Horror logo

Echoes of Darkness

The Haunted Mirror

By Brie MunnPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like
Echoes of Darkness
Photo by Marten Newhall on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. It was a woman, with long dark hair and piercing green eyes. I stared at her, transfixed. As I watched, she smiled, and then her face twisted into a look of horror. She raised her hand and pressed it against the glass.

I gasped and stumbled backward, knocking over a vase on the table behind me. I looked back at the mirror, but the woman was gone. My heart was pounding in my chest, and my palms were slick with sweat. I had always known the antique mirror in my living room was old and had a certain charm, but I had never thought it was haunted.

The next day, I decided to take a closer look at the mirror. I examined it carefully, but there were no visible signs of anything unusual. I decided to try looking at it again, but this time, I was determined to keep my distance. I stood a few feet away and looked into the mirror, trying to keep my mind blank. But as soon as I saw my reflection, my mind went back to the woman I had seen the night before. My heart raced as I watched, waiting for her to appear again.

But this time, something was different. The image in the mirror seemed to flicker, and then it was replaced by a different scene. I saw a city, a vast metropolis with towering skyscrapers and neon lights. But something was wrong. The buildings were crumbling, and there was smoke rising from them. The streets were empty, and there was a sense of desolation that made my skin crawl.

Suddenly, I felt a chill run down my spine, and I turned away from the mirror. But as I did, I caught a glimpse of movement in the corner of my eye. I turned back to the mirror and saw the woman again, standing in the ruined city, her face contorted in terror.

I stumbled backward, tripping over a chair and crashing to the ground. I lay there, panting, as the world around me seemed to blur and twist. I closed my eyes and prayed that it was all just my imagination.

When I opened my eyes again, everything seemed normal. The mirror was just a mirror, and my living room was just my living room. But I couldn't shake the feeling that something was wrong.

Over the next few days, I found myself drawn to the mirror more and more. I would stand in front of it for hours, watching as the scenes in the other world unfolded. I saw battles between armies of monsters and heroes, sorcerers casting spells that twisted reality, and dark creatures lurking in the shadows.

And then, one day, the mirror changed again. The city was there, but this time, it was teeming with life. People bustled through the streets, and there was laughter and music in the air. But as I watched, something changed. The sky darkened, and the air grew thick with the scent of sulfur. And then, I saw them.

Demons.

They poured through a portal in the sky, black wings beating as they descended on the city. The people fled, but the demons pursued them relentlessly. They tore through the streets, slaughtering anyone in their path.

I watched, helpless, as the demons poured into my world. They seemed to come from the mirror itself, emerging from the glass like shadows given form. I tried to run, but it was too late. The demons were everywhere, their claws ripping into flesh, their teeth tearing at throats.

As I lay dying, I saw the woman from the mirror again. She was standing over me, a look of sorrow on her face. "I'm sorry," she said. "I didn't mean for this to happen."

As I lay dying on the ground, I felt a cold hand on my forehead. The woman's hand. "Who are you?" I asked weakly.

"I'm Lirien," she said. "I'm from the other side of the mirror. I never meant to bring this darkness into your world."

"What happened?" I asked, struggling to stay conscious.

"The mirror is a portal between our worlds," Lirien explained. "I was trying to find a way to close it, but I couldn't do it alone. The darkness from my world started seeping into yours, and I couldn't stop it."

"Is there anything we can do?" I asked.

"There is one way," Lirien said. "We have to close the portal from both sides. It won't be easy, but it's our only hope."

Lirien helped me to my feet, and we began our journey to the other side of the mirror. We traveled through dark forests and treacherous mountains, evading demons and other dark creatures that had come through the portal. Lirien used her magic to protect us, but we still had to fight our way through hordes of monsters.

Finally, we reached the other side of the mirror. The city was in ruins, but there was still a glimmer of hope. We found the portal, a gaping hole in the sky that seemed to pulse with dark energy. Lirien began to chant, calling on the magic of her world to close the portal.

But as she chanted, I saw something moving in the shadows. It was a demon, one of the strongest I had ever seen. It was headed straight for us, and I knew we didn't stand a chance.

"Lirien, look out!" I shouted.

But it was too late. The demon struck, and Lirien was thrown backward. She hit the ground hard, and I could see that she was badly injured.

The demon laughed, its voice like nails on a chalkboard. "You can't stop me," it said. "The portal will stay open, and my kind will rule both worlds."

I drew my sword and charged at the demon, fueled by rage and desperation. I fought with everything I had, knowing that if I failed, the darkness would consume everything.

But then, something miraculous happened. As I fought, I felt a surge of power. It was as if the magic of Lirien's world was flowing through me, giving me strength I had never felt before. I fought with renewed vigor, striking the demon again and again.

Finally, with a final blow, I struck the demon down. It let out a terrible scream, and then it was gone.

Lirien was still lying on the ground, but she was conscious now. "You did it," she said weakly.

"We did it," I said. "Together."

And then, the portal began to close. I could see the darkness receding, and the sky grew brighter. We had done it. We had saved both worlds.

As we made our way back to my world, Lirien looked at me with gratitude. "Thank you," she said. "I couldn't have done it without you."

"You didn't have to do it alone," I said. "We're stronger together."

And with that, we emerged from the mirror. The darkness was gone, and both our worlds were safe once again. But I knew that I would never forget the horrors that had come through the mirror. And I knew that I would always be grateful for the friendship I had found on the other side.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Brie Munn

Writing stories for a hobby, and loving the creative side.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.