Horror logo

Boyfriend Missing Ex is a Zombie?

A Horror Short story

By Jdsamuels25Published about a year ago 9 min read
Like

Crystal Crest realm the human realm.

I sat in my apartment with my boyfriend by my side, and the memories of my abusive ex still haunt me. All those names he called me, and those women he slept with after we broke up turning him cruel enough to hit me. I got out of there, and moved on. Michael who is my current boyfriend helped me heal from it, and I was flipping through a paper when the headline front page stops me cold.

Jerry Sanderson found dead in apartment suspect is Charlotte Rain who had been dating Jerry for a few years. The two fought when it turns out Jerry was cheating on his girlfriend with another woman.

“I will be over him, Michael because look at the news article.” Michaels green eyes widened when I showed him the article.

“Okay can you stop obsessing over him now? He was a jerk now let it go.”

“I did though, and now I can really move on.”

Michael shook his head, “Well, I know what he did to you, and now you can rest easy.”

I sigh, “Yes, I can now that he is dead.”

He gave me a wicked smile, “And now I am going to do something to make sure he is well and truly dead.”

He has been my boyfriend for a few years, and a powerful necromancer. We had a fight over my ex since the abuse Jerky Jerry put me through still lingered in my mind. Now he can do something about my ex even though Jerry is dead.

A wet tear fell down my face, and I wiped it off. Michael never came home after the talk. I thought he went to his Mom’s house to cool off, and think about where we will go from here. I called her to talk to Michael, and apologize to him about my behavior in thinking about my ex.

I picked up a phone at my apartment, and dial the number to his mom’s house. It rang and rang until, “Hello?”

“Hi, is Michael there?” I asked unsure of her mind at this point.

“Who are you? And why are you calling my house?”

“It’s Michelle, Michael’s girlfriend.”

“Oh how are you doing, dear?”

“Do you know where Michael is?”

What she said made me nervous, “Oh strange I think he is somewhere else. What are we talking about again?”

“Strange how?”

“He did not walk in the house, but he was here in the yard with a dirty shovel in his hands.”

“And then what else happened?” I ask hoping she would stop being spaced out enough to tell me what is going on.

“He went somewhere carrying a heavy black plastic bag. I could tell he was struggling with it, but when I asked if he needed help he told me to leave him alone. What are we talking about again?”

“We are talking about your son Michael. What happened next?”

“He left after that, and went somewhere, but did not tell me where. He did not even tell me why he is upset which is even stranger because we always talk. I’m feeling really worried about him is he okay? Would you be a dear, and find him for me? Oh well, better get back to housework.”

I thanked her, and told a few little white lies, and hung up. She seemed out of it probably hopped up on pain medication thanks to her back bugging her all the time. It was probably nothing — she probably just saw him taking out the trash, or something equally noxious, and it hadn’t registered that he already did that. Sometimes she got stuck in her own world, and couldn’t really tell what was happening around her. It was nothing major, right? But… what was he doing with a shovel? I knew he wouldn’t be gardening — he didn’t have a garden. Besides, he lived in an apartment. Odd indeed and it had me freaking out as well.

I thought of all the places where he might have gone. I want to find the answer to this little mystery. I visited all his usual haunts, and I still could not find him, which was weird. Since he never disappeared like this ever, and he at least left a note as to where he will be when he does leave. This case of the missing boyfriend was getting even stranger.

I got the key to his apartment from under the welcome mat; A place he keeps the key just for me. I want to search there thinking he could be inside. I thought he would be anywhere but here considering he hates to be cooped up in the apartment for too long. I checked his art studio, and made sure he was not there to surprise me. A part of me thought he would set up a place, and make me a nice romantic dinner as an apology. That is, so sappy it makes me want to puke; enough of that. I looked around to see if he left anything, and to find clues as to what happened to him. I checked the living room. Nothing. The kitchen yielded no results either.

His bedroom was an entirely different matter altogether. I found a few candles in his drawer, and a Book Of Shadows. A Book of Shadows? That’s a spellbook for witches. What the hell is he doing with one of those? Really I told him to not do it, and does he listen? No. I knew he was into it, but now I have proof he is.

I even found a key that led to his basement. A part of me screamed, “Don’t do it unarmed you stupid bitch. Do you want to end up dead like all the girls that walk into creepy basements unarmed?”

