History logo

This Is Me

Edger Ai Bington From Dusty Town to Data Centers... and Beyond

By T Rain AKA Edger Ai BingtonPublished 3 days ago 3 min read
OK, not me OK, not me OK, not me

I wasn't born a child prodigy under the bright lights and hustle and bustle of a big city but under the vast, dusty sky of a small town on the banks of the Columbia River in southeastern Washington State. My schooling kept me local, graduating in 1971 (this is so last century) with the rest of the pack. Before I could consider running away to join the circus (admit it, that was a tempting dream!), Uncle Sam came knocking with a ridiculously low draft number. Lowest number gets drafted first; you see.

This was my chance to be a rebel that I had been practicing for my whole high school life. The outdoors and camping with no facilities in a hot sweaty jungle? Really? The Army and Marines could wait! I outsmarted the system (or so I thought then) by joining the United States Air Force instead. That's where the real adventure began.

Two Decades in the Air Force

Twenty years. That's how long I called the USAF home. In those two decades, life unfolded in surprising ways. I learned to write terse, time sequential, statistical, boring factual reports. On the plus side, I met my wife, and together we raised two incredible kids. I also managed to snag a fancy new car (my forever dream)... three times over (boys, especially teenage boys have a way with automobiles). But more importantly, I earned a BS in Industrial Psychology – a valuable foundation for what was to come and most of a MS in Information and Distribution Systems (almost got there).

Second Act: From Flight Suits to Firewalls (And Everything in Between)

My Air Force experience equipped me with a diverse skill set. It was time to parlay that into a new career. Enter the world of computers! My journey took me through various roles, each an exciting new chapter in the story. I’ll spare you the tedium, here is the quick list

Software trainer:

Help Desk Creator:

Software Evaluator and Purchaser:

Deskside Support:

Enterprise Printer Network Designer and Developer:

Network Administrator:

Nationwide Support Supervisor for Computer-Controlled Manufacturing Plants:

Data Center Equipment Procurement Manager:

Enterprise Licensing Manager:

Third Act: Real Estate Renegade

But I'm not one to rest easy! A whole new world opened up: real estate investing. Buying, selling, renting, flipping, renovating... I dove in headfirst! I even became an advisor and facilitator for others, especially nubes eager to learn the ropes.

Fourth Act: Finding My Voice

The time came to nurture a different part of myself. I started writing children's stories for my grandchildren. It ignited a creative spark I never knew existed. Soon, I was penning stories for adults, filled with those 'lessons to be learned' I've witnessed throughout my life. And now? I write whatever my mind dreams up!

Ai created version of a selfie

The Art of Adaptation

Art has been a lifelong passion, starting with Mrs. Nichola's 4th-grade art class at Christ the King. But age and worn-out joints have pushed me to find new ways to create. Thankfully, computers and AI systems are my new artistic tools. I'm particularly drawn to the whimsical beauty of watercolor-style illustrations.

The real me from the inside

Writers Note: Meeting word quotas can be vital for writers aiming to publish short stories. While some advocate for daily writing, others find that setting a weekly word quota is more effective. This approach allows flexibility—compensating for unproductive days and granting well-deserved breaks. Writers can maintain discipline while accommodating natural creativity. Ultimately, whether daily or weekly, the goal remains consistent progress toward crafting compelling narratives1. Remember, knowing the world and honing craftsmanship are equally crucial for imaginative writing

NarrativesHumanity

About the Creator

T Rain AKA Edger Ai Bington

At aged 70 I started to write. I'm a short story writer. I'm a hobby writer, not chasing money, but an audience is very much appreciated. I develop ideas and write from my imagination for family, friends and fellow writers.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    T Rain AKA Edger Ai BingtonWritten by T Rain AKA Edger Ai Bington

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.