Horror logo

Beyond Belief

Paranormal Activity

By Latoya Giles Published 2 years ago 4 min read
1

I tell myself (fairly often) that I do not believe in ghosts, right? I feel like if I don't believe, I won't see or hear them around me. That proved to not be the case at all! Spirits will make themselves known if they want to be acknowledged. You are at home alone and something falls on the floor.

"It was just the wind. I did turn the air back on", you rationalize.

"OK", says the spirits.

A door creaks now. This time, you turn the television up. You tell yourself some other comforting lie so you aren't scared, right? Right! Oh I know all too well about that cycle honey.

I come from a superstitious family. If you break a mirror, you will have 7 years of bad luck. My grandmother told me not to put shoes under my bed because if I did, I would hear footsteps. Another family superstition that has been passed down is that you never give your significant other shoes. Why you ask? Well, because if you do, he or she will walk out of your life. I bought my baby dad some boots and we not together anymore, so there may actually be something to that one. My family is chock full home remedies too. You have a headache? Put raw potato peels on the forehead.

It seems like spirits reach out to us (my family members) too. I remember this one time when my oldest daughter was 5 years old at the time. She had her own room. She was sitting on her bed. I walked in and sat down on her bed with her. I don't remember what I was talking about, but I was rambling on about something. I stop talking because it appears that my daughter is looking at me, but in reality, she was looking PAST me. Her closet door was open. She was looking over my shoulder and staring into the closet. I turn around to look in the closet to see what she was staring at. I didn't see anything. I turned back around and asked her what she was looking at.

"An angel!"

She said it so casually. I said ok, and left. I was terrified, so I got the heck outta there! Looking back on it now, my daughter and I joke about how I just left her in the room to fend for herself. I can laugh about it now, but like I said, I was totally freaked out.

I, myself get these things I call "flashes". I also have weird dreams. This one recent dream I had was of an "entity". So my oldest daughter and I had been butting heads really badly. Almost every conversation we had turned into an argument. I go to sleep one night and have this dream. The dream included me and my oldest daughter. The youngest one wasn't there. I walk into the house (in my dream) and find my daughter is there sitting on a couch. I reach out to her but an invisible force is holding me back. No matter how hard I try or how far I reach, I cannot touch her. I look around and see a black, shadow figure in a corner of the ceiling. I jumped up from my sleep gasping for air. The figure was trying to take my breath away. I called up a friend of mine and tell her about my dream. She sent me a bundle of sage overnight. I used it to clean myself and our home of any negative spirits or attachments that may have been passed on to any of us. Energy, both positive and negative, can and is passed from person to person. Sometimes the negative energy will attach itself to you and stay awhile.

From that day forward, I sage my home every week. I also have paolo santo sticks. I am getting more and more in tuned with my spirituality. I know it is working because I get intense headaches in my forehead sometimes. To my understanding, it is my 3rd eye sensing a bad presence or bad energy. I just had one about two days ago at work. It was because this particular person was on the way in the building. It went away when she did. Seems legit, right? I'll keep y'all posted...

psychological
1

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.