Horror logo

3 Freaky Day of the Dead Encounters

Dia de los Muertos Stories

By Rain- Screaming for HorrorPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 12 min read
Like
SFH Pic

Hello again creepy bunch and welcome back to another Screaming for Horror article I am Rain and I hope you're having a mystifying day. The Day of the Dead celebration most commonly known as "Dia de los Muertos" is a popular customary tradition of Mexico but has expanded all over the world by people of Mexican heritage among other believers. Day of the dead celebrates the dearly departed by building home altars and adding all their favorite foods, beverages, and personal artifacts that their loved ones might be missing. They also visit their graves and it takes a humorous tone rather than a mournful one by sharing life stories and enjoying a good piece of "Pan de Muerto" among other things.

People believe that the souls of those who've crossed over have the opportunity to come to visit during those days and most of them have witnessed such things just like the people who shared their next stories with us. But before we start please don't forget to support our content by hitting that subscribe button for more upcoming creepy and scary content. And don't forget to find us on Youtube as well. These are 3 Freaky Day of the Dead Encounters.

1.- The School

I wanna share a story that happened to me several years ago. I was about to get my teaching certificate in Mexico city when they sent two other colleagues and me out to finish our final practices to be able to fully graduate to a small deserted town on top of a mountain. The community was very humble, rural, and extremely isolated from the main city. Due to the economic marginalization, we had very limited resources to work with. When we arrived we realized we had 2 small shacks that were meant to be our classroom a little tiny bathroom and an adjoined room in the back for all 3 of us to share and set our sleeping quarters.

The kids as well as the parents weren't very welcoming they didn't like strangers and nonetheless city strangers. We did our best to get the kids to participate and enjoy our teaching methods but they were just hesitant and untrustworthy of pretty much anything. We tried and tried to no avail but since the day of the dead celebration was around the corner we figured we could merge some of our customs along with theirs. They were hesitant at first but eventually gave in. The kids and the parents arrived around 6:00 pm or so they brought a whole bunch of different items and they all seemed to be enjoying themselves. Since it was around 25 to 30 kids or so the altar turned out to be bigger than what we expected. 8:00 o clock came by and we had to call it quits since it was getting extremely dark. There was no public power outside and our only light source was the lighting from our cell phones which wasn't much. We told the parents that we would manage the rest and to go home for the night.

My colleagues and I started getting a little creeped out since behind us was nothing but a wooded area and we started hearing weird noises we weren't used to but figured it was mother nature doing her thing. We ended up finishing the setup around 9:30 or so and by then we were famished. We proceeded to have dinner in the area where he had set up and started talking about the celebration. We then hear small little taps coming from the window of the other classroom, I had previously locked. I could see one of my colleagues was spooked so I told her that it was probably a tree branch brushing up against the window. She shrugged her shoulders and kept on with her dinner then my other colleague decides to speak up with a semi-sarcastic tone and says "After everything we've set up for them how dare they try and scare us?"

As soon as she finished that sentence there was a sudden burst of cold air that appeared out of nowhere. Two small tables that we used at random suddenly lifted up into thin air and smashed into the wall right in front of our eyes. Books, papers, school supplies you name it were flying everywhere like if some sort of invisible force was throwing them on purpose. We were paralyzed in fear and we had no other choice but to move towards one of the corners of the classroom our fear was so consuming that we didn't even try running towards the door. Right there right in front of us everything just kept flying and we didn't know what to do to stop it.

After what seemed to be an eternity the activity finally stopped and we both just looked at the other girl. We knew it had been her comment that had started all the activity. We finally found the courage to separate and we flew out of there thanks to a loud thundering crash that happened right between us. We ran and we locked ourselves in our sleeping area without being able to sleep a wink. The following day we had to go and make sure everything was fine for morning classes and before the students got there. It looked like a tornado had passed by and everything was in disarray. It took us a little while to put everything back into place when the parent of one of our students showed up. We were hesitant to tell her what had happened at first but as we did she seemed calm about it.

She mentioned that the area had been a camp for revolutionary refugees and thousands of people had perished there so it might have been them making their presence known the night before. Locals have witnessed paranormal activity in the school area before but they know better and they pay their respects every chance they get to keep the peace. Something that obviously we didn't know. Everything was fine the rest of our stay with us but with our 3rd colleague, it wasn't the same. She would constantly wake up at 3:30 am for no reason. She would also wake up with bruises or scratches all over her body, it was taking a toll on her but she admitted that it had been her fault and that she was gonna do her best to try and get thru the situation. Our last day was finally here and right before we left the classroom out of nowhere a dark handprint was imprinted on the wall. Was it an official goodbye? Who knows but that's what we took it as. We haven't heard or been back to that town again.

2.- The Last Day

I was having breakfast with my brother that day when my mom approached me and mentioned she wanted both of us to take her to visit my grandparent's tomb so she could drop off some food among other things because it was the last day of the day of the dead celebration. It was my brother both my parents and myself. We took off that morning and my mother decided to make a full day out of it at the last minute. I gotta tell ya I was a little annoyed by her decision but we were about 30 minutes into the road so I had no choice. She wanted to stop by 2 of my aunt's houses as well after but she didn't want to spend the night with either of them.

