Horror logo

Black Kids Don't Camp

By Troy D. Riyan

By T.D. RiyanPublished 2 years ago 18 min read
1
Artwork by Troy D. Riyan

“The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window. This is said to be a tool used to ward off evil in the old days, as a single candle burning in a window is a symbol of surrender. Authorities said that Sodderwall went on to kill all those who stayed in an unlit cabin according to this superstition, and THAT son... is why black kids don’t camp!” My mom said to me as she read an old article she found about Camp Ta’Xet-Tia. I kept hearing it replay in my head. Thing is, she’s so old school. “Black kids make a tent out of the beds in their room or set up a tent in the backyard.” She says as she prepares dinner. “Yeah, but mom, both times we did that… we had to come in at 10pm.” “Uh, yeah, why would we sleep outside?” she asks. “THAT’S THE POINT OF CAMPING!?” I rebutted, loudly. “Who are you yelling at?” “No one mom. I’m sorry. I just… I really want to go, and you have to sign the permission slip. Dad won’t do it.” “What so important about this trip? It’s called Camp Toxic Tea?, right?” “The entire freshman class is going, and I’d be the only one NOT going. And it’s called Camp Ta’Xet-Tia.” She makes a weird face. “It’s native American. So… what do you say? Will you sign?” “When it is?” “This Friday, it’s for the weekend.” “A whole weekend? You should’ve led with that. I’ll sign it right away!” she says jokingly. “Yeah, yeah.” “DEMARCO!” my name is yelled loudly. Must’ve been memory daydreaming again. I swear if I’m not re-living a memory in my head, I’m living a fantasy. I look around the bus, and it’s our gym coach, Coach Kerr. “Did you hear me? You’re in the cabin #13.” He says, holding his clipboard. “Got it.” I hate when my name is said out load. I mean, I don’t care about race, but you can just TELL mine by my name. I’m the only black kid here. I mean, Hector is Puerto Rican, but this is Arizona, that’s to be expected, I guess. He’s far from the only one. My dad got a good job out here back in the winter and we moved here. Coming from Detroit, this is very different. “Yo’, we’re in the same cabin bro.” says Hector. “Cool, I brought my Switch so we can play Smash later if you’re down.” I responded. Hector unzips his bag slightly to reveal his switch. “Always down.”

“Oh look, the babies brought their video games.” Says Donovan. Donovan had a big body. One of those, corn-fed kind of guys. Makes sense he was on the football team, apparently freshman don’t make it as far as he has. “Yeah, and the big morons lost their mascot.” Says Hector. “What was that Taco Bell?” Hector jumps up, getting in his face and balling up his fist. Hector was about 130lbs, soaking wet. 5’6”, and yet he was always ready to fight. “Say it again Dumbbell.” Coach Kerr interrupts them. “HEY! Waller, Dominguez… FIND A SEAT BEFORE I FIND ONE FOR YOU!” Donovan begins to walk away, “This ain’t over.” Hector sits back down, annoyed. “I hate that guy.” “Just don’t respond to him.” “that’s easy for you to say… he didn’t just call you like KFC or something.” “Yeah, not today.” He acts as if our entire grade doesn’t hate him. He picks on everyone. Whatever. This is my 1st time camping and I kind of like nature. I’m excited to have a good time. An arched and bannered sign says “Camp Ta’Xet-Tia” as we pass under it. As we do, my excitement suddenly turns to chills. Fear. Whatever, I’m not going to let it get to me. This is going to be great. Plus, he’s in my cabin too. Hopefully, HE bunks with me. Aaron Thomas.

