Horror logo

Brocken Mirror

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own.

By Lomash kumar dhruvPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Brocken Mirror
Photo by Fares Hamouche on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. At first, I thought it was just a trick of the light or a smudge on the glass, but as I leaned in closer, I could see that it was something else entirely.

The image staring back at me was familiar, yet not quite right. It was like looking at a parallel universe version of myself, with just enough subtle differences to make it unsettling. The eyes were darker, the hair longer, and the expression colder.

I tried to shake off the feeling of unease and turned away from the mirror, but as I did, I caught a glimpse of movement in the reflection. I turned back, but the image was still the same. Nothing had changed, or so it seemed.

As the days went by, I found myself drawn back to the mirror. The image was always the same, but I couldn't help but feel like there was something more to it, something hidden just beneath the surface. And then, one night, I saw it.

It started as a flicker of movement in the corner of my eye. I turned to face the mirror, but the reflection was still and unchanged. And then, slowly but surely, the other image began to bleed through.

At first, it was just small things. The background behind the other me began to shift and change, morphing into a dark, foreboding landscape that I couldn't quite make out. The air around me grew colder, and I could feel a sense of dread building in the pit of my stomach.

I tried to look away, to break the connection between myself and the mirror, but it was like it had a hold on me. The other image grew stronger and more vivid, until it was like looking through a window into another world.

That's when I saw them. Figures moving in the darkness, their shapes indistinct and blurred. They were coming closer, and as they did, I could feel their malevolence, their hunger for something that I couldn't begin to understand.

I knew then that I had to get rid of the mirror, to break the connection between our worlds before it was too late. But every time I tried to move away, the other image grew stronger, and I could feel its power pulling me back.

It wasn't until the creatures began to cross over that I knew I was truly in danger. They were like nothing I had ever seen before, their forms twisted and distorted, their eyes glowing with a terrible hunger. I could feel their breath on my skin, their claws tearing at my flesh.

And then, just when I thought it was all over, I saw a glimmer of hope. A light in the darkness, shining like a beacon. I turned towards it, and as I did, the mirror shattered, sending glass flying in all directions.

When the shards finally stopped falling, I was alone in the room, the other world banished back to wherever it had come from. But I could still feel their presence, still feel the cold fingers of fear creeping up my spine.

I knew then that I could never let my guard down, that the horrors of the other world were always lurking just beneath the surface, waiting to break through. And so, I left the broken mirror where it lay, a stark reminder of the dangers that lurked in the darkness.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.