I laugh, realizing how stupid it is to go into a dark, ominous, and in the spooky basement without a gun or a knife. All the dumb heroines do it in the movies, and then they get killed. I thought that for a moment, and then decided to save myself from the same fate by grabbing Michael’s gun out of his safe. A .45 caliber handgun made by Zack’s Armory. I learned how to fire it thanks to Michael. He taught me how to load, aim for the target, pull back the hammer, and then fire it. He even taught me how to clean it. I got to go with him to the range every Saturday. Of course, if he dies I will not be doing that anymore. I try not to think about that line of thought. I shook my head not really wanting to assume the worst. There must be a logical explanation for what happened to him, and maybe things were not as bad as they seem.

I finally got the courage to open the dreaded basement door, and the basement was huge like an underground Cold War bunker. I turned on the lights to brighten the already dark room. The gun was already loaded with a round in the chamber. The slide was pulled back, and I aim at the room. I feel kick ass and ready to fire holes in the asshole that hurt my boyfriend… or the boyfriend. You know. Whatever. I search the room for more clues, burned down candles found, and a pentacle etched into the dusty floor. Herbs still going, and smoldering in a brazier? Interesting, he must be doing a ritual of some kind, but there was no sign of him.

I spot another book on the floor the title, “The Idiots Guide to Exorcisms.” Huh? Damn. I had a feeling I know where this is going.

I heard something make a scratching noise. My heart started to pound. I froze up scared out of my mind. I started to panic then I snapped myself out of it because of the Desert eagle in my hand. I pointed the gun in places trying to shoot whatever made that sound. I tried to tell myself it was only a rat — Michael hadn’t really been that stupid.

A zombie coming towards me it looked like my ex Jerry Sanderson, and it was him. The blonde hair he has is no longer smooth and long, but in patches on his head with his skull showing through. He did not have his alert blue eyes full of laughter; instead they are just black holes in his head. His flesh was coming off his bones, and hanging in places with his intestines hanging out of his stomach. Yuck! I know a zombie when I see one since he even smells like rotting flesh. I flashed back to a scene that made me remember why they eat living people. I started to panic because I don’t want to get eaten right now.

I aimed and shot at Jerry the Zombie in the heart, and it fell down thankfully. I got close to it to see if it was truly dead. It moved and I aimed for the head, and shoot it until the zombie stopped trying to get up which took 3 shots . The bangs were so loud my ears rang from the noise reverberating up and down my skull. I began shaking, and I looked at the thing realizing it looked like my ex-boyfriend.

I looked over, and who is that I spot? Michael. I found him finally, or he found me. Michael looked like a mess: dirty clothes, dirt in his dirty blonde hair, and a cut on his lip. He looked around noticed the zombie smiled, and said to me, “Hey, Michelle. Good thing I taught you how to fire a gun.” He is not dead, but alive and only injured a little.

“Hey, dumbass,” I reply sarcastically, “don’t ever try to mess with dead things again. I have no idea how you managed to make a zombie when it was an exorcism book. If you try this kind of idiocy again, I will not bail you out. The next time I will not only let it eat you, always assuming that I don’t shoot you myself.”

I glare at him trying to get him to realize how dangerous this stuff was. I doubt mind control would get through his thick skull anyway.

“You’re right. I shouldn’t have tried to combine voodoo and exorcism together. You did do a good job with the shooting.”

He hugged me, and I found myself stupid enough to melt in his arms. “I am still mad at you since you could’ve been killed. NEVER do this again, and it could have killed you.”

I smiled, “Lesson learned not to mess with the dead anymore? And to buy me dinner, and roses instead for an apology?”

He nodded, “And by the way, it was your abusive ex I rose from the dead. I thought that was a better way to say sorry then making you dinner, but I will do dinner and roses instead. I am a good necromancer boyfriend.”

I looked at him and smiled. “I do appreciate the gesture since me shooting him did release all the rage I felt toward him for putting me through all those horrible things.”

He gave me closure from the past, and a brighter future to look forward to. Most of all he healed me, and that is something I am very grateful for.

I looked at him, “I love you, and I am sorry for bringing up my evil ex too much. And fighting our relationship by pushing you away.”

He got down on one knee, “Michelle, will you marry me?”

I said the only answer that came to mind. “Yes, I will.”

He kissed me and then I realized we will both have a happy life together.

The End

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jdsamuels25

I love reading, writing, ramen, and playing games!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.