“Welcome to Camp Ta’Xet-Tia. My name is Katie, short for Katherine.” Says a camp counselor. “Where you’ll learn more about Native American lore, you’ll get to know each other and yourselves more, and most importantly… where we’ll have FUN!” She begins to hand out keys and a small bag. You each have a key for your cabin. If you look in your camp bag you’ll find a flashlight, an extra pair of batteries for said flashlight, rope, mini-first aid kit, lanyard, two fishing hooks, a map, a candle and several other small but useful items. Now, go and find your campground unpack, and we’ll meet back in the Mess Hall in one hour. Feel free to explore a bit as well. Let the mysteries of the Native Americans intrigue you.” She says. “Come on Marco, looks like our cabin is the farthest away.” Says Hector looking at the map. “Cool.” One of the other counselors walks up to Katie and they talk for a moment. “Ugh, I’m so over this shit already.” He says. “You?! Kill me now, tell me you brought beer.” She asks. “You knoooow it.” “Yes.” They get excited then they notice me looking. Sam makes an annoyed face. “Yo!” yells Hector, he’s far ahead of me now. “My bad, coming!” I’ve got to stop staring at people.

Finally, Cabin #13. Literally took 30 minutes. It’ll take 30 minutes to get back to the Mess Hall. Hector unlocks the door. As we walk in, I look around. A few randoms from our year that I don’t know… I look around again and there he is… Aaron Thomas. My heart melts. I knew this would be my lucky cabin. Oh my God, there’s an empty bed next to him. I have to take it. It’s fate. This is my weekend! Walk normal, don’t look goofy. Just walk over to him, say hi and put your stuff aw-“Watch where you’re going!” I hear a voice say, bumping me and knocking all my stuff down. Oh no… anyone but him. It was Donovan. “Wh-what are you doing in here?” “It’s my cabin too.” He smiles, maliciously walking over my stuff. As I gather everything, I notice a hand pick up my notebook. I look up slow. I think it’s… heart melting… Aaron. “Egyptian God of death, eh?” he says reading the open book. “Oh, um, that’s my mythology notebook. I want to make a video game based on like… gods and deities and stuff, so I take a lot of notes on different ones. I know it’s a little n-“ “cool. I’d love to play it one day when it’s finished. That’s a cool idea. I’ve never seen anyone do this before.” He says. Just marry me now. “Oh, yeah… I’m like… quirky like that.” I chuckle. “Thanks.” “No problem, Waller’s a dick, but he’s all bark. Don’t let him get you.” He gets up and goes back to his bad. I just need a sign that’s he’s… you know… and I’ll take my shot. I can’t risk embarrassing myself right now. It’s too much.

