Horror logo

A Trip Down Memory Lane

My First Crack at Suspense

By Bingo Bango BongoPublished 7 years ago 3 min read

I am 24 years old, and five years go today I was diagnosed with narcolepsy. A condition where I feel tired constantly and have "sleep attacks" which is when I suddenly and unexpectedly fall asleep. No matter how much caffeine I inhale. But the case with me is I can either never or at the most hardly remember the last 10-15 minutes. Even if I am only out for a couple of seconds. This is why I have someone attached to my hip every moment of my life. It was not my idea, my parents believed that it was a smart choice and there was no was I was arguing out of that situation. Over the 5 years that I have had narcolepsy, I have had three different people to watch over me.

The first quit after the first four months, claiming I uttered threats to her, which got increasingly violent and descriptive over time. I have no memory of anything like that happening. We had our fair share of arguments, nothing serious, just on differences of opinions and things like that. The one bigger argument was on how she was bad at caring for me when I had one of my attacks, I woke up with my arms covered in bruises and I asked her what had happened, all she did was blame me. Saying how I had caused that to happen, but could I if I was asleep? I heard recently that she had died in a car accident.

The next person to take care of me stayed around longer for about 2 years. They were really nice, they assisted me but allowed me to feel useful to myself as well. During the time, I moved to a bigger place that allowed him to live with me. He was like the roommate I never had. He was still my own personal sentry but after awhile I felt like we became friends. I never had many due to trust issues. I ended up firing him though. It was late at night and he had gone off to bed. After about two hours he comes through the front door, smashed out of his mind and a girl in his arm. I did not pay it much mind, he has his own life after all. The reason I fired him was that girl kept coming back, over and over again. Eventually she moved in and he stopped doing his job. I fired him, but I offered to let them stay until he found a place to live. They were gone the next morning, all their stuff gone. Like they disappeared without a trace, or maybe I had one of my attacks and just do not remember them leaving. Two months later both were filed on the missing person's list.

The third person was the best, I felt safe and cared for, they never betrayed me or lied to me. They were amazing. With me for almost three years, but all great things come to an end. And the greater it is the harder it crashes down. There was break in at my house. Me and the carer were in separate rooms, I saw that the robber had entered the house, then everything went black. I had an attack.

I woke up in my room. I was showered for some reason. Confused, I went downstairs carefully worried about what happened. The living room was a mess. Obvious signs of a break in, there was blood all over. I could barely hold the contents of my stomach in. After I settled I realized that if there was blood, where are the bodies? I panicked, frantically looking for my carer, she has to be here. There was a trail of blood leading to the basement. I rushed down, slipping on the blood that remained on the stairs. After I hit the floor I looked up, I see her body, mutilated. Well beyond recognizable. But there was a second trail of blood. I see another body, but not a full body. The head was missing. The body was dressed in all black. I was having a panic attack. There was writing on the wall that only added to the hysteria. The words read, "Don't worry, you won't remember." Who am I? Where am I?

fiction

About the Creator

Bingo Bango Bongo

Writing as a hobby. I am not the greatest but I try to make decent content.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Bingo Bango BongoWritten by Bingo Bango Bongo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.