We took care of business at the cemetery and we headed towards my aunt's house. We had lunch we had some laughs and moved on and headed towards the other house. By the time we realized it had gotten a little late. My aunt insisted on us spending the night but my mother utterly refused. Something about her having a horrific paranormal experience there that she never wanted to talk about and there was no way in hell we were gonna stay. It was close to midnight when he started heading back. The road was deserted and creepy and I was extremely tired it had been a long day already. My brother being the dofus that he is kept making jokes and creepy sounds. My parents were out and I didn't want to wake them up just because he was being idiotic.

I kept driving and he kept at it. I was at my wit's end when he decides to turn my lights off and tells me "When you turn the lights on again you're gonna see a scary face in the windshield" I lightly punched him and I turned the lights back on. As soon as I did I almost hit a group of people that were walking on the side of the empty road. It looked like it was a family of 5. The parents and the kids I was assuming. I got so freaked out but I was able to break in time weird thing is that the family had no reaction when my brakes screeched. I was almost about to hit them with my car and there was nothing from them. They didn't turn around, they didn't yell they didn't get scared absolutely nothing but silence.

I stayed in place for a few minutes to collect my thoughts and my brother asked if we should go check on them to make sure they were ok. But the family just kept walking down the road. They were motionless arms to the side and just kept walking looking forward. It was kind of strange seeing a group of people at that time of night especially on that particular isolated road. I decided to start driving again but lower my speed this time and since my brother felt guilty he put his head out the window and yelled at them "Hey. Are you guys ok? Need any help" he turns around paperwhite and in a low but urgent voice tells me "Drive" we need to get out of here. Again thinking he was playing around I lower my speed even more.

Grace you need to listen to me and drive he tells me again. Those people have no eyes! What? Stop messing with me I said. I'm not joking I promise please for the love of god drive. I started getting scared myself and I didn't wanna look his way. Hesitant at first I started to drive but curiosity got the best of me and at the last minute I decided to look thru the rearview mirror. My brother was right. Those people had no eyes. I had never seen or experienced anything paranormal before I was frozen in fear but I just speed up without looking at them until they vanished in the distance. The rest of the way was quiet. We couldn't even look at each other never the less say anything at all. We told our mom what happened the following day and very casually she tells us " Oh I believe what you guys saw. No need to be scared it was the dead going back to where they came from, it was their last day".

3.- The Cemetery

This story was told by my grandfather many times. It happened to him about 50 years or so on that particular day. He was a resident of a small town called Brownsville Tx near the Rio Grande Valley that borders Mexico. He went to a party that night with 3 of his friends about an hour or so in the neighboring town of McAllen. With him being the only one with a reliable vehicle at that time his friends asked him if he could drop them off afterward since they all lived in the other towns in between. He happily agreed without a problem. On his way back after the party, he was alone on the road for about 15 min or so. He had to pass an old abandoned cemetery before he reached his house but out of nowhere, he had to stop abruptly and come to a full stop in the middle of the road because several people were blocking his way. They were heading inside the cemetery carrying what looked to be a casket.

He was dumbfounded and confused since he knew for a fact there were no services held in that particular cemetery never the less at 4:00 o clock in the morning. He hadn't had much to drink so he knew he wasn't drunk and he was not imagining things. He heard music and the people mourning too. Since he was kind of a snoop. He decided to park and get off just to take a peak. He said he got near the entrance and what he saw he will never forget. When the people were stepping inside the cemetery grounds they started to disperse to different areas of it. Some just vanished into thin air as soon as they walked in. He couldn't believe what he was watching. They were coming back from visiting their loved ones he assumed and now they were taking their rightful place.

A few days after the incident he couldn't take it anymore. He had been feeling ill since that night. He had a high fever he was extremely jumpy and he hadn't been able to sleep at all. He went to my great grandmother's house and told her all about it and she told him he was probably spooked from that night. Her being a firm believer of the supernatural told him that he was lucky to be alive and to have witnessed something he wasn't supposed to have seen, to begin with. Sometimes they don't know they're dead and we don't know what an angry spirit might be capable of. She blessed him with sage did a couple of prayers turned on some candles for the lost spirits just in case and my grandfather was back to his usual self a few days after that.

Well creepy bunch that's all we have for you today. If you have a ghostly experience a close encounter or wanna share any photos or videos of strange phenomena feel free to send us an email at [email protected] and your story could be featured in one of our future videos. Don't forget to Subscribe and Follow us on our Facebook and Tiktok pages for more and if you're on the go or rather see the video for this article please be sure to check out our Youtube Channel. And remember until next time this is Rain... Sweet Screams.

Would you like to buy me a cup of coffee? Please consider sending a tip down below. Or feel free to send it thru Paypal Thank you. xx- Rain

travel
Like

About the Creator

Rain- Screaming for Horror

Writer and Horror Geek at VM. Like,Follow & Subscribe to our social media pages at:

Screaming for Horror on Youtube

Screaming for Horror on Facebook

Screaming for Horror on Tiktok

Screaming for Horror on Spotify

Screaming for Horror on Apple

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.