Horror logo

Entranced

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. My sister’s image stared back at me. She was inviting, comforting and terrifying all at once.

By Tammi DPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Entranced
Photo by Ries Bosch on Unsplash

Amy struggled to get the groceries to the front door without dropping them. After placing the bags of food along with her textbooks and laptop on the porch as she dug into my purse to find the keys.

The large door opened, and she struggled into the hall, bags, textbooks and all. Looking to the left she noticed a woman with dark hair in the parlor. Amy was used to seeing people in the house. Aunt Maggie worked from home and clients often came to see her, so it was nothing usual. Amy did not want to appear rude, so she put everything down on the kitchen table and turned to go in the parlor and introduce herself to the guest.

The parlor was empty, there was no sign of the woman Amy had just seen. A cold sensation traveled up her spine.

Huh that’s weird, she thought.

Turning to go back in the kitchen, Amy saw Aunt Maggie making her way down the stairs.

By Ian Harber on Unsplash

“Oh, Amy I am glad your home, can you help me with a mirror I just bought.”

“Sure, where is it?”

Aunt Maggie waved Amy across the room to an old mirror.

It had an oak frame with a pattern engraved all the way around that looked as if it were surrounded by flowers. Several marks in the wood could be seen in its frame. The mirror itself had a dull appearance, several scratches and scrapes were visible all over the surface.

“It’s beautiful isn’t it” said Aunt Maggie.

“Yes, it looks very old.”

“I think it is old, I found it at an auction, the people there didn’t know a lot about it.”

“Mysterious”. I smiled at my aunt.

She laughed, “Yes I suppose it is. Would you help me move it to the studio so I can start working on it”.

“Of course,”. Amy said

Carefully step by step we moved the large mirror across the hall to her workshop.

Turning back to the door the women was standing in the parlor.

Shakin, Amy turned to her aunt,” Aunt Maggie, who is that woman?”

Maggie furrowed her eyebrows slightly,” I’m sorry dear what woman?’

“Didn’t you invite her in she’s in the parlor.” Turning back to the hall the woman had again disappeared.

Amy stood with her hands pressed to her face for a moment

“Maybe I have been studying too hard.” said Amy.

Maggie placed a hand on Amy’s shoulder.

“You have been working so hard in school. I know you are aware what tomorrow is.”

“I will never forget, 15 years ago tomorrow I came to live with you after mom died.”

“Oh sweetie.” Maggie put her arms around Amy and gave her a bear hug.

“You know why we don’t go to a movie or something, then get dinner out somewhere?” Maggie asked her niece.

“Wow, you never want to eat out, I’m definitely in.”

“Great, let’s put those groceries away then well go”.

That night Amy dreamed about the woman. She was in a beautiful green valley. The woman stood by a stream, wearing a rose-colored dress. She lifted her arms toward Amy. She didn’t know who the woman she was. She was so familiar. Amy felt she must know her.

Amy, come to me, the woman said. Come to me and you shall be free.

She rose from the bed in a trance. She slowly walked out of her room and downstairs.

Opening the door to her aunt’s studio, a light flashed before her, and she was in the valley again. Amy felt a glowing force rap around her, holding her captive. She was trapped. The mirror held her gaze, entranced, she stared deep into the womans eyes unable to break away.

Maggie padded her way downstairs and found her studio door open.

Looking into the room she was shocked to find Amy laying on the floor unresponsive, staring straight ahead. Maggie felt her heart pounding in her chest as she came to the realization that something had happened, she did not understand.

Rising to her feet she noticed the mirror. Its oak frame shined as if it had been freshly polished. The mirror had been repaired. It looked brand new. Maggie felt as if her breath had been stolen from her lungs. She stood confused and terrified.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Tammi D

Hello Everyone!

I love a good story and want to be a storyteller.I hope you will enjoy my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Hey, good job! 👍😊 Here’s mine https://vocal.media/poets/miriam-the-butterfly

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.