Horror logo

3 Actual Horrifying TRUE Horror Stories

Creepy nights

By Blue BerryPublished 12 days ago 4 min read
1
3 Actual Horrifying TRUE Horror Stories
Photo by Cristhian Hernandez on Unsplash

Camping Trip in Colorado:

When my cousin Cody and I were in our early 20s, we took several camping trips around Colorado. One particularly memorable trip happened when I was 22 and he was 23 in Urrao Forest. It was my first time camping there, though Cody had been there before. We often went camping during weekdays to avoid crowds and traffic since our jobs allowed us time off then. I always let Cody lead on these trips since he was the Eagle Scout.

After parking near a picnic area, we hiked into the woods and found a spot to camp after about 15 minutes. We set up our tents and built a fire, using a lighter and fire starter to get it going. As the sun set, Cody cooked steak and burgers, and we enjoyed the food with some beers and classic rock music.

After dinner, we played card games, including Uno, when we heard strange noises in the woods—footsteps and humming. I paused the music to listen, and we agreed it was unsettling for someone to be in the woods that late.

We continued our game, but suddenly a large stick landed in our campsite, thrown by someone outside. Cody yelled at whoever was out there to leave us alone. We heard footsteps walking away, and I suggested we move camp, but Cody wanted to stay. We both kept our bear spray nearby as a precaution.

Throughout the night, we heard cracking branches and other strange sounds, indicating someone was out there. We took turns staying awake to keep watch. While I was asleep, I awoke to see a head peering into my tent. Initially, I thought it was Cody, but as I became more alert, I realized it wasn't. The head quickly disappeared.

I panicked and checked Cody's tent, finding him asleep. I woke him up and told him what happened. We grabbed our bear spray and stayed in Cody's tent for the rest of the night, hearing more humming outside. When morning came, we packed up quickly and left the forest. This experience left a lasting impression on me, and I haven't been interested in camping since.

Beach House in Florida:

My friends and I rented a beach house in Florida for a fun trip. We drove down in a cramped car, and the house was located directly on the beach. The modest house had four bedrooms, so each of us had our own room. The area was quiet, and we didn't see many other people around.

After settling in, we spent time on the beach, swimming and playing football. Later, we went out to eat and bar-hopped in town. When we returned, we played football on the beach while a bit drunk. During the game, I noticed someone standing in the water late at night, which was strange, but we continued playing.

Later, as my friend John and I sat on the deck drinking beers, I noticed someone standing on the beach facing us. It was creepy, and I wondered if it was the same person from earlier. John agreed it was unsettling, so we eventually went inside.

As I tried to sleep, I kept thinking about the person I saw. Suddenly, there were knocks at my bedroom window, making me nervous. I stayed silent until the knocking stopped. I woke the others, and we went outside to investigate but found no one.

The next day, John and I spoke with the neighbors, asking if they had experienced anything similar. One neighbor shared a story of someone knocking on their door late at night. We spent the rest of the day exploring nearby towns and returned home the next day, relieved to leave the eerie situation behind.

Home Alone Encounter:

When I was 9 years old, I was home alone playing video games upstairs. My mom was out running errands, and I heard the house phone ring. The caller ID showed my mom's number, but when I answered, the voice didn't sound like her. The person claimed to be my mom and asked me to come outside to help with groceries.

I was suspicious and hung up. The phone rang again with my mom's number, but I ignored it. Then a man's voice claimed to be my dad, asking me to come outside. I hung up immediately. My dad had died when I was three, so I knew this couldn't be him.

The phone kept ringing, and then there were knocks at the front door. Someone tried to open the door, and I called 911. I followed the operator's instructions and hid in the bathroom. The person outside tried every window and door but couldn't get in.

When the police arrived, they searched the house and property. My mom returned home in a panic, finding her phone had been stolen. Someone used the information on her phone to find our home and tried to lure me outside.

After this incident, my mom was more cautious and didn't leave me alone at night until I was older. The identity and motives of the people involved remain unknown, but it was a terrifying experience.

supernaturalhalloweenCONTENT WARNING
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mika Oka9 days ago

    Such terrifying experience

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.