Horror logo

A BROKEN TAIL

sometimes, It depends .

By Swadhin PandaPublished 4 months ago 6 min read
Like
A BROKEN TAIL
Photo by William Krause on Unsplash

A BROKEN TAIL

Fast reactions to everything, is not good every time. Why ?

19/9/19

My father shake my leg and wake me up, they all were shouting about some strange activity upstairs. My grandma died 4 years ago and she was a religious lady but as student of science and culture, I never imagined her in a form of ghost. I asked my mom what happened and she put her left hand on my head and rubbed by back, as if she doesn’t want to lose me. For the first time I found my father scared, he used to be a man who lights our family in dark but safety of family is his biggest fear.

Rather calling to police they think about taking neighbors help, but why? They are the one who complaint against me, I just don’t like them. Rain was raging outside but my dad was wet by sweat inside the bedroom. Because of power cut its all dark around me, my mom lighted candles and homemade kerosene lamps.

I was flickering my fingers on the candle flame to check my speed and courage, suddenly someone shouted from the upper rooms as if he\she is in pain. That roar was louder than thunder outside. I ran to kitchen in search of mom but she wasn’t there, I again ran to bedroom in search of her but she wasn’t there too.

I got scared and informed this to my father, he slapped me and told “she is in the washroom and you are not going to scream like a kid anymore”, dad I’m a kid only (thinking in my mind only because I have no guts to tell this at my father’s face ). Mom came from washroom and asked who screamed like that, dad answered “I don’t know but someone upstairs”

My dad was calling our neighbor but due to bad weather lines were busy and some were ignoring (see, another reason why I hate my neighbors. It’s hard to go outside and call them physically. After lots of planning my dad thought to go upstairs all alone with my favorite cricket bat, so that he could check who is actually creating the trouble.

My mom told my dad “don’t fear, go ahead I’m coming two steps before to you, you go forward”

With that flow I also said “go daddy go , I’m with you don’t fear”

Dad replied “son you forget my slap, keep calm and let me do my work” what can I expect from my dad except these few lines of love.

I was worried, no literally it was my favorite bat so being worried was normal. My Dad was expert in finding clues and solving problems within minutes, he lit his lamp a little brighter, tighten up is wrist and just rushed to that big store house type hall area, he found few drops of blood on the dusty floors. Mom was getting clear reflections of blood from those blood droplets.

Dad confirmed that, blood was fresh and whatever was making sound is currently present here only. My grandfather used to store wood and coconut husk as an emergency fuel for the kitchen. The wood was in a large quantity and to store them my grandpa made a big heap in the corner.

My dad checked under that heap of wood and husk , he found insects, pigeon eggs , long snake’s scale and a mighty wounded male monkey whose tail was completely broken by bones but connected by blonde skin .

The monkey first shouted, then prepare himself for a jump on my father’s face for self-protection, but the moment he jumped he fell on the ground because his right back leg was also fractured. Rather fearing on that creature tears came on my mama’s face. my dad asked us to leave the hall and to went down . he also went down, brought four bananas and offered those to that monkey .

As a normal mother my mom lit an earthen lamp (diya) infront of the idols and prayed for monkey’s betterment. My dad locked the room from outside leaving that wounded monkey inside alone.

I got angry on my dad, that why he leave that monkey alone, what about his wounds, or how he will get out of the locked room. Dad answered that, the balcony is completely open if he want to go out he can. As it was raining outside he cannot call any one for help, and my dad was completely unknown about monkey is infected or not so he was trying to take no risk.

We slept normally later on that night, no sound came later on. My dad said the monkey must have eaten the bananas and now he slept. You also sleep boy.

Next morning I wake up, all my beloved neighbors were gathered and dad was saying something. I went outside, my dad told that, monkey died my son; he could not bear that much of pain.

One of the uncles from the neighbor shouted did that bastard did not died when I beat him; he died last night oh man I thought he just died after that. My bad my bad I have almost chopped his tail but that idiot, he ran away.

My dad’s mouth was full of all the slangs he ever knew but keeping family in mind he stood quietly.

My dad asked what was his mistake dada, what made you that angry to kill him.

Dada answered when I was in bathroom, that pervert watches my naked body and laughs. But that not the sin he deserves death, actually tomorrow he crossed all his limits, my son was returning home from his hostel after 1 year. So his mom made his favorite chicken curry, and the smell was just mesmerizing. She did not let me test it. We were so excited for our son’s arrival. But this monkey entered in the kitchen to eat bananas but I don’t know how all of a sudden all the curry banged on the ground. The curry was being cooked on earthen stoves and burns by wood flames.

I came to kitchen, I found the monkey was eating banana and all the delicious chicken pieces were on the ground.

I got my head blanked , I got an iron rod started beating that monkey , death was his final punishment. That’s it.

…..

My dad asked that’s why last night when I offered him banana he refused to eat. Oh man, who are you to decide whome to kill or not. If you are a good father and your son is a good human then confess your crime to him. I guarantee your son will never forgive you dada .

Dada’s son ran out to the meeting spot and said, due to heavy rainfall the earthen stove had absorbed some moisture and could not bear that much of load over it, so it broke out. What the monkey did dad, why you beat him

Killed him, yor dad just killed him ; my dad shouted.

Dada said nothing and just went into the house with attitude dazzling in his eyes.

My dad prepared a small platform to keep monkey’s dead body, the monkey was decorated with holy colors. Villagers put his body in grave near the river, they put some salts near his body for early decay and returned back.

On that evening my dad organized a silent prayer because he strongly believes that monkeys are nothing just reforms of lord Hanuman. But Dada did not come to that prayer.

On next I saw , morning dada threw all the banana on his terrace and welcomed monkeys to eat, the monkey herd was clearly known to the risk of having a feast on theirs friend’s killer’s terrace, so no one went to that place.

Dada regretted but never shows that regression to others.

BLAMMING SOMEONE IS QUITE EASY

REGRATING ON YOUR SINFULL ACT IS QUITE EASY

JUSTIFING YOUR MISTAKE TO JUMP IN TO COMFERT IS EASY

BUT KEEPING THINGS LIKE THIS NORMAL IN LONG RUN MAY MAKE YOU LOOSE YOUE NIGHT SLEEP, MENTAL PEACE AND BANANAS.

THANK YOU.

fictionurban legend
Like

About the Creator

Swadhin Panda

I strongly believes in karma and yin yang . I writes stories which my lips are unable to say. strange stories , comedy, fiction, thriller , horror and action are my top priorities .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.