Horror logo

Closed in and Shut in

Silence is the loudest noise

By Jamie-Lee TurnerPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

As I opened up my eyes, they struggled to focus. I groaned when I tried to sit up and touched the pain my head. I could feel the lump and looked at my hand. I saw the blur of blood and felt the warmth of it on my fingers. As I continued to investigate the liquid coming out of my body, I started to realise that my legs felt cold. I focused down at my feet and saw them shackled to a stone covered floor. I pulled my right ankle, thinking this must be some sort of sick joke from my friends, payback from the prank I pulled, but it didn't budge. I began twisting my foot to a point where I felt like I was ripping it off the bone and started screaming when I couldn't get the release. I pulled again, this time too hard and I groaned in agony, collapsing back on the chilled floor. I could feel my heart racing and my fear starting to kick in. What the hell happened?

At the same point where I realised I had to figure out where I was, I heard light footsteps coming from afar. I looked to the sound and frantically began trying to escape as they were getting louder and heavier, taunting me with every step. I started crying, and my breath was struggling to catch up when the footsteps stopped. My breath held, and I turned around, shaking. The man that stood in front of me was large and dirty and naked. His hairy stomach leaned over, covering the groin and he was dripping with sweat. He was staring at me with such fascination and when I screamed at him begging for him to let me go, he cocked his head to one side, like he was interested in my speech and my cries. I didn't realise how hard I was crying until I tasted the salty tears that ran down my cheek and onto my lips. I eventually realised that he wasn't going to answer me so I kept pulling at my chains.

He moved so quickly that I thought I was imaging it. Surely a guy of that size would struggle to walk but he moved with ease and certainty. He was leant over, close to my face. I could smell the sheer stench coming off his body and his odour was surrounding me. He came in closer, almost touching his nose to mine and slowly smiled. The little teeth he still had were yellow and rotten, and I could see the deterioration of his mouth. I closed my eyes, not being able to stand the sight of him so close, and to try and catch a breath that wasn't another humans exhaled oxygen. I felt his rough beard on my face and his chapped lips on mine. I instinctively pulled away and broke off in disgust, which I quickly realised was a mistake when he pulled my legs, forcing me to lay on the ground and leaned against me, pinning my body down. His weight was so heavy that I couldn't protest physically or verbally. My lungs were squished and I was speedily running out of air. He moved down my body and began to rip of my pants but was having trouble because I was wearing tight jeans. This gave me an opportunity to take a breath and knee him hard in the groin. He toppled over and slapped me across the face. As my head turned, I saw the keys that slipped out of his pocket and lay on the ground. He was so busy with punishing me that he didn't notice when I reached out for the metal ring. I felt the grasp of it around my fingers and put my fist under the arch of my back, waiting for it to be over.

As he walked back out the way he came in, I moved the keys towards the shackles around my ankles and attempted to slip the key into the groove. The first one didn't work, so I tried the next one. By the time, I got the third one, I was starting to worry, scared that I wouldn't be able to get free. I heard an angry groan and heavy pounding coming towards me, just as I fit the fourth key into the slot and removed the chain.

He came in and saw the empty floor with loose irons laying without a purpose. A fear set in and he began roaming around trying to find the girl that he was planning to have as his own.

I watched him leave the room with a frustration and slipped out of the dark corner of the room. I passed the doorway and turned to the left. As urgently as I was running, I was attempting to keep as quiet as I can, watching the steps that I was taking. There were no windows, and no way to tell where I was going. Every now and again, I could hear the man screaming in exasperation, but that was less frightening then when I couldn't hear anything, letting my fears take over my thoughts and wondering how close he was to me. At an intersection, I saw a room that looked like a kitchen, so I headed to the yellow painted room. As I stepped over the threshold, I saw blood running down the counters from the sink. I didn't want to look, so I just opened the door past the table but there was nothing there. It was boarded up, covered in split wood and bent nails. I tried smashing at it with my foot, but it was more sturdy than it appeared. I knew I was making too much noise, so I had to figure something else out. I frantically searched the cupboards and found something that looked like a mallet or a hammer and hit the boards as hard as I could, knowing that this will alarm the man and tell him exactly where I was. My adrenaline seemed to assist me and the wood split enough for me to slip through a small part of the door. I ran towards the end of the brightly lit hallway to what looked like a front entrance of a house. I was going to get out, I was nearly there. My heart was beating fast and I could smell the fresh air that was coming towards me as I sprinted towards the door.

A smile came across my face, just as the man stepped in front of the exit and at my only chance of escape.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Jamie-Lee Turner

Letting my imagination run wild and sharing it with you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.