifying. Tears streamed down my cheeks, primal fear dominating my emotions.

“How dare you name me that?” I screamed, my fists clenching. “He called me that. Once again, how dare you?” He leaned on his hand, a dark smile dancing across his face. Sammy pulled me into his arms, an angry glare directed at him.

“It is simple my dear.” He answered calmly, ignoring Sammy’s glowering. “You are a blue jay, and always were. Your ex-husband was once one of us. He may have defected but did recall that your personality and yourself in general return beauty the equivalent of spring. He may have been a serpent in the lion’s den, but he did serve us for the longest time. We did make him change his name from Raoul to Ben. Unfortunately, he has nothing to do with this scheme. He was just a solo psycho.” A lump formed in my throat, my mind realizing that they had always been watching me.

“How long?” I growled under my breath, leaping to my feet. “I said how long!” They both chuckled to themselves, Agent X turned towards me. She stuck out her tongue, giving me a wink. Fury boiled in my veins, my vein in my forehead throbbing.

“Your whole life.” She retorted coldly, pushing me back down as the driver rolled his eyes. “Your parents weren’t even your real parents, we kidnapped you as a wee child. They were simply stand-ins to watch you. Your whole life has been decided for you. Simply put, your genius was not to be wasted. Now rest.” A needle sank into my neck, the world spinning around me. Sweet darkness embraced in her warm arms, sleep whispering in my ear.

Bright lights blinded me, plain white walls surrounded me. Sammy snored away next to me, a sterile smell hitting my nostril. Rough wool scratched at my skin, the blanket laying heavily on me. My eyes scanned for a way out when Agent X sauntered in holding a pair of black business suits. Glowering in her direction, she simply smiled warmly at me.

“I am sorry for you to find out about everything this way, but you were bound to end up here.” She apologized, setting down the suits. “We have a meeting soon, so you must get ready. Wake Sammy up, I promise we are a good organization. We may do things illegally, but the ends justify the means. Life will get better from now on.” Sammy stirred next to me, exhaustion heavy on his eyes as he sat up.

“Did we make a mistake?” I queried softly, looking out the window. “Are doomed to an even sadder ending?” Sighing, he rested his head on my shoulder. His eyes gazed into mine lovingly, melting away my stress for just a glimmer of a moment.

“No, I don’t think so.” He comforted me, lifting up my chin. “They would have killed us by now, at least I think. Best play along until we can figure everything out.” Nodding to each other, we slipped on our black business suits. Walking down the hall, our black dress shoes stood waiting for an uncertain future.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.