Horror logo

Don't Go Into The Woods At Night

YOU MIGHT GET LOST

By Brie MunnPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Don't Go Into The Woods At Night
Photo by Megan Leong on Unsplash

The cabin in the woods has been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window. The surrounding woods are silent on this particular night. I am unable to even hear the crunching of the leaves as I walk towards the flickering candlelight. It is like the world has been silenced just for this moment. And as I get closer, I begin to make out a gangly figure that is slightly illuminated by the candlelight. Its face pressed against the window as if it were taunting me. I am unsure if what I am seeing is human, its body so distorted and tangled. Whatever it may be, it feels sinister. I can feel its eyes glued to me and I get the sense that it is hoping I come closer; so it can pounce on me, before pulling me into the dark depths of the woods and consuming me. I turn to run in the other direction towards the family cabin, but I’m stuck. My legs are completely frozen. That’s when the world unmutes. I can hear leaves crunching and branches snapping as well as the creatures quick and heavy steps. And then silence. That’s when I feel a warm, and putrid breath on my neck and claws wrapping around my paralyzed legs…

By David Tomaseti on Unsplash

As I clutch the sides of the bed, I pray that I will be saved from this monstrous nightmare. But instead, I awaken frustrated that I am once again lying in my sweat-soaked bedding and feeling as though my heart is about to burst. I have been having this recurring nightmare ever since I discovered that cabin earlier this summer. I want to stop spending time there each night in hopes that the nightmare will stop. But… I feel drawn to it, like it needs me, and I need it.

My father bought a cabin five years ago and ever since then my family have spent the better half of our summers here. As soon as I step foot here I feel compelled to wander through the surrounding shady woods and explore its depths. The air here is soft and smells of rain-soaked earth, sun warmed grass and native flowers. The days are bright and feel as though they last a lifetime. While the nights are short and warm, with the sound of cicadas and frogs that emanate from the woods. It makes the unknown seem so inviting to get lost in.

Although I feel myself being pulled into the woods every summer, it also terrifies me. The thought of weaving through unfamiliar territory; potentially miles away from my family or help if I were to get lost, fills me with fear. This feeling however of absolute fear has not stopped me this year. For the last two weeks I have been sneaking out at night to visit the abandoned cabin I happened to stumble across on the first night of exploring. It sits by a lake that gleams under the moonlight and is surrounded by overgrown and wild woods. The cabin is not too far from my family’s property, but I am not sure my father knows it exists.

By Mel on Unsplash

This is the last night I will be able to visit the abandoned cabin in the woods until next time we come to stay. After two weeks it feels as though we have become one. And as the sun sets, I can feel myself being pulled towards the already dark woods, it is becoming increasingly difficult to focus on the night with my family.

It's the last campfire of the summer, and we're all gathered around, telling spooky campfire stories. The campfire smell is inviting whilst it illuminates the campsite, making the woods seem darker and yet somehow more enticing. I wish I could stay in this place forever.

The time has come for one last visit. As I depart for my secret cabin, I bid my parents goodnight. And as I walk away, I look at them one last time. I can't help but notice their heightened movements and their exuberant voices as they continue telling their stories. Their laughter fills the open space, reverberating slightly through the trees. And their shadows created by the fire float along the tree line. This makes the woods seem even safer, giving me the feeling that my parents are watching over me and guiding me. I ensure no one is watching before I turn my direction towards the woods to say goodbye to the cabin, that I have grown so fond of.

By Murat Onder on Unsplash

As I approach the cabin, which has been abandoned for years, I can see a candle burning in the window. Similarly, to my nightmare, the woods are silent; not even my footsteps can be heard. And as I get closer, I can see it. The creature in the window, ever so slightly lit by candlelight, its face pressed up against the glass. Eyes glued to my every movement. It feels even more sinister than my nightmare. I turn around to try to run, as I hear the door from the cabin creak open, but I cannot move, I am stuck. From my nightmare I know what is about to happen next, but this time I will see the ending. The creature’s breath is even more putrid than imagined. Its claws gripped themselves around my legs, and as I hit the ground face first, I notice the earth smells different in this moment. There is no smell or taste of rain, native flowers, or plants, but rather a mucid odor fills the air, and a metallic taste fills the ground. My attempts to scream are in vain, nothing comes out.

A dark force has taken hold of me and dragged me into the woods, into the depths of darkness. I am lost...

And now as my body absorbs into the earth, I am left wandering and waiting for the next girl to take.

By Eyasu Etsub on Unsplash

urban legend
Like

About the Creator

Brie Munn

Writing stories for a hobby, and loving the creative side.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.