“You’ve never had smores!” says Hector. “No Hector, I’m from Detroit. I’ve never done most of the things I’ll be doing this weekend.” “That’s crazy, here I got you, I’ll make it.” While he makes my smore, I notice Aaron in the distance. My eyes get dreamy. I feel myself slipping away to a daydream. This time… a fantasy. “Demarco, I wanted to come over here and tell you that I think you’re so funny, and smart, creative… I don’t know what my life was like before I met you. Before then, I honestly didn’t even think I was ga-“ “YO’ HERE!” “Huh!? OH.” Hector yells, handing me my smore. “Where’d you go this time?” I’ve debated telling Hector, he’s my bestfriend, but what if he looks at me differently after. I’d rather not risk it right now. I usually just tell him I’m daydreaming about my future. I do sometimes, but not the future he knows. “I saw myself signing that Marvel contract again. I WILL be in the MCU!” we laugh. “Yeah, not unless you get a seeing eye dog, Hellen Keller.” Says Donovan walking past. “He really sucks.” “Gather around everyone, time for a campfire ghost story.” Says Sam. “LAMEEEE” yells Donovan. “HEY!” yells the coach. “No, I got it Coach. Waller, I know your big brother and sister, I can either tell them you were cool at camp, or I can tell them you were hard to handle… which one would you prefer?” she says. He looks confused. Then scared. And he sits, quietly. “I thought so.” Says Sam. “Now, does everyone have their smores and hot cocoa? … Good. This is the story of Camp Ta’Xet-Tia back in 1986. The camps been closed since then… if you didn’t know. This is the 1st year!” The coach leans over and whispers, “really?” She looks back. “Yes, really! See, that year one of the campground cooks happened to be highly into the occult. She was dying of a sickness that was painfully killing her slowly. They say he daily life was miserable. After some studying, she thought that she could pray to the Native American goddess Tia whose sigil is said to be carved somewhere on the campground, confirming this land to be her official home. The goddess of peaceful death, she’s believed to have the power to cause slowed and peaceful transition. She had hoped to have her prayers answered and be able to live her remaining time on Earth peacefully. Well… thing about praying is you never know who’s listening. Apparently, while performing a prayer ritual late at night in Cabin #5, her opposite was invoked instead. Ta’Xet. The God of violent death. After hearing her plea, he instead possessed one of the camp goers in Cabin #5. 17yr old Stephen Sodderwall. Legend has it, he caused him to go on a killing spree. He started with the camp cook, Mrs. Todachine, but she survived, hiding away. He made his way through the camp, hacking and slashing through every cabin, except one.” “The cabin with the candle in the window?” asked Emily. “Exactly. Mrs. T hid there. She knew he wouldn’t attack the cabin. From there, she was able to stop him.” Says Josh. “How?” asked Hector “No one knows, but they do know whatever she did… caused the remaining camp goers in the cabin she was in went blind.” Silence. “Why did it take so long for the campground to re-open?” asked Aaron. Everyone is paying attention. Hooked on her every word. “Well, they tried to open it on numerous occasions. But something like that requires a lot of work. Construction would need to stay on the grounds… and over the past 30+ years… a bunch of mysterious deaths and disappearances have happened. I’m not sure, but they say that Stephen’s body is still possessed by Ta’Xet. And he stalks the grounds, simply to kill and appease his hunger to cause violent death.” Silence. “What happened to Mrs. Green?” asked Emily. “She died about 10yrs back, but after that night… she was sent to the insane asylum. The last person to see her was a reporter. He recorded saying only one thing…everyone leans in.” Silence for a moment. She then starts to speak, getting louder each time. “He’s still there, he’s still there, he’s still there, HE’S STILL THERE!” “AHHHHH!” yells Josh as he jumps out from the bushes behind everyone. Him and Sam instantly laugh. Coach Kerr is holding his heart. “Okay, that was a good one.” Says Emily. “Yeah, but obviously it’s fake. Right?” says Coach Kerr. “I mean, I don’t know about the reason they didn’t open the camp up for forever, but Stephen Sodderwall IS a murderer, they never found his body, 5 kids did go blind, AND Mrs. T said the night she went in that she did it.” Says Sam. “Yeah, we just filled in the blanks.” Says Josh. “yeah well, knock it off. You’re scaring the kids.” Says Coach Kerr. “Remember, before you go to bed tonight, light a candle in the window to ward off Sodderwall, the Ta’Xet-Tia killer.” Says Josh. Sam hits him, “okay, chill you’re creeping me out too.”

Several hours later, Emily meets up with Donovan. “Did you light a candle for your cabin?” she asks Donovan jokingly. “Those dweebs in my cabin did, but I blew it out. What do I care if some killer knocks out everyone in my cabin while I’m gone?” He starts to kiss her. “Such a bad booooy.” She embraces and kisses him back. As they kiss, rustling is heard in the distance. Emily jumps immediately. “What’s that?” she asks. “Nothing, don’t worry about it. Don’t be paranoid.” He continues kissing her. She stops again. “I mean, you don’t think that Ta’Xet-Tia killer is real, do you? I mean… the counselors were just messing with us, right?” she asks. “Of course, it’s all just a trick to scare us. It’s what they do at camps.” “I guess you’re right.”

Back in my cabin, I noticed Donovan sneak out and blow out our window candle. Such an asshole man. Whatever, I can’t get that article my mom told me about yesterday out of my head. Google isn’t making my paranoia any better. “What are you looking up?” I hear a voice say. It’s Aaron. Melt. Swoon. Dreamy sigh. “Oh, uh… nothing, that Ta’Xet-Tia killer thing has me a little spooked so I’m looking up some articles about it.” “It’s creeping you out, and yet you’re reading up on it? You’re a very interesting person, DeMarco Henderson.” He says. Back outside, Donovan begins to kiss Emily’s neck. As she opens her eyes, in the distance she sees a figure coming toward them. She can’t make it out. She adjusts her eyes, to notice it’s a hooded figure running toward them with an axe. She screams and pushes Donovan back. “Emily, what the hell is wrong with you?” she is frozen in fear, backing up slowly. The sound of running footsteps can be heard getting closer. She points behind him and as he turns, the killer axes him into the head. His body turns to Emily, falling toward her. She screams. Everyone in Cabin #13 jumps up, shocked. “What was that?” asks Hector. “Sounded like Emily.” Says Aaron. Bruce, one of Donovan’s flunkies starts to speak. “I’m sure that’s just my boy and Emily.” He says in a cocky tone. “That didn’t sound like a good scream Bruce, that sounded deadly.”

Sam and Josh are sneaking into the Mess Hall. “I had no idea you could be so cool, I mean blowing out all the candles in the windows is genius. It goes hand in hand with my plan.” “I’m kind of dope, I know. Are you sure there’s more beer in here?” she asks. “Uhh, yeah I saw Coach Kerr bring a whole stash. As drunk as he is tonight, I’m sure he won’t miss a couple of bottles.” Josh responds. As they get in, the sound of flies can be heard. “What’s that smell?” asks Sam. “Probably still that vomit from that weird kid, I’m sure no one cleaned it up.” “Ugh, you’re probably right.” They continue toward to the kitchen.

“Let’s check it out!” says Aaron. Oh, my naïve crush. Sometimes I forget your race and in moments like this, you remind me. Handsome idiot. “Uhhh, while that sounds like a cool idea Aaron, I think we should maybe just stay here.” “Yeah, Marco’s right.” Says Hector. “I’m Hispanic man, we don’t mess around with screams in the distance that don’t have nothing to do with us.” “What if it was you?” silence. “Damn. Okay, let’s go. Remember, we see anything crazy, we’re running back to this cabin and putting a candle in the window seal.” I really don’t want to do this. But he’s right. I’d want help. Hector and Aaron turn on their flashlights.

As Sam and Josh go through the Mess Hall, Josh’s flashlight goes out. “It really smells in here, I can’t take it.” “Come on, we’re almost there.” Suddenly, Sam’s flashlight shows a blood splatter. “Whoa, is that… blood?” she asks. “Probably someone messing with us.” She pans the flashlight slowly, following the trail of blood. It leads to Coach Kerr’s body, lying dead and covered in blood on the floor in front of the partition leading to the kitchen. They both scream. Suddenly, someone jumps down, the flashlight only shining on their bloody boots. She moves the flashlight up to reveal Sodderwall, the Ta’Xet-Tia killer. They run.

As we’re walking through the camp, I recall the summer when I was obsessed with Native American deities. Blame being on Team Jacob, it was the year I discovered Twilight. Nevertheless, I recalled the story about the two deities Sam spoke about earlier; Ta’Xet and Tia. I read that they were lovers at some point, who were cursed by the God of Chaos, Malsumis to never be allowed to manifest at the same time. Sad. “AHHHHH!” everyone collectively screams. It's Emily and Donovan’s bodies. His on the ground, face down… hers up against the tree with an arrow through her, pinning her to the tree. “It’s like he’s been cut by something.” Hector says. Despite hating him, I would’ve never wished this on him. “What is this? Is this a joke?” asks Bruce, turning to us. “IS THIS A JOKE?!” “I don’t think so,” Aaron responds, pointing toward Sam and Josh running toward them. “RUN!” Josh screams. “What’s happening?” asks Hector. “JUST RUN!” We all turn to run, I see what’s chasing them. It’s the Ta’Xet-Tia killer. He’s huge. “Is that Sodderwall?” asks Bruce. “JUST RUNNN!” yells Josh. As they get to a cabin, the killer throws the axe. It hits Sam in the back. She falls onto the cabin stairs. She screams. “JOOOOSH!” He attempts to reach out to her, but Bruce pulls him in and locks the door. “Where’s a candle?” he asks frantically. “I don’t know!” Hector yells. “I have one.” Aaron responds. “Hurry!” Bruce yells. Outside Sam is screaming. I can’t believe this is happening. Is it real? I feel like I’m in a Friday the 13th movie. “DeMarco, you know about stuff like this right? I mean, your notebook has all that God and Goddess stuff in it.” Aaron says. “It does, but… it’s just little notes and stuff. I don’t-I…” “WE NEED A LIGHTER!” Hector yells. Sodderwall gets to Sam and finishes her off. “DeMarco, you can help!” Aaron says.

God, I can’t believe this. “Look, I just know the story Sam told. If it’s true, then… we need to get to…” everyone looks to me. Frantically. “We need to find the correct sigil and pray to Tia on it.” At least I hope that’s what we need to do. “How do we find the cabin?” asks Bruce. Josh sits on the ground in a fetal position, rocking. Crying. “I left her.” “THE MAP!” Aaron yells. “I think whoever made this campground knew about the legend of Ta’Xet-Tia.” Says Aaron, opening the map. Look at these, each cabin has a name on it. I don’t know how we didn’t notice before. Look at the name on cabin #5.” He points. It’s Ta’Xet. “Now look at our cabin.” “Tia.” “I’m willing to bet Mrs. T got her deities mixed up. She thought Ta’Xet was Tia and that’s why she prayed in the wrong place.” He’s so smart. And right, this reminds me of that weird video game I played a few months ago when I first got my switch about sig- suddenly something crashes through the window and lands on the floor, rolling up to their feet, in front of Josh. It’s Sam’s head. They all scream. “GO GO GOOOO!” Bruce yells. We all run out toward Cabin #13. Josh stays on the floor crying. Heavy footsteps are heard walking toward him. He looks up to find Sodderwall. Back outside, we hear Josh screaming as we run. Suddenly, Bruce falls down. An arrow goes through him. “Oh my God.” Hector yells and starts hyperventilating. “Hect, man we have to go.” “I can’t. We’re all gonna die.” I can’t do this. “Come on!” Aaron yells turning around. “Just breathe. You can make it, let’s go.” He gets up. In the moment, I feel a piercing shock in my leg. An arrow. Has gone through. “ahhhhh!” “DeMarco!!!” Aaron screams. He comes back, him and Hector try to help me walk but Sodderwall is coming fast. He continues to shoot arrows but misses the following two. “Stop Marco, you have to get to the cabin. Pray to Tia, we’ll distract him.” “No, but,” “He’s right!” says Hector. “He’ll kill us all, someone has to make it.” My eyes fill with years. “You’re my best friend…” “I know.” Hector responds. “Now go.” He pushes me. I turn to Aaron. I pause. “What?” I go for it and kiss him. “I don’t want to have never done that.” Aaron is shocked. Stunned. Should I not have done that? He kisses me back. “I wish you would’ve done that sooner.” He says. I can’t believe it. Suddenly an arrow goes into Hectors leg, he screams. “GOOO!” I limp to cabin #13. They fight him.

As they fight him, he pulls the arrow from Hector’s leg and puts it through his arm. I can hear him screaming. I can see the cabin. It’s so close. Sodderwall grabs Aaron’s arm and breaks it. He screams in pain. I get to the cabin steps. Sodderwall turns to grab the arrow once more from Hector’s arm and puts in his chest, killing him. I’m in now. Sodderwall turns and grabs Aaron, pulling his body up by his head slowly. I get on the floor, my leg in pain. “Tia, goddess of peaceful death, I call to you! Come to us in this time of need. We need you here! Come to us Tia, please!” The sun begins to rise. Suddenly Sodderwall drops Aaron. His body begins to fade away. I limp back outside to Aaron’s body. In the distance I see a woman dressed in all green. She smiles and waves he hands. My leg begins to heal. I get to Aaron and hold his head up on my legs. “I feel my body healing. You did it!” he says. “I knew you could.” I look back up and the woman disappeared. I’m sure she was Tia. She healed us. I can’t believe what happened. All I can hear is my mom in my head, repeatedly saying, and maybe next time I’ll listen, “black kids don’t camp.”

slasher
1

About the Creator

T.D. Riyan

I've been writing all my life. From short stories and songs to poetry and full scripts. I've won several different writing contests throughout my life and recently released my first official poetry book on Amazon; The Boy Who Lucid Dreamed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    Damn funny...and true. I had a tent in my backyard, invited a friend over, and someone thought that it would be hilarious to pull it down over us and growl in the dark... My West Indian/Canadian life has never been the